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 In 2000, New Jersey enacted N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2, making it 

unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in an unsafe manner.  The 

law imposes fines for the first two violations, but does not 
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provide for the assessment of motor vehicle penalty points by 

the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) until "a third or 

subsequent offense."  N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2d.   

 The statute also provides relief from the assessment of 

motor vehicle penalty points.  An offense "committed more than 

five years after the prior offense shall not be considered a 

subsequent offense for purposes of assessing motor vehicle 

penalty points under subsection d. of this section."  N.J.S.A. 

39:4-97.2e. 

 This appeal calls for us to construe the latter provision.  

We are asked to determine if the MVC erred when it assessed four 

motor vehicle penalty points against appellant's driving record 

after her fourth conviction for unsafe driving.  She committed 

two offenses in 2002, a third offense in 2006, and her most 

recent offense was in 2007.  Appellant argues that points should 

not have been assessed for the latter offense because more than 

five years had passed between her 2002 offenses and her 2007 

offense, making her 2007 offense her second offense for purposes 

of assessing points under N.J.S.A. 39:97.2e.  The MVC disagrees, 

arguing that the relief from the assessment of points afforded 

by N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2e. applies only when the five-year gap 

occurs after the third offense.  We agree and consequently 
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affirm the MVC's imposition of points for appellant's 2007 

conviction.  

 Appellant, Hina K. Patel, was convicted of unsafe driving 

in May and September 2002 for offenses she committed the 

previous March and August, respectively.1  The court assessed the 

appropriate fines, but, because these were appellant's first two 

convictions under the unsafe driving statute, the MVC did not 

assess motor vehicle penalty points.  Appellant was next 

convicted under the statute in July 2006, for an offense she 

committed the month before.  In addition to the municipal 

court's imposition of fines, the MVC assessed four motor vehicle 

penalty points against appellant's driving record.  Appellant 

did not appeal from that determination. 

 In November 2007, appellant received her fourth conviction 

under the statute, for a September 2007 violation.  The 

municipal court imposed the appropriate fines and the MVC 

assessed four motor vehicle penalty points against appellant's 

driving record.  It is from that latter assessment that 

appellant appeals.   

 The unsafe driving statute, N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2, states: 

                     
1 Because the record on appeal does not contain transcripts 

of any of the municipal court proceedings in which appellant was 
convicted of unsafe driving, we take the undisputed facts from 
the parties' briefs.   
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 a.  Notwithstanding any other provision 
of law to the contrary, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to drive or operate a motor 
vehicle in an unsafe manner likely to 
endanger a person or property. 
 
 b.  A person convicted of a first 
offense under subsection a. shall be subject 
to a fine of not less than $50.00 or more 
than $150.00 and shall not be assessed any 
motor vehicle penalty points pursuant to 
section 1 of P.L. 1982, c. 43 (C.39:5-30.5). 
 
 c.  A person convicted of a second 
offense under subsection a. shall be subject 
to a fine of not less than $100.00 or more 
than $250.00 and shall not be assessed any 
motor vehicle penalty points pursuant to 
section 1 of P.L. 1982, c. 43 (C. 39:5-
30.5). 
 
 d.  A person convicted of a third or 
subsequent offense under subsection a. shall 
be subject to a fine of not less than 
$200.00 or more than $500.00 and shall be 
assessed motor vehicle penalty points 
pursuant to section 1 of P.L. 1982, c. 43 
(C. 39:5-30.5). 
 
 e.  An offense committed under this 
section that occurs more than five years 
after the prior offense shall not be 
considered a subsequent offense for the 
purpose of assessing motor vehicle penalty 
points under subsection d. of this section.2 
 

 Our goal in interpreting a statute is to determine the 

Legislature's intent.  D'Annunzio v. Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 

192 N.J. 110, 119 (2007).  To determine that intent, we begin 

                     
2 The law was amended in 2004 to include a $250 surcharge as an 
additional penalty.  The surcharge is not at issue on appeal. 



A-2911-07T1 5 

with the plain language of the statute, and "ascribe to the 

statutory language its ordinary meaning."  Ibid.  "If the plain 

language leads to a clear and unambiguous result, then our 

interpretive process is over."  Richardson v. Bd. of Trs., 

Police & Firemen's Ret. Sys., 192 N.J. 189, 195 (2007).   

 While we are not bound by an agency's interpretation of a 

statute, we generally afford the agency deference in its 

interpretation of the statute that the agency is charged with 

enforcing.  Id. at 196.  "An agency's interpretation of a 

statute will prevail unless it is 'plainly unreasonable.'"  T.H. 

v. Div. of Developmental Disabilities, 189 N.J. 478, 490 (2007) 

(quoting In re N.J. Tpk. Auth. v. Am. Fed. of State, County & 

Mun. Employees, 150 N.J. 331, 351 (1997)).   

Applying these principles here, we reject appellant's 

arguments.  The statute imposes fines in increasing gradations, 

but no points, for the first and second unsafe driving 

convictions.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2b., c.  Subsection d. states 

that upon conviction of a "third or subsequent offense," in 

addition to increased fines, the driver "shall be assessed" 

motor vehicle penalty points.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2d.  Subsection 

e., however, permits relief from the assessment of points 

referred to in subsection d., but only when the latest offense 

"occurs more than five years after the prior offense."  N.J.S.A. 
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39:4-97.2e. (emphasis added).  It does not state that relief 

from the assessment is available when a five-year gap occurs 

between a new offense and any prior offense.  It is limited in 

its application to a five-year interval between offenses that 

immediately follow each other.  Thus, here, because appellant's 

2006 offense was committed less than five years after her 2002 

offenses, and her 2007 offense was committed less than five 

years after her 2006 offense, she did not have a five-year 

interval between offenses to qualify her for relief from the 

assessment of points under N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2e.  

Although not necessary to the disposition of this appeal, 

we make one final observation.  The MVC argues that relief from 

the assessment of motor vehicle penalty points is afforded by 

subsection e. only after the third offense.  That is a 

reasonable construction of the statute. 

Subsection e. says that after a five-year interval occurs 

between offenses, "the prior offense shall not be considered a 

subsequent offense for the purpose of assessing . . . points 

under subsection d."  N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.2e. (emphasis added).  It 

does not say that the prior offense shall not be considered a 

third or subsequent offense for the purpose of assessing points.  

By its plain language, therefore, it limits relief from the 

assessment of points to subsequent offenses; it does not provide 
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relief for third offenses.  Simply put, points are to be 

assessed for the third conviction, regardless of whether five 

years passes between the second and third offenses.  It is only 

to subsequent offenses, those occurring after the third offense, 

that the five-year gap applies. 

 Affirmed. 


