
PART II 
 

NON-TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS 
 

A.     BOATING VIOLATIONS 
 
1.     REGULATION, REGISTRATION AND OPERATION OF VESSELS - STATUTES 

 
Note: Certain violations of Title 12 (New Jersey Statutes), each of those matters listed below with a
Payable Amount of $49.00, require an enhanced penalty for a second or subsequent offense 
(N.J.S.A. 12:7-51).  Law enforcement will check the “court appearance” block if the officer believes
that the person charged may be a second or subsequent offender.  If the “court appearance” block 
is not checked, then the person charged should be considered a first offender and may, therefore,
choose to plead guilty without a court appearance and pay the prescribed amount.  Violations that
have a payable amount greater than $49.00 are not subject to increased penalties for second or
subsequent offenses. 

N.J.S.A. Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

12:7-23.3 Vessel sale-muffler $124

12:7-34.38 Failure to number $49

12:7-34.39(a) Failure to register $49

12:7-34.39(b) No registration in possession $49

12:7-34.44a(b) Failure to register documented vessel $49

12:7-34.44a(c) Registration certificate not available - documented vessel $49

12:7-34.45 Failure to change address $49

12:7-34.46(c) Failure to report accident $49

12:7-45 Speed $49

12:7-47.1 Twelve and under - not wearing PFD $49

12:7-61 Juvenile without boat safety certificate $124

12:7-61(b) Operate power vessel w/o boat safety certificate $124

12:7-61(c) Operate personal watercraft without Boat Safety Certificate $124

12:7-61(d) Operate personal watercraft without boat safety certificate in possession $124

12:7-61(d)1 Fail to exhibit boat safety certificate $124

12:7-61(e) Exhibit boat safety certificate of another $124

12:7-61(f) Allow uncertified operator to operate personal watercraft $74

12:7-61.1 Juvenile operating prohibited vessel $124
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N.J.S.A. Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

12:7-63(a) Operate personal watercraft at a prohibited time $45

12:7-63(b) Operate personal watercraft in a prohibited area $49

12:7-63(c) Operate personal watercraft in a prohibited manner $49

12:7-63(d) Operate personal watercraft in a prohibited manner/airborne $49

12:7-64(a) Safety lanyard-Personal watercraft $49

12:7-64(b) Safe speed - personal watercraft $49

12:7-65 Personal watercraft-no personal flotation device $49

12:7-68 Personal watercraft-skiing $49

12:7-72(b)(1) Operate vessel on non-tidal waters without license $224

12:7-72(d) Fail to exhibit license/no license in possession $124

12:7-74(a) Did lend license $74

12:7-74(b) Allow unlicensed operator $74

12:7-74(c) Exhibit another's license while operating a vessel $224

12:7-74(d) Exhibit another's license for purposes of ID $74

12:7-75 Altered serial numbers $49

12:7-76 Careless operation $49

12:7-77 Personal flotation device $49

12:7-78 Discard debris $224

12:7-79 Failure to stop-obeying orders $49

12:7-86(a)(2) Unqualified rental supervision $49

12:7-86(b) Personal watercraft rental zone $49
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