
PART I
TRAFFIC RELATED VIOLATIONS

A.      MOTOR VEHICLE STATUTES

N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:3-4 Driving or parking unregistered motor vehicle $54

39:3-9a Failure to notify change in name $55

39:3-9a Failure to endorse license $55

39:3-10 Driving with an expired license (when paying through the Violations 
Bureau, the defendant is required to attach a photocopy of a valid 
driver's license to the complaint/summons)

$54

39:3-11 Violating a restriction on conditional license $55

39:3-17 Failure to possess driver's license or registration (non-resident 
motorists)

$180

39:3-20 Excess weight - plus $100 for each 1,000 lbs. or fraction thereof $530

39:3-20(b) Speeding - commercial vehicle - load exceeds axle limitations -  See 
payable amount for N.J.S.A. 39:4-98

39:3-20(b) Speeding in a Safe Corridor or Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - 
commercial vehicle - See payable amount for N.J.S.A. 39:4-98

39:3-29 Failure to possess documents.  Limited to driver's license or 
registration.  (Failure to possess insurance identification card is NOT 
payable.)  Note: If violation is for more than one offense involving 
license or registration, they are separate offenses and the payable 
amount indicated is for each offense)

$180

39:3-29 Refusal to exhibit documents.  Limited to driver's license or 
registration.  (Refusal to exhibit insurance identification card is NOT 
payable.)  Note: If violation is for more than one offense involving 
license or registration, they are separate offenses and the payable 
amount indicated is for each offense)

$180

39:3-32 Failure to replace lost, destroyed or defaced driver's plates $55

39:3-33 Display of unclear or indistinct license plates  (limited to this portion of 
statute only)

$54

39:3-36 Failure to notify of complete change of address $26

39:3-38 Use of marker other than one issued (limited to this portion of statute 
only)

$55

39:3-44 Vehicle in unsafe condition $54
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:3-47 Improper lighting equipment; altering equipment $54

39:3-47a Failure to use headlights with wipers $54

39:3-49 Inadequate headlights $54

39:3-50 Unauthorized use of certain colored lights $54

39:3-51 Improper auxiliary driving lamps $54

39:3-52 Improper additional lighting equipment and use thereof $54

39:3-53 Improper spot lamps $54

39:3-54 Miscellaneous improper lights $54

39:3-55 Improper operation with alternate road lighting equipment $54

39:3-56 Operating without at least two front lighted lamps $54

39:3-57 Improper single beam lighting $54

39:3-58 Improper multiple beam headlights $54

39:3-59 No light beam indicator $54

39:3-60 Improper use of high and low headlight beams $54

39:3-61 Failure to equip motor vehicle with lamps and reflectors required $54

39:3-61.1 Improper mounting of lamps and reflectors $54

39:3-61.2 Improper combination of lighting devices and reflectors $54

39:3-61.3 Improper stop lamps $54

39:3-61.4 Improper placement and use of red lamps and flags on overhanging 
loads

$54

39:3-62 Unlit lamps on parked vehicle $54

39:3-64 Improper emergency warning light equipment $54

39:3-64.3 Failure of itinerant vendor to flash signals when stopped for transacting 
business

$54

39:3-65 Failure to equip farm machinery and other vehicles with lamps $54

39:3-66 Failure to maintain lamps $54

39:3-69 Failure to equip vehicle with horn $54

39:3-70 Noisy muffler $54
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:3-71 Failure to equip vehicle with mirrors $54

39:3-72 Tire in unsafe operating condition $54

39:3-73 Improper use of tire chains $54

39:3-74 Obstruction of windshield for vision $54

39:3-75 Failure to equip vehicle with safety glass $54

39:3-76.2 Failure to equip vehicle with safety belts $54

39:3-76.2a Failure to use a child passenger restraint when transporting a child 
under the age of eight and weighing less than 80 pounds

$54

39:3-76.2f Failure to wear seat belt $46

39:3-76.3 Motorcycle handle bar grips too high $54

39:3-76.4 Failure to equip motorcycle with special muffler systems $54

39:3-76.5 Failure to equip motorcycle with footrests and helmet for motorcycle 
passengers

$80

39:3-76.7 to 3-76.10 Motorcycle helmet, goggles, and other safety equipment violations $54

39:3-77 Selling or using unapproved devices or equipment $55

39:3-79.1 Failure to equip bus, truck, or trailer with mud flaps $54

39:3-81 Misuse of stud tires (limited to this portion of statute only) By regulation 
of the Director of Motor Vehicles, stud tires shall not be used on a 
highway earlier than November 15 or later than April 1 of each year

$55

39:3-84 Violation of dimensional restriction $185

39:3-84 Violation of weight restriction if total excess weight is less than 10,000 
pounds, then the payable amount equals $.02 x (total excess weight) + 
$23, but no less than $81.  If total excess weight is greater than 10,000 
pounds, then the payable amount equals $.03 x (total excess weight) + 
$23.

$85

39:4-11 to 4-14.2 Violations concerning bicycles and roller skates $54

39:4-15 to 4-25.1 Violations concerning horses and horse-drawn vehicles $54

39:4-26 to 4-30 Violations concerning machinery, vehicles or apparatus of unusual size 
or weight (fine to be paid to agency charged with maintenance of road 
upon which violation occurs)

$85

39:4-32 to 4-37.1 Pedestrian violations $54

39:4-38 to 4-45 Street car violations $54
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:4-46 Failure to display owner's name on commercial vehicle (fine to be 
forwarded to Director of Motor Vehicles)

$26

39:4-53 Leaving vehicle with engine running $54

39:4-54 Violation of dimension restriction on trailers $85

39:4-54 Violation of weight restriction trailers (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-20 and 3-84 as 
applicable)

39:4-55 Failure to control vehicle on steep grades and curves $54

39:4-56 Delaying traffic $54

39:4-56.6 Abandonment of vehicle on private property $55

39:4-57 Failure to comply with directions of officer $54

39:4-57 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to comply 
with direction of officer

$72

39:4-57.1 Failure to activate interior light at request of officer $80

39:4-58 Vehicle loaded so as to obstruct view $54

39:4-59 Hitch-hiking $54

39:4-60 Soliciting trade or contributions on highway $54

39:4-61 Tailboard riding $54

39:4-62 Leaving curb $54

39:4-64 Throwing litter from vehicle $230

39:4-65 Letting off or taking on persons other than at curb $54

39:4-66 Failure to stop when emerging from alley, driveway or garage $54

39:4-66.1 Failure to yield right-of-way when entering private road or driveway $54

39:4-66.1 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to yield right-of-way when 
entering private road or driveway

$72

39:4-67 Obstructing passage of vehicles $54

39:4-68 Doors of streetcar or autobus open $54

39:4-69 Riding on part of street car or vehicle not intended for passengers $54

39:4-71 Driving on sidewalk $54

39:4-71 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone - Driving on sidewalk $72
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:4-72 Failure to stop on signal from driver of horse $54

39:4-76 Overweight vehicles on bridges (interstate) - fine to be forwarded to 
Director of Motor Vehicles - Same payable amount as N.J.S.A.  39:3-84

39:4-77 Loading so as to spill $55

39:4-78 Carrying metal so as to create noise $54

39:4-79 Backing vehicle to curb to unload $54

39:4-80 Disregard of officer directing traffic $85

39:4-80 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Disregard of officer 
directing traffic

$140

39:4-81 Failure to observe traffic signal $85

39:4-81 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to observe 
traffic signal

$140

39:4-82 Failure to keep right $85

39:4-82 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone - Failure to keep right $140

39:4-82.1 Driving on safety island $85

39:4-82.1 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Driving on safety 
island

$140

39:4-83 Failure to keep right at intersection $85

39:4-83 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone - Failure to keep right at intersection $140

39:4-84 Failure to pass to right when proceeding in opposite directions $85

39:4-84 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to pass to 
right when proceeding in opposite directions

$140

39:4-85 Failure to pass to left when overtaking $85

39:4-85 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to pass to 
left when overtaking

$140

39:4-85.1 Wrong way on one-way street $85

39:4-86 Failure to overtake and pass properly; crossing "no passing" lines $85

39:4-86 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to overtake 
and pass properly; crossing "no passing" lines

$140

39:4-87 Failure to give overtaking vehicle right of way $85
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:4-88 Failure to obey regulations in marked lanes $85

39:4-88 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to obey 
regulations in marked lanes

$140

39:4-89 Following another vehicle too closely $85

39:4-89 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Following another 
vehicle too closely

$140

39:4-90 Failure to yield right of way at intersection $85

39:4-90 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to yield right 
of way at intersection

$140

39:4-90.1 Entering or leaving limited access highways improperly $85

39:4-90.1 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Entering or leaving 
limited access highways improperly

$140

39:4-91 Failure to yield right-of-way to emergency vehicles $85

39:4-92 Failure to pull over for emergency vehicle; following emergency vehicle 
too closely

$85

39:4-92.1 Following fire department vehicle too closely back to fire station $85

39:4-94 Railroad employee unnecessarily blocking highway with train $85

39:4-97 Careless driving where no accident involving personal injury (accident 
resulting in personal injury cannot be paid through the Violations 
Bureau)

$85

39:4-97 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Careless driving 
where no accident involving personal injury (accident resulting in 
personal injury cannot be paid through the Violations Bureau)

$140

39:4-97.1 Slow speed so as to impede or block traffic $85

39:4-97.3 Use of a cell phone while driving $130

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 1-9 miles per hour $85

39:4-98 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone speeding  - exceeding limit by 1-9 
miles per hour

$140

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour $95

39:4-98 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - speeding - 
exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour

$160

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour $105

39:4-98 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - speeding - 
exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour

$180
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 20-24 miles per hour pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
29:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant charged with 
speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$200

NOTE: Exceeding the posted speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more 
in a Safe Corridor or in a Construction Zone requires a court 
appearance.

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 25-29 miles per hour -- pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant 
charged with speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$220

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 30-34 miles per hour -- pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant 
charged with speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$240

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 35-39 miles per hour -- pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant 
charged with speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$260

NOTE: Exceeding the posted speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more 
requires a court appearance.

39:4-100 Exceeding speed limit across sidewalk (4mph) $80

39:4-115 Improper turn at controlled intersection $85

39:4-115 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Improper turn at controlled 
intersection

$140

39:4-116 Improper turn at arrow $85

39:4-117 Special pedestrian signals -  motorist or pedestrian violation $85

39:4-119 Failure to observe flashing traffic signals $85

39:4-119 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to observe flashing traffic 
signals

$140

39:4-122 Failure to obey whistle of police $85

39:4-122 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to obey whistle of police $140

39:4-123 Improper right and left-hand turns $85

39:4-123 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Improper right and left-hand turns $140

39:4-124 Failure to turn as indicated by buttons or markers at intersection $85

39:4-124 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to turn as indicated by 
buttons or markers at intersection

$140

39:4-125 U-Turn on curve or grade or where view obstructed or "No U-Turn" sign $85
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N.J.S.A
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AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:4-125 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - U-Turn on curve or grade or 
where view obstructed or "No U-Turn" sign

$140

39:4-126 Failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping $85

39:4-126 65 MPH area - Failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping $140

39:4-127 Improper backing or turning in street $85

39:4-127 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Improper backing or 
turning in street

$140

39:4-127.1 Failure to stop at railroad crossing $85

39:4-127.2 Failure to stop for gate at approaches to movable span bridge $85

39:4-135 Improper parking $54

39:4-136 Parking on highway $54

39:4-137 Allowing a vehicle to stand on highway unattended while motor running 
and without setting brakes

$54

39:4-138(a) Improper parking within intersection $54

39:4-138(b) Improper parking on a crosswalk $54

39:4-138(c) Improper parking in safety bus zone $54

39:4-138(d) Improper parking in front of driveway $54

39:4-138(e) Improper parking within 25 ft. of crosswalk $54

39:4-138(f) Improper parking on a sidewalk $54

39:4-138(g) Improper parking in a no parking area established by State Highway 
Department

$54

39:4-138(h) Improper parking within 50 feet of stop sign $54

39:4-138(i) Improper parking within 10 feet of fire hydrant $54

39:4-138(j) Improper parking within 50 feet of railroad $54

39:4-138(k) Improper parking within 20 feet of driveway entrance to fire station or 75 
feet on opposite side of street (when properly signposted)

$54

39:4-138(l) Improper parking alongside or opposite street excavation or 
obstruction, causing traffic obstruction (when properly signposted)

$54

39:4-138(m) Double parking $54
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N.J.S.A
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AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

39:4-138(n) Improper parking on a bridge, elevated structure, underpass or 
immediate approaches (except where space for parking is provided)

$54

39:4-139 Loading or unloading for unreasonable period of time $54

39:4-144 Failure to obey stop or yield right-of way signs $85

39:4-144 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to obey stop 
or yield right-of-way signs

$140

39:4-145 Failure to yield to vehicle entering stop or yield intersection after 
stopping

$85

39:4-207.9 Failure to remove snow from handicapped parking space $230

39:4-215 Failure to obey signals, signs or directions $54

39:8-1 Failure to have inspection $130

39:8-4 Failure to make repairs $130

39:8-6 Failure to display approval certificate (fines for inspection violations are 
forwarded to Division of Motor Vehicles)

$130

39:8-62 Operation of diesel powered motor vehicle - emission violation-no 
certification of repair - first offense only (the payable amount may be 
reduced to $150.00 if a certification of repair is provided and it is 
acceptable to the Court)

$730
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N.J.S.A
Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated 

Failure to exhibit identification marker or card - Motor Fuels Use Tax 
Act (Fine to be forwarded to the Division of Motor Vehicles)

B.     PARKING REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C. Payable
 Amount

$36Parking in any State parking area in Trenton without a permit 13:56-1.1(a)

C.     MOTOR FUELS USE TAX ACT REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C. Payable
Amount

54:39A-10 $55

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 

D.    INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION PLAN REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C.
Payable
Amount

$530Certificate or apportioned registration not carried in vehicle13:18-2.10(d)2

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 
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