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Continuing Legal Education Requirement for Lawyers Admitted to the New Jersey Bar in 2014 
 
Every active lawyer is required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) every 2 years.  
Of those 24 credits, at least 4 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism.  A “newly admitted lawyer” is 
defined by the Board on Continuing Legal Education (Board) as a lawyer who becomes an active member of 
the New Jersey bar for the first time.   
 
Within the general 24 credit CLE requirement, a newly admitted lawyer with a plenary license in New Jersey 
must obtain 15 credit hours in any 5 of the following 9 subject areas during the newly admitted lawyer’s first 
full two-year compliance period: New Jersey basic estate administration; New Jersey basic estate planning; 
New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation; New Jersey family law practice; New Jersey real estate closing 
procedures; New Jersey trust and business accounting; New Jersey landlord/tenant practice; New Jersey 
municipal court practice; and New Jersey law office management.  Newly admitted attorneys with a limited 
license do not have to take the 15-credit new admit coursework. 
 
Unless an attorney neither lives nor works in New Jersey or in another mandatory CLE jurisdiction, no less 
than ½ of the required credits per compliance period must be taken live with an instructor in the room; the 
balance may be in alternative verifiable learning (AVL) formats.  (See BCLE Reg. 201:8).  An attorney who 
lives, works, and is licensed in a mandatory CLE jurisdiction that allows for 100% AVL formats may, through 
reciprocity, apply those 100% AVL format courses towards compliance in New Jersey.  AVL format courses 
include videotape, audiotape, on-line internet computer presentations, satellite simulcasts, teleconferencing, 
videoconferencing, internet computer self-study, or other type of remote learning format authorized by the 
Board.  If an attorney is living and working out of state and cannot obtain the live courses related to the new 
admit subject areas, he or she may apply for a waiver of the live requirement.  A newly admitted lawyer may 
obtain credit for CLE courses taken after his or her graduation from law school but before admission to the 
New Jersey bar towards their first compliance reporting period, so long as those courses were taken no more 
than 12 months prior to the lawyer’s date of admission to the New Jersey bar.  Attorneys may carry over no 
more than 12 extra credits from the preceding compliance period into the next. 
 
The first compliance reporting period for newly admitted lawyers begins January 1 of the year immediately 
following admission to the New Jersey bar.  For lawyers who were admitted to the New Jersey bar in 2014, 
your CLE requirement will begin on January 1, 2015.  Newly admitted lawyers are automatically assigned to a 
compliance reporting group based on their respective birthdays. 
 
Compliance Reporting Group 1: If your birthday is between January 1 and June 30, you are in Compliance 
Reporting Group 1 and will report the completion of the required credits in the annual attorney registration and 
billing process in even-numbered years.  Newly admitted lawyers in Group 1 will have a one year transitional 
reporting period and must obtain 12 credit hours by December 31, 2015.  Of the 12 required credits, at least 2 
credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism.  You will certify compliance in the 2016 annual attorney 
registration and billing process.  Your next compliance period will begin on January 1, 2016 and end on 
December 31, 2017 and, you will be required to obtain 24 credits and meet the specific new admit 



requirement.  At least 4 of the 24 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, at least 15 credits must be in 
any 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers, and the balance of credits in any 
legal, judicial, or other educational activity approved for CLE.  
 
Compliance Reporting Group 2: If your birthday is between July 1 and December 31, you are in Compliance 
Reporting Group 2 and will report the completion of credits in the annual attorney registration and billing 
process in odd-numbered years.  Newly admitted lawyers in Group 2 must obtain 24 credit hours by December 
31, 2016 and will certify compliance in the 2017 annual attorney registration and billing process.  At least 4 of 
the 24 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, at least 15 credits must be in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey 
specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers, and the balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or 
other educational activity approved for CLE. 
 
A $50 CLE noncompliance fee will be assessed against attorneys who report they did not complete the 
required courses by the deadline for course completion.  An additional $50 (for a total of $100) will be 
assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their CLE courses within the afforded grace period or who fail 
to report regarding CLE compliance at all.  In addition, beginning in 2014, noncompliant attorneys are subject 
to being declared administratively ineligible to practice law in New Jersey. 
 
The chart below may assist you in determining your CLE requirement for your first two compliance reporting 
periods based on your date of plenary admission to the New Jersey bar and your compliance group.  Newly 
admitted lawyers with a limited license may use this chart but are not required to meet the 15 credit new-admit 
coursework. 
 

Compliance Reporting Group 1 (birthdays from January 1 through June 30) 

 
Year 
Admitted 

 
Requirement 
Begins 

 
First Compliance Reporting Period 

 
Second Compliance Reporting Period 

2013 January 1, 2014 24 credits by 12/31/15 
Must complete new-admit requirement  

24 credits by 12/31/17 

2014 January 1, 2015 12 credits by 12/31/15 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/17 
Must complete new-admit requirement

2015 January 1, 2016 24 credits by 12/31/17 
Must complete new-admit requirement 

24 credits by 12/31/19 

 
Compliance Reporting Group 2 (birthdays from July 1 through December 31) 

 
Year 
Admitted 

 
Requirement 
Begins 

 
First Compliance Reporting Period 

 
Second Compliance Reporting Period 

2013 January 1, 2014 12 credits by 12/31/14 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/16 
Must complete new-admit requirement

2014 January 1, 2015 24 credits by 12/31/16 
Must complete new-admit requirement

24 credits by 12/31/18 

2015 January 1, 2016 12 credits by 12/31/16 
Transitional reporting period 

24 credits by 12/31/18 
Must complete new-admit requirement

“Transitional reporting period” means that you have a one-year period to obtain 12 credits.  At least 2 of the credits must be in ethics 
and/or professionalism and the balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or 
another mandatory CLE jurisdiction. 
 
“Must complete new admit requirement” means that during this 2-year reporting period you must obtain 24 credits.  Of those 24 
credits, at least 4 credits in must be in ethics and/or professionalism, 15 credits in any 5 of the 9 New Jersey subject areas, and the 
balance of credits in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board.  


