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 Defendant pled guilty and was sentenced as a second offender in the Boonton 
Municipal Court to refusing to take breathalyzer test.   Defendant appealed. The 
Superior Court, Law Division, Morris County, after trial de novo again found defendant 
guilty based on guilty plea and sentenced him as a second offender.   Defendant 
appealed.   The Superior Court, Appellate Division, Michels, P.J.A.D., held that 
defendant's prior conviction for driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor 
triggered sentence for second offenders. 
 
 Affirmed in part;  vacated in part. 
 
 
 **1282 *503 Robbins and Robbins, Woodbridge, for appellant (Mark S. Rothman, of 
counsel and on the letter brief). 
 
 W. Michael Murphy, Jr., Morris County Prosecutor, for respondent (Joseph P. Connor, 
Jr., Asst. Morris County Prosecutor, of counsel and on the letter brief). 
 
 Before Judges MICHELS, KEEFE and HUMPHREYS. 
 
 The opinion of the court was delivered by 
 
 MICHELS, P.J.A.D. 
 
 Defendant Clifford J. Tekel pleaded guilty in the Boonton Municipal Court for refusing to 
take a breathalyzer test in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a. Defendant had previously 
been convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor in *504 violation 
of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.   The Municipal Court judge treated defendant's conviction for 
refusing to take a breathalyzer test as a subsequent offense within the meaning of 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a, suspended his driving privileges in New Jersey for two years, fined 
defendant $500, and ordered defendant to attend twelve to forty-eight hours at an 



Intoxicated Driver's Resource Center.   Defendant appealed to the Law Division where, 
following a trial de novo on the record, he was again found guilty based on his guilty 
plea, and in addition to the penalties imposed by the Municipal Court judge, the Law 
Division judge also imposed a $50 Violent Crimes Compensation Board (VCCB) penalty 
and a $75 Safe Neighborhoods Services Fund (SNSF) assessment.   Defendant 
appealed. 
 
 Defendant seeks a reversal of the two-year driver's license suspension, the  $50 VCCB 
penalty and the $75 SNSF assessment, contending that the trial court erred in (1) 
holding that he was a second offender under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a and (2) imposing a 
$50 VCCB penalty and a $75 SNSF assessment. 
 
 This appeal, once again, raises the interpretation and application of  N.J.S.A. 
39:4-50.4a.   More precisely, the issue is whether a prior conviction for operating a 
motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of N.J.S.A. 
39:4-50 satisfies the language of "a subsequent offense under this section" contained in 
N.J.S.A. 39:4- 50.4a, thereby mandating the imposition of the enhanced penalty of a 
two-year suspension.   Defendant contends that only a conviction for a prior refusal to 
take a breathalyzer test in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a satisfies this statutory 
language and that a prior conviction for operating a motor vehicle while under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 does not lead to the 
enhanced two-year penalty.   We disagree and affirm the trial court's suspension of 
defendant's driver's license for two years. 
 
 Despite laws in place to prevent drunk driving, prior to the enactment of the original 
refusal statute, New Jersey drivers were not required to take blood-alcohol tests, and 
refusal to take such *505 tests carried no penalties. Consequently, many motorists 
refused to take the tests.  State v. Wright, 107 N.J. 488, 498, 527 A.2d 379 (1987).   
This high rate of refusal made enforcement of the drunk driving laws very difficult.   
Without a breathalyzer test, police were without a method of reliably distinguishing 
motorists who were actually drunk from those motorists who displayed symptoms of 
drunkenness attributable to other causes, such as dizziness resulting from an injury. Id. 
at 498-99, 527 A.2d 379.   This situation led to a great number of trials and a substantial 
waste of time and money.   See Id. at 499, 527 A.2d 379. 
 
 The original refusal statute was enacted to combat these problems.   It provided for a 
**1283 six-month license suspension for all refusals.   N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4.   However, 
this deterrent proved ineffective because the six-month suspension period was less 
than the penalty many defendants would have received upon a conviction for drunk 
driving.  Wright, supra, 107 N.J. at 501, 527 A.2d 379.   In response, the Legislature 
amended the statute to include a one-year suspension of driving privileges for any 
motorist whose refusal was in connection with a subsequent violation.  N.J.S.A. 39:4- 
50.4(b).   Viewed by the Legislature as still insufficient, the statute was again amended 
in 1981.   Such amendments have resulted in the current form of the refusal statute, 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a.   This statute, in pertinent part, now reads as follows: 

The municipal court shall revoke the right to operate a motor vehicle of any operator 



who, after being arrested for a violation of R.S. 39:4-50, shall refuse to submit to the 
chemical test ... when requested to do so, for 6 months unless the refusal was in 
connection with a subsequent offense under this section, in which case the revocation 
period shall be for 2 years. 

  [Emphasis added.] 
 
 [1] We construe the language "a subsequent offense under this section" contained in 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a to include the offense of operating a motor vehicle while under the 
influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.   In reaching this 
conclusion, we reject defendant's interpretation of this language to mean that only a 
refusal to take a breathalyzer test can constitute a "subsequent offense under this 
section" of the statute. 
 
 *506 [2][3] Our interpretation of this language is grounded in well-settled principles of 
statutory construction that "[w]here a literal rendering [of a statute] will lead to a result 
not in accord with the essential purpose and design of the act, the spirit of the law will 
control the letter."  N.J. Builders, Owners and Managers Association v. Blair, 60 N.J. 
330, 338, 288 A.2d 855 (1972).   See also J.C. Chap. Prop. Owner's, etc., Assoc. v. City 
Council, 55 N.J. 86, 100, 259 A.2d 698 (1969);  Dvorkin v. Dover Tp., 29 N.J. 303, 315, 
148 A.2d 793 (1959).   In seeking to ascertain the purpose and reason for the 
legislation, a court must consider "not only the particular statute in question, but also the 
entire legislative scheme of which it is a part."  Kimmelman v. Henkels & McCoy, Inc., 
108 N.J. 123, 129, 527 A.2d 1368 (1987).   See also Wright, supra, 107 N.J. at 497, 527 
A.2d 379; Denbo v. Moorestown Twp., 23 N.J. 476, 481, 129 A.2d 710 (1957);  State v. 
Brown, 22 N.J. 405, 415, 126 A.2d 161 (1956). 
 
 [4] Furthermore, it is beyond question that "[s]tatutes [should] not be interpreted in a 
manner leading to absurd or unreasonable results."  534 Hawthorne Ave. Corp. v. 
Barnes, 204 N.J.Super. 144, 148, 497 A.2d 1265 (App.Div.1985).   See also State v. 
Gill, 47 N.J. 441, 444, 221 A.2d 521 (1966).   In fact, when construing a statute, "every 
effort should be exerted to avoid ... an anomalous result."  Union Co. Bd. of Freeholders 
v. Union Co. Park Com., 41 N.J. 333, 341, 196 A.2d 781 (1964).   See Robson v. 
Rodriquez, 26 N.J. 517, 528, 141 A.2d 1 (1958);  New Capitol Bar & Grill Corp. v. Div. of 
Employment Sec., 25 N.J. 155, 160, 135 A.2d 465 (1957); Reisman v. Great Amer. 
Recreation, 266 N.J.Super. 87, 96, 628 A.2d 801 (App.Div.), certif. denied, 134 N.J. 
560, 636 A.2d 519 (1993). 
 
 Additionally, in Wright, supra, 107 N.J. at 497, 527 A.2d 379, our Supreme Court 
emphasized that the primary factor in construing a statute, such as our drunk driving 
statutes, is the intent of the Legislature, and, that: 

In discerning the legislature's intent, we must consider not only the particular statute in 
question, but also the entire legislative scheme of which it is part. 
*507 'The primary purpose behind New Jersey's drunk driving statutes is to curb the 
senseless havoc and destruction caused by intoxicated drivers.'   We have 
consistently given a broad interpretation to the drunk driving laws when a narrow 
interpretation would frustrate this legislative policy. 



  [Citations omitted.] 
 
 **1284 Analyzing the legislative intent underlying N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a in light of the 
statutory scheme dealing with drunk driving, it would be anomalous if we were to adopt 
the position of defendant.   The Legislature could not have intended to more severely 
punish one who refuses to take a breathalyzer test than one who was convicted of 
drunk driving.   It would be inequitable to suspend for a period of two years, the driving 
privileges of a motorist who has refused to submit to a breathalyzer test for a second 
time, while if that same motorist had not refused to submit to the test, but had instead 
originally been convicted of drunk driving, his license would only be suspended for a 
period of six months.   It is clear that if our courts were to treat a convicted drunk driver 
less harshly than one who was convicted of refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test, it 
would violate the spirit of the statute and greatly frustrate our legislative policy. 
 
 The interpretation we place on the language "a subsequent offense under this section" 
is supported by and consistent with other decisions in this State. For example, in In re 
Bergwall, 85 N.J. 382, 427 A.2d 65 (1981), rev'g on dissent 173 N.J.Super. 431, 414 
A.2d 584 (App.Div.1980), the Supreme Court established that the enhanced penalty 
provided under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4(b) [the 1977 amendment that replaced N.J.S.A. 
39:4-50.4 (L.1977, c. 29, § 4) and was the precursor to the current statute, N.J.S.A. 
39:4-50.4a] was applicable to motorists who refused a breathalyzer test after a 
conviction for driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor.   This holding was 
later supported by other decisions.   See State v. Fahrer, 212 N.J.Super. 571, 578-79, 
515 A.2d 1240 (App.Div.1986);  State v. Wilhalme, 206 N.J.Super. 359, 362-63, 502 
A.2d 1159 (App.Div.1985), certif. denied, 104 N.J. 398, 517 A.2d 401 (1986).   Cf. State 
v. Grant, 196 N.J.Super. 470, 479-81, *508 483 A.2d 411 (App.Div.1984) (affirming a 
similar enhanced penalty, without considering the precise issue raised on this appeal). 
 
 The Bergwall decision was rendered before the 1981 amendment to the statute in 
question, when the more lenient one-year suspension period was in effect. However, in 
Wilhalme, which was decided when the current refusal statute was in effect, we 
specifically held that the policies which supported Bergwall were sound, and that the 
amendment to the statute did not alter the prior interpretation that a prior conviction for 
driving while intoxicated triggered the imposition of the enhanced two-year license 
suspension penalty for refusal to take a breathalyzer test under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a.  
Wilhalme, supra, 206 N.J.Super. at 360-61, 502 A.2d 1159.   The Wilhalme court 
explained that: 

An examination of the legislative history in chronological juxtaposition with the 
litigation history of Bergwall rebuts defendant's contention.   In 1980 we held that the 
phrase "of this section" was limited to prior refusals to submit.  In re Bergwall, 173 
N.J.Super. 431, 433 [414 A.2d 584] (App.Div.1980).   In a dissent, Judge Lora 
expressed the view that the phrase encompassed the drunk driving section of Title 39, 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50-- that the legislative history clearly indicated a prior drunk driving 
conviction would trigger the greater penalty.  Id. at 437-440 [414 A.2d 584].  After our 
opinion in Bergwall, the legislation was introduced which repealed  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4 
and enacted N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a.   In its original version, the phrase "in this section" 



was replaced with "under R.S. 39:4- 50", the meaning unsuccessfully urged by Judge 
Lora in his dissent.   Assembly Bill 2293 of 1980.   On March 26, 1981 our Supreme 
Court reversed our opinion for the reasons expressed in the dissent.  In re Bergwall, 
85 N.J. at 383 [427 A.2d 65].  Seven weeks later, Senate Judiciary Committee 
Amendments to the legislation replaced the phrase "R.S. 39:4-50" with "this section." 
Assembly Bill 2293 of 1980 with Senate Committee Amendments.   This change was 
responsive to the Supreme Court's construction of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and incidentally 
explains the change in phraseology from "in this section" to "under this section." 
We are persuaded that the Legislature was familiar with the judicial history and **1285 
intended to use words which had been judicially construed so as to leave the 
operation of the enhanced penalty provision unchanged.   See Brewer v. Porch, 53 
N.J. 167, 174 [249 A.2d 388] (1969);  In re Estate of Posey, 89 N.J.Super. 293, 301 
[214 A.2d 713] (Cty.Ct.1965), aff'd, 92 N.J.Super. 259 [223 A.2d 38] (App.Div.1966).   
Ordinarily, a revision such as this is not construed to alter existing law unless there is 
a clear indication the Legislature desires it have such effect.   See Helfrich v. Hamilton 
Tp., 182 N.J.Super. 365, 370 [440 A.2d 1366] (App.Div.1981).   We have a strong 
public policy against drunk driving--reflective of a broad public insistence on the 
separation of drinking and driving.   The continued application of the *509 Bergwall 
construction to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a recognizes that policy.  [Id. at 362-63, 502 A.2d 
1159.] 

 
 Defendant relies almost exclusively on State v. DiSomma, 262 N.J.Super. 375, 621 
A.2d 55 (App.Div.1993), to support his argument that the enhanced two-year penalty 
should not apply in this case.   The DiSomma court stated by way of dicta that it did "not 
necessarily agree" with prior precedents in New Jersey which established that if a 
defendant had a prior conviction for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence 
of intoxicating liquor, a subsequent refusal conviction would lead to second offender 
status and the enhanced penalties of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a.  Id. at 378, 621 A.2d 55. The 
DiSomma court based its decision on the conclusion that the refusal statute (N.J.S.A. 
39:4-50.4a) is a wholly separate section from the operating while under the influence 
statute (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50).  Id. at 382, 621 A.2d 55. 
 
 In our view, defendant's reliance upon DiSomma is misplaced, since it is 
distinguishable from this case.   In DiSomma we were faced with the converse situation 
from that which we are faced with here.   Namely, in DiSomma we held that a defendant 
with a prior conviction for refusing to take a breathalyzer test in violation of N.J.S.A. 
39:4-50.4a could not be sentenced as a second offender following a conviction for 
driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. 
DiSomma, therefore, does not serve as precedent here, because the factual 
circumstances were plainly different from this case and the court only addressed our 
factual scenario in dicta.   Further, and perhaps more importantly, the DiSomma dicta is 
contrary to the principles established in such persuasive cases as Bergwall and 
Wilhalme, and undermines the sound legislative policy on which drunk driving statutes 
are grounded. 
 
 Beyond this, should defendant's argument succeed, anyone who has been previously 



convicted of drunk driving would refuse to take a breathalyzer test, since the penalty for 
such refusal would be the lesser six-month penalty, instead of the more severe two-year 
penalty.   Such an outcome would do nothing to curb the "senseless havoc and 
destruction caused by intoxicated drivers." *510 See Wright, supra, 107 N.J. at 497, 527 
A.2d 379.   See also State v. Tischio, 107 N.J. 504, 512, 527 A.2d 388 (1987), appeal 
dismissed, 484 U.S. 1038, 108 S.Ct. 768, 98 L.Ed.2d 855 (1988). 
 
 Furthermore, defendant fails to offer a persuasive argument that the amendments 
made to the refusal statute were enacted for any reason other than to extend the 
suspension for repeat offenders from one year to two years. There is nothing in the 
legislative history which indicates that the amendments were made to overrule the 
precedent established by Bergwall.   Should this have been the Legislature's intent, it 
would have done so explicitly.   Given the strong public policy supporting the strict 
enforcement of drunk driving statutes, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a should be interpreted to 
provide the harsher two-year suspension period for defendant's refusal to submit to a 
breathalyzer test in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a after his prior conviction for driving 
while under the influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.   
Consequently, we affirm the trial court's imposition of defendant's two-year driver's 
license suspension. 
 
 However, we agree with defendant that the trial court erred in imposing a $50 VCCB 
penalty and a $75 SNSF assessment for his conviction for refusing to submit to a 
breathalyzer test in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a.   The State concedes error in this 
regard.  N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3.1a(2)(c), which deals with VCCB penalties, provides: 

**1286 In addition to any other assessment imposed pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 
39:4-50, any person convicted of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence 
of liquor or drugs shall be assessed $50.00. 

 
 And N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3.2a(1), which deals with SNSF assessments, provides: 

In addition to any other fine, fee or assessment imposed, any person convicted of a 
crime, disorderly or petty disorderly persons offense or violation of R.S. 39:4-50 shall 
be assessed $75 for each conviction. 

 
 [5] Neither N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3.1a(2)(c) nor N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3.2a(1) apply to impose 
monetary penalties and assessments for defendant's conviction for refusing to take a 
breathalyzer test in *511 violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a.   Consequently, the $50 
VCCB penalty and the $75 SNSF assessment must be vacated. 
 
 Accordingly, except to vacate the $50 VCCB penalty and the $75 SNSF assessment 
imposed upon defendant, the judgment of conviction under review is affirmed. 
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