
 

 

State v. Ripley, 364 N.J. Super. 343 (App. Div. 2003). 
 
The following summary is not part of the opinion of the court.  Please note that, in the 
interest of brevity, portions of the opinion may not have been summarized. 
 
A Utah alcohol-related reckless driving conviction entered on a guilty plea to a reduced 
charge from the original DWI charge was not substantially similar to a New Jersey DWI 
conviction for purposes of the Interstate Driver License Compact. We reversed the 720-
day suspension by the DMV because of lack of substantial similarity in the Utah and 
New Jersey offenses. 
 
The full text of the case follows. 

****************************************************************** 
 
 
 

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE 
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION 

 
       SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY 
       APPELLATE DIVISION 
       DOCKET NO. A-1965-02T3 
 
NEW JERSEY DIVISION 
OF MOTOR VEHICLES, 
 
 Petitioner-Respondent, 
 
v. 
 
PAUL D. RIPLEY, 
 
 Respondent-Appellant. 
__________________________________ 
 

Argued: October 1, 2003 - Decided:  November 26, 2003 
 
Before Judges King, Lintner and Lisa. 
 
On appeal from the Office of Administrative Law, OAL 
Docket No. MVH 9598-01. 
 
Bernard H. Shihar argued the cause for appellant (Convery, 
Convery & Shihar, attorneys; Mr. Shihar, on the brief). 
 



 

 2

Emily H. Armstrong, Deputy Attorney General, argued the 
cause for respondent (Peter C. Harvey, Attorney General of 
New Jersey, attorney; Patrick DeAlmeida, Deputy Attorney 
General, of counsel; Sue Kleinberg, Deputy Attorney 
General, on the brief). 
 
The opinion of the court was delivered by 

 
KING, P.J.A.D. 
 
  The defendant, Paul D. Ripley (Ripley), appeals a New Jersey Division of Motor 

Vehicle (DMV) decision of December 16, 2001 suspending his license.  Ripley pled 

guilty in Utah to the charge of alcohol-related reckless driving.  Pursuant to the 

Interstate Driver License Compact (IDLC or Compact), DMV suspended his license for 

two years.   

 Ripley contends that the DMV decision should be reversed because DMV 

wrongly equated New Jersey’s DWI statute with Utah’s alcohol-related reckless driving 

statute.  DMV may suspend a license under the IDLC for two reasons: (1) the conduct in 

Utah would constitute the offense of driving under the influence in New Jersey; and (2) 

the Utah statute for alcohol-related reckless driving is substantially similar to New 

Jersey’s statute for driving under the influence.  We find neither reason applicable here 

and reverse. 

I 

  In Ogden, Utah on November 9, 2000 Ripley was arrested and charged with 

driving while under the influence of alcohol.  Ripley’s breathalyzer test allegedly showed 

a reading of .089%.  On July 2, 2001 he entered a guilty plea with the prosecutor's 

consent to "alcohol-related reckless driving," downgraded from the original charge of 

driving under the influence of alcohol.  He received a jail sentence of ninety days, which 
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was suspended, and a probation term of one year.   He also paid a $1,000 fine and was 

ordered to attend alcohol counseling in New Jersey.   

 New Jersey DMV notified Ripley on February 1, 2001, six months before he 

entered his guilty plea, that it planned to suspend his New Jersey driving privileges on 

February 27, 2001 for 720 days because of the Utah "conviction."  As noted, the IDLC 

requires New Jersey DMV to treat a conviction in another state for driving under the 

influence of alcohol as if it occurred in New Jersey. 

 Ripley’s driving privileges in New Jersey had been suspended for driving under 

the influence on two prior occasions, February 11, 1986 and April 13, 1987, more than 

ten years earlier.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(2) provides that DMV may forfeit an offender’s 

license for two years upon a second DWI conviction.  DMV treated the Utah conviction 

as a second offense because of the ten-year lapse.  See N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3). Ripley 

promptly requested an administrative hearing.  He alleged that the Utah offense does 

not constitute a cognate offense in New Jersey and his guilty plea did not constitute an 

appropriate conviction.  The Administrative Law Judge rejected his arguments and 

found that the Utah conviction was substantially similar to New Jersey’s statute for 

driving while intoxicated.  She affirmed the suspension of his driving privileges for 720 

days.  DMV adopted ALJ Celentano’s recommendation and then suspended his driving 

privileges for 720 days, effective December 16, 2001.  On December 24, 2002 we 

stayed the suspension pending appeal. 

II 

  Generally, this court will not disturb a state agency decision unless the decision 

is "arbitrary, capricious or unreasonable or it is not supported by substantial credible 
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evidence in the record as a whole."  Henry v. Rahway State Prison, 81 N.J. 571, 579-80 

(1980).  However, while an appellate court must respect the agency’s expertise, the 

interpretation of a statute is a judicial function and we are "in no way bound by the 

agency's interpretation of a statute or its determination of a strictly legal issue."  

Mayflower Sec. Co. v. Bureau of Sec., 64 N.J. 85, 93 (1973). 

 The Compact requires the New Jersey DMV to suspend a license when the 

driver is convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol in another state.  

Specifically, N.J.S.A. 39:5D-4 provides: 

 
(a) The licensing authority in the home State, for the purposes of 
suspension, revocation or limitation of the license to operate a motor 
vehicle, shall give the same effect to the conduct reported . . . as it 
would if such conduct had occurred in the home State, shall apply 
the penalties of the home State or of the State in which the violation 
occurred, in the case of convictions for: 
 
. . . . 
 

(2) Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor . . . to a degree which renders the 
driver incapable of safely driving a motor vehicle. 
 

. . . 
 
(c) If the laws of a party State do not provide for offenses or 
violations denominated or described in precisely the words 
employed in subdivision (a) of this article, such party State 
shall construe the denominations and descriptions appearing 
in subdivision (a) hereof as being applicable to and identifying 
those offenses or violations of a substantially similar nature 
and the laws of such party State shall contain such provisions 
as may be necessary to ensure that full force and effect is 
given to this article.   [Emphasis added.] 

 
 

The suspension of a New Jersey driver’s license is appropriate where an alcohol-related 

driving incident occurred in another state under two circumstances: (1) if the conduct in 
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that state constitutes driving under the influence under New Jersey law, see N.J.S.A. 

39:5D-4(a); and (2) if the offense the defendant was convicted of in that state is of a 

substantially similar nature to driving under the influence under New Jersey law, see 

N.J.S.A. 39:5D-4(c). 

 If the conduct in Utah constitutes the New Jersey violation of "driving a motor 

vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor," then New Jersey DMV may impose 

penalties as if the conduct had occurred in New Jersey.  In our state the offense of 

driving while intoxicated occurs when a person "operates a motor vehicle while under 

the influence of intoxicating liquor . . . or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol 

concentration of 0.10% or more . . . . "  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. 

 Our Supreme Court has interpreted "under the influence of intoxicating liquor" 

rather broadly.  "The offense of driving while 'under the influence of intoxicating liquor' 

prohibits general conditions, short of intoxication as a result of which every motor 

vehicle operator has to be said to be so affected in judgment as to make it improper for 

him to drive on the highways."  State v. Johnson, 42 N.J. 146, 165 (1964); accord State 

v. Tamburro, 68 N.J. 414, 421 (1975).   

 The police stopped Ripley after he made an unsignaled turn.  He was charged 

with DWI under the Utah statute based on a BAC reading of .089% and a field sobriety 

test.   

The Utah statute, U.C.A. 41-6-44 provides that: 

 
(2)(a) A person may not operate or be in actual physical control 
of a vehicle within this state if the person: 
 

(i) has sufficient alcohol in his body that a chemical 
test given within two hours of the alleged operation or 
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physical control shows that the person has a blood or 
breath alcohol concentration of .08 grams or greater; 
or 
 
(ii) is under the influence of alcohol . . . to a degree that 
renders the person incapable of safely operating a vehicle.  
 
 
 

The Utah offense of driving under the influence was "downgraded" to alcohol-

related reckless driving, U.C.A. 41-6-45, pursuant to a plea agreement with the 

prosecutor.  U.C.A. 41-6-45, the relevant reckless driving statute, provides: 

 
(1) A person is guilty of reckless driving who operates a vehicle: 
 

(a) in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of 
persons or property . . .. 

 
The offense of reckless driving is classified as alcohol-related reckless driving in 

Utah under certain circumstances: 

 
(9)(a)(i) When the prosecution agrees to a plea of guilty or no 
contest to a charge of a violation of Section 41-6-45 . . . in 
satisfaction of, or as a substitute for, an original charge of a violation 
of this section [Section 41-6-44], the prosecution shall state for the 
record a factual basis for the plea, including whether or not there 
had been consumption of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both, 
by the defendant in connection with the violation. 
 
(ii) The statement is an offer of proof of the facts that shows whether 
there was consumption of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both, 
by the defendant, in connection with the violation. 
 
[U.C.A. 41-6-44] (emphasis added). 
 
 

 We conclude that the offense of alcohol-related reckless driving, for purposes of 

Ripley's guilty plea to U.C.A. 41-6-45(1)(a), and in the context of U.C.A. 41-6-44-9(a)(i) 

and (ii), is not substantially similar to New Jersey's offense of driving while under the 
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influence.  Reckless driving under the Utah statute is similar to our reckless driving 

statute, N.J.S.A. 39:4-96, which proscribes driving a vehicle "heedlessly, in willful or 

wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in manner so as to endanger . . . a 

person or property." 

 Where a defendant is initially charged with DWI, a prosecutor in Utah is permitted 

to downgrade to the alcohol-related reckless charge by providing a factual basis, 

"including whether or not there had been consumption of alcohol . . . in connection with 

the violation."  U.C.A. 41-6-44(9)(a)(i) (emphasis added).  The elements of this lesser 

offense do not include any specific or minimum level of intoxication or blood alcohol, but 

merely require some consumption of alcohol in connection with the reckless driving.  

The statutory terms comport with Ripley's position that the consumption of any alcohol 

would suffice, whether or not it rendered the driver "under the influence" and thus unfit 

to drive, as defined in our case law.  In our view, this is not an equivalent offense to our 

DWI. 

 The Director's reliance on Div. of Motor Vehicles v. Lawrence, 194 N.J. Super. 1 

(App. Div. 1983), is unpersuasive.  There, we concluded that New York's lesser-

included offense of driving while impaired (defendant was initially charged with the 

greater offense of driving while under the influence), is substantially similar in nature to 

our DWI.  Id. at 3.  The statutory provision, as interpreted by the New York courts, 

defined that lesser offense in substantially the same manner as we have defined our 

DWI offense ⎯ driving an automobile after the consumption of sufficient alcohol to 
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lessen or impair physical and mental control to any significant degree.  Ibid.1  That is not 

the case with the Utah statute, where the offense of which Ripley was convicted 

contains no element of impaired driving ability, but simply requires the consumption of 

alcohol in connection with the violation.   

 We also observe that the Director acted precipitously here.  The notice of the 

proposed 720-day suspension was issued on February 1, 2001, stating that Ripley had 

been convicted of operating under the influence in Utah.  However, this charge was only 

pending at that time.  The plea agreement occurred and his guilty plea and sentencing 

on the lesser offense later took place on July 2, 2001.  

 The Utah reckless driving statute does not require any impairment.  Nor does it 

require that alcohol caused the reckless driving.  There is nothing in the guilty plea 

record which supports a finding that defendant was impaired by the consumption of 

alcohol.  Indeed, there is no transcript of the plea hearing.  There is no concession or 

adjudicatory finding about the accuracy of the Utah BAC test of .089 or the reliability of 

the field sobriety test.  All we have is a guilty plea to Utah's cognate reckless driving 

statute with an admission, per that statute, that there was consumption of alcohol in 

connection with the offense.  We are also aware of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3) which states: 

 
A conviction of a violation of a law of a substantially similar 
nature in another jurisdiction . . . shall constitute a prior 
conviction under this subsection unless the defendant can 
demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the 
conviction in the other jurisdiction was based exclusively 

                     
1 Similar holdings to our Lawrence decision are McDonald v. Dep't 
of Motor Vehicles, 91 Cal. Rptr.2d 826 (Cal. Ct App. 2000); 
Przybyla v. S.C. Dep't of Highways & Pub. Transp., 437 S.E.2d 70 
(S.C. 1993); Mills v. Edgar, 534 N.E.2d 187 (Ill. App. Ct. 
1989). 
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upon a violation of a proscribed blood alcohol concentration 
of less than 0.10%. 

 
 
This section of our statute demonstrates that our legislature realized the level of blood 

alcohol was quite significant when considering whether another state's statute was 

substantially similar.  The end result here is that the Utah DWI violation ⎯ the 

substantially similar offense to our DWI statute ⎯ was dismissed consequent upon the 

plea agreement and the guilty plea to a lesser offense.   

 At the very least, the Utah statutes present us with ambiguity when construed in 

the context of our statutes and the Compact.  In this situation we should not strain to 

adopt the State's interpretation in this quasi-criminal matter.  See State v. Reiner, 363 

N.J. Super. 167, 180 (App. Div. 2003); see also State v. Livingston, 172 N.J. 209, 218 

(2002); State v. Valentin, 105 N.J. 14, 18 (1987).  We reverse the suspension imposed 

by the DMV. 

 Reversed. 


