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The offenses charged in the captioned summonses all arose out of the same facts 

and circumstances and were consolidated for trial pursuant to Rule 7:8-4. The 
defendants 

were charged with violating N.J.S.A. 13:9-19, which says: 

In any district for which fire wardens have been appointed under the 
provisions of this chapter, no person shall set fire to or cause to be set on 
fire in any manner whatsoever; or to start fires anywhere and permit them 
to spread to forests, thereby causing damage to or threat to life or property, 
either accidentally or otherwise, directly or indirectly, in person or by 
agent, or cause to be burned waste, fallows, stumps, logs, brush, dry grass, 
fallen timber or any property, material, or vegetation being grown thereon, 
or anything that may cause a forest fire, without first obtaining the written 
permission of the department. 

In addition, the member of the New Jersey Forest Fire Service who charged the 

defendants with violating N.J.S.A. 13:9-19 issued a second summons to each defendant

seeking "recovery of costs associated with extinguishing the open burn w/o permit," 

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 13:9-44.9. 

�
The threshold question in this case is, "Does a municipal court have original 
jurisdiction to assess penalties for violation of N.J.S.A. 13:9-19?" This court’s 
research 
has disclosed no case on point that would provide the answer. This appears to be a 
case 
of first impression. For the reasons articulated below, the court holds that a 
municipal 
court does not have original jurisdiction to assess penalties for violation of 
N.J.S.A. 13:9

19. 
Accordingly, the captioned summonses must be dismissed. 
If a violation of N.J.S.A. 13:9-19 is alleged to have occurred, the Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) is authorized under N.J.S.A. 13:9-44.10 to: 
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1. 
Institute a civil action for injunctive relief to prohibit and prevent such 
violation; 
2. 
Collect any penalties under “the penalty enforcement law,” N.J.S.A. 2A: 58-1, 
et seq.; 
3. 
Petition the attorney general to bring a criminal action against any person who 
knowingly commits a violation; 
4. 
Levy a civil administrative remedy of not more than $5,000 for each violation 
and additional penalties of not more than $500 for each day during which such 
violation continues after receipt of an order from the department. No penalty 
may be levied until the person has been notified of the violation by certified 
mail or personal service. The notice must include a reference to the section of 
the statute violated, a concise statement of the facts alleged to constitute a 
violation, and a statement of the person’s right to a hearing. After a hearing 
and a finding that a violation has occurred, the commissioner may issue a final 
order after assessing the amount of the fine specified in the notice. 
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�
It is clear that original jurisdiction for hearing violations of N.J.S.A. 13:9-19 
and assessing penalties for such violations rests in the DEP, not in the municipal 
courts of New Jersey. It is only after the DEP has levied an administrative 
remedy of not more than $5,000 for each violation that the municipal courts have 
jurisdiction under the Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999, N.J.S.A. 2A: 58-1, et 
seq, 

For the reasons state above, the captioned actions are dismissed without 
prejudice. 
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