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In the Municipal Court, defendant Gale Sorensen entered a 

conditional plea of guilty to driving while intoxicated (DWI) 

with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.12%.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-

50(a)(1)(ii).  She appealed, and the Law Division suppressed the 
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Alcohol Influence Report (AIR) because the Alcotest operator did 

not provide a copy of the AIR to defendant at the police 

station, as mentioned in State v. Chun, 194 N.J. 54, cert. 

denied, 555 U.S. 825, 129 S. Ct. 158, 172 L. Ed. 2d 41 (2008).  

The State appeals.  We reject defendant's argument that the 

State's appeal is barred by double jeopardy.  We reverse the Law 

Division's suppression order and remand to the Municipal Court.  

I. 

New Jersey's statute barring driving while intoxicated 

penalizes "operat[ing] a motor vehicle while under the influence 

of intoxicating liquor," which is usually proven by observation 

of the person driving (an observation violation), and operating 

a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or more (a per se 

violation).  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a).  For a first-offense 

observation violation, a person is subject to a fine of $250 to 

$400, detainment for twelve to forty-eight hours in an 

Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program, a term of 

imprisonment of not more than thirty days, and a license 

suspension of three months.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(i).  A first 

offender who "operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol 

concentration of 0.08% [and less than 0.10%] by weight of 

alcohol in the defendant's blood" is subject to the same 

penalties.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a), (a)(1)(i).  However, "if the 
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person's blood alcohol concentration is 0.10% or higher," a 

first offender is also subject to a fine of $300 to $500 and a 

license suspension of seven to twelve months.  N.J.S.A. 39:4-

50(a)(1)(ii).   

The Legislature has provided that if a person who operated 

a motor vehicle gives a breath sample, "[a] record of the taking 

of any such sample, disclosing the date and time thereof, as 

well as the result of any chemical test, shall be made and a 

copy thereof, upon his request, shall be furnished or made 

available to the person so tested."  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b).  

"The police officer shall inform the person tested of" the right 

to receive a copy on request, as well as the right "to have such 

samples taken and chemical tests of his breath, urine or blood 

made by a person or physician of his own selection."  N.J.S.A. 

39:4-50.2(c), (d). 

The Legislature also provided that "[a] standard statement 

. . . shall be read by the police officer to the person under 

arrest."  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(e).  The Standard Statement for 

Motor Vehicle Operators (Standard Statement) advises: 

3. A record of the taking of the breath 

samples, including the test results, will be 

made.  Upon your request, a copy of that 

record will be made available to you. 

 

4. After you have provided samples of your 

breath for testing, you have the right, at 

your own expense, to have a person or 
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physician of your own selection take 

independent samples of your breath, blood or 

urine for independent testing. 

 

[New Jersey Attorney General’s Standard 

Statement For Motor Vehicle Operators 

(N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(e)) (revised & eff. July 

1, 2012), available at http://www.njsp.org/ 

divorg/invest/pdf/adtu/070912_dwi_standardst

atement.pdf (hereinafter Standard 

Statement).]
1

 

 

In Chun, our Supreme Court found the Alcotest was a 

scientifically reliable breath test, and held its results could 

be admissible to prove a per se violation of the DWI statute.  

Chun, supra, 194 N.J. at 65.  The Court said the Alcotest 

"operator must retain a copy of the AIR and give a copy to the 

arrestee."  Id. at 82. 

II. 

On February 5, 2013, Patrol Officer Christopher Nelson 

observed defendant's vehicle "jump[]" into the left lane of 

Route 23, drift into the center and right lanes, and then drift 

back to the left lane, all without using a turn signal.  When 

the officer turned on his emergency lights, defendant almost 

caused an accident trying to get to the shoulder.  Her eyes were 

                     

1

 The 2012 version is slightly reworded from the 2004 version, 

which identically stated: "Upon your request, a copy of that 

record will be made available to you."  New Jersey Motor Vehicle 

Commission Standard Statement For Operators Of A Motor Vehicle - 

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(e) (revised & eff. Apr. 26, 2004), available 

at http://www.state.nj.us/oag/dcj/agguide/dmvrefnew.pdf.  

http://www.njsp.org/%20divorg/invest/pdf/adtu/070912_dwi_standardstatement.pdf
http://www.njsp.org/%20divorg/invest/pdf/adtu/070912_dwi_standardstatement.pdf
http://www.njsp.org/%20divorg/invest/pdf/adtu/070912_dwi_standardstatement.pdf


A-3797-13T4 
5 

bloodshot and watery, her eyelids were droopy, and her vehicle 

smelled of alcohol.  After she failed several psycho-physical 

sobriety tests, she was arrested for DWI.  Patrol Officer 

William Juliano transported defendant to the police station for 

an Alcotest.   

At the station, Officer Nelson read defendant the Standard 

Statement.  Officer Juliano served as the Alcotest operator.  

While he observed defendant, she burped.  After restarting the 

twenty-minute observation period, he conducted the test.  The 

Alcotest equipment printed the AIR, which showed defendant's BAC 

was 0.12%.  At the bottom of the AIR "Copy Given to Subject" was 

preprinted.  The officer made a copy of the AIR and gave it to a 

superior officer, but did not give a copy to defendant.   

Officer Juliano advised Officer Nelson of the test results.  

Officer Nelson then issued defendant summonses for "Driving 

While Intoxicated, [N.J.S.A.] 39:4-50," unsafe lane change, 

N.J.S.A. 39:4-88(b), and careless driving, N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.   

Defendant appeared before the Municipal Court.  At the 

beginning of the hearing, defense counsel announced that 

defendant was "conceding that the observations, the driving, the 

psycho-physical tests, [and] the other indicia are sufficient 

under the [DWI] statute to establish [she was] under the 

influence."  Both sides agreed the issue was "a 90 day or a 
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seven month suspension," that is, whether defendant was guilty 

only of an observation violation, or also a per se violation.  

The parties agreed to hold a pre-trial hearing under N.J.R.E. 

104 to determine the admissibility of the Alcotest BAC results.  

In the "104 hearing," Officer Nelson and Officer Juliano 

testified about the Alcotest, and were found credible by the 

court. 

In the 104 hearing, defense counsel argued that the 

Alcotest results must be suppressed because Chun required that 

Officer Juliano provide the AIR to defendant in the station, and 

that defendant did not have to show any prejudice from his 

failure to do so.  The prosecutor doubted whether any police 

department in the State gave a copy of the AIR to the arrestee.   

The Municipal Court was concerned that a copy of the AIR 

was not given to defendant, as preprinted on the form, and urged 

the State to either give a copy of the AIR to arrestees, or 

change the form.  However, the court ruled that failure to give 

defendant a copy of the AIR was not sufficient to suppress the 

BAC results.  The court rejected defendant's other suppression 

arguments, including that defendant's burp compromised the test.  

The court admitted the AIR and the Alcotest results into 

evidence. 
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Defense counsel said defendant wanted to enter "a 

conditional guilty plea, in other words, conceding the 

observations as we discussed earlier."  The Municipal Court made 

clear to defendant that the conditional plea would allow her to 

appeal the "decision concerning the 104 hearing and the [] 

admission of the Alcotest readings," but would not affect her 

"guilty plea as to the 90 day loss of license based on the 

observations."  Defendant indicated she understood. 

In her guilty plea colloquy, defendant admitted to driving 

"under the influence of alcohol" because she had "[o]ne glass of 

wine."  The Municipal Court asked for more facts, and Officer 

Nelson gave the observation testimony above.  The court found a 

factual basis for the guilty plea "based upon the statements of 

the defendant, as well as the officer in regard to 

observations."  Under the plea bargain, the court dismissed the 

charges of careless driving and unsafe lane change.  

The Municipal Court sentenced defendant to a fine of $306 

and a license suspension of seven months based upon "the reading 

of .12 percent."  The court also sentenced her to twelve hours 

detainment in the IDRC program, a $200 Drunk Driving Fund 

assessment, and various fees, surcharges, and court costs.  On 

the ticket, the court noted ".12" and a "conditional plea."  The 

court stayed the sentence pending appeal.   
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Defendant appealed to the Law Division, where defense 

counsel argued that the Alcotest results had to be suppressed 

because of the burp and the failure to provide defendant a copy 

of the AIR at the police station.  The prosecutor argued that 

the officer's reading of the Standard Statement informed 

defendant of her right to get a copy of the AIR, that Chun did 

not require the immediate presentation of the AIR, and that 

defendant was not prejudiced because she requested the AIR at 

the beginning of the legal proceedings and received it in a 

timely fashion.   

The Law Division judge rejected defendant's argument about 

the burp.  The court credited that Officer Nelson read defendant 

the Standard Statement, and that defendant was informed of her 

rights.  However, the court ruled "defendant's motion to 

suppress is granted on the grounds that the State failed to 

provide a copy of the AIR at the time of the defendant's arrest 

as required by Chun."   

The Law Division judge then stated "as I understand it 

there's no contest as to the observational standard."  When 

defense counsel agreed, the court immediately proceeded to 

sentencing.  The court stated that defendant had been "convicted 

under the observational standard," and imposed the required $250 

fine and license suspension of three months.  The court also 
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imposed a $6 assessment, a $100 Drunk Driving Fund assessment, 

and the same IDRC detainment, fees, surcharges, and court costs 

imposed by the Municipal Court.  The Law Division's March 10, 

2014 order stated "that Defendant's Motion to Suppress the 

Alcotest Results is GRANTED," and that defendant was guilty of 

DWI "under the observational standard."   

This court granted the State's unopposed motion for leave 

to appeal.  Meanwhile, defendant served the three-month license 

suspension, and then her driving privileges were restored.  

III. 

We first address defendant's claim that the State's appeal 

is barred by double jeopardy.  Defendant's argument is contrary 

to proper appellate procedure and double jeopardy law.   

The Supreme Court addressed the proper appellate procedure 

in State v. Greeley, 178 N.J. 38 (2003).  There, "[w]ith the 

prosecution's consent, defendant entered a conditional guilty 

plea [in Municipal Court], expressly preserving his right to 

challenge the denial of his motion to suppress the breathalyzer 

readings."  Id. at 50.  The Court held this was "the proper 

procedure" to preserve such an issue for appeal.  Id. at 50-51.  

It allows a defendant to appeal the denial of the motion to the 

Law Division de novo, to this court, and to the Supreme Court.  

See id. at 42.  If one of those courts grants defendant's 
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appeal, the State may appeal to a higher appellate court, which 

may reverse the suppression of the BAC results "and reinstate 

defendant's conviction."  Id. at 40, 42. 

Here, defendant admittedly entered not only a conditional 

plea to the per se violation, but also an unconditional guilty 

plea to the observation violation.  Thus, when she appealed and 

the Law Division suppressed the BAC results, defendant's 

unconditional guilty plea to the observation violation was 

unaffected.  The Law Division proceeded to sentence defendant on 

her observation violation, imposing the three-month license 

suspension required by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(i).  Nonetheless, 

under proper appellate procedure, the State retained the right 

to appeal the Law Division's suppression of the BAC results and 

to seek reinstatement of the Municipal Court's sentence for the 

per se violation.
2

 

                     

2

 Defendant, citing State v. Giordano, 281 N.J. Super. 150 (App. 

Div. 1995), notes that her motion to suppress the BAC results 

was not a motion to suppress physical evidence unlawfully 

obtained.  That distinction required defendant to make her plea 

conditional to preserve an appeal.  Greeley, supra, 178 N.J. at 

50-51; see R. 7:6-2(c) (allowing conditional pleas); Pressler & 

Verniero, Current N.J. Court Rules, comment 2.4 on R. 7:6-2(c) 

(2015) (the adoption of Rule 7:6-2(c) "effectively overrules" 

Giordano).  However, that distinction does not deprive the State 

of its right to appeal, as the State can appeal an interlocutory 

order excluding evidence before trial.  R. 2:3-1(b)(5); State v. 

Ruffin, 371 N.J. Super. 371, 389 (App. Div. 2004).   
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Nevertheless, defendant contends that the State's appeal 

violates the constitutional prohibitions of double jeopardy.  

U.S. Const. amend. V, XIV; N.J. Const. art. I, ¶ 11; see State 

v. Widmaier, 157 N.J. 475, 489-96 (1999).  She asserts the Law 

Division acquitted her of a per se violation.  However, that 

court never purported to acquit defendant.  Rather, the court 

simply reversed the denial of the motion to suppress the BAC 

results, and then sentenced defendant based on her unconditional 

plea to the observation violation. 

Defendant argues that the Law Division's ruling was an 

acquittal regardless of its label.  "Under both the state and 

federal double jeopardy clauses, an appeal from an acquittal is 

impermissible if 'the ruling of the judge, whatever its label, 

actually represents a resolution, correct or not, of some or all 

of the factual elements of the offense charged.'"  Widmaier, 

supra, 157 N.J. at 490 (quoting United States v. Martin Linen 

Supply Co., 430 U.S. 564, 571, 97 S. Ct. 1349, 1354-55, 51 L. 

Ed. 2d 642, 651 (1977)).  However, the Law Division did not find 

defendant had a BAC of less than 0.10%, or otherwise resolve any 

of the factual elements of the per se violation.  Instead, the 

court only ruled her 0.12% BAC result had to be suppressed 

because the operator did not give her a copy of the AIR in the 

police station. 
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In these circumstances, even if the Law Division had said 

defendant was "acquitted" or "not guilty," it would not have 

affected the State's ability to appeal.  In State v. Sohl, 363 

N.J. Super. 573, 574 (App. Div. 2003), the defendant entered a 

conditional plea to a per se violation in Municipal Court, and 

appealed to the Law Division.  The Law Division suppressed the 

BAC results, "'reversed' the conviction of the municipal court 

and entered a judgment of 'not guilty.'"  Id. at 575.  The State 

appealed.   

We ruled that, "[a]s defendant entered a conditional guilty 

plea in municipal court, the Law Division judge should not have 

entered a judgment of acquittal."  Id. at 580-81 (citing State 

v. Golotta, 354 N.J. Super. 477, 483 (App. Div. 2002), rev'd on 

other grounds, 178 N.J. 205 (2003)).  "The de novo appeal of the 

motion was limited to the legal issue of the admissibility of 

the [BAC results].  The case was not heard on its merits."  Id. 

at 581.  "The Law Division judge was empowered to make his 

findings and, upon reversal of the municipal court's ruling, 

return the case to the municipal court for further proceedings 

in accordance with his ruling."  Ibid.
3

  Because the Law Division 

                     

3

 We cited Rule 7:6-2(c), which provides that "a defendant may 

enter a conditional plea of guilty, reserving on the record the 

right to appeal from the adverse determination of any specified 

      (continued) 
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failed to remand, the "[d]efendant did not return to the 

municipal court where his plea remained viable.  He did not 

retract his guilty plea.  Therefore, the Law Division judge was 

unable to enter a finding of not guilty as defendant's plea of 

guilt remained entered upon the record in municipal court."  

Ibid.  Thus, in Sohl, we reversed the suppression ruling and 

remanded to the Municipal Court, "where defendant is to comply 

with the terms of his sentence."  Ibid.  

In Golotta, supra, 354 N.J. Super. at 480, the Law Division 

similarly reversed a denial of suppression and entered a 

"judgment of acquittal."  We rejected "defendant's argument that 

[the State's] appeal is barred by the constitutional prohibition 

against double jeopardy."  Id. at 484.  We stressed that "[t]he 

State will be barred from seeking review of an acquittal only 

'if the ruling of the judge, whatever its label, actually 

represents a resolution, correct or not, of some or all of the 

factual elements of the offense charged.'"  Ibid. (quoting 

Widmaier, supra, 157 N.J. at 490 (internal quotation marks 

omitted)).  We held that "[t]he disposition by the Law Division 

judge of the motion to suppress was in no sense a resolution of 

the merits of the charged offense.  Thus, the use of the phrase 

                                                                 

(continued) 

pretrial motion.  A defendant who prevails on appeal shall be 

afforded the opportunity to withdraw the guilty plea." 
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'judgment of acquittal' is not a bar to the State's appeal."  

Ibid.  Although we affirmed on the merits, ibid., the Supreme 

Court addressed the State's appeal on the merits and reversed 

the suppression ruling.  State v. Golotta, 178 N.J. 205, 209, 

229 (2003).   

Under Golotta and Sohl, the State's appeal does not violate 

double jeopardy.  Defendant notes that double jeopardy is meant 

to prevent the State from making "repeated attempts to convict 

the accused."  State v. Barnes, 84 N.J. 362, 370 (1980).  

However, the State's appeal here will not result in multiple 

trials.  If we reverse the Law Division's suppression ruling, 

defendant remains subject to a valid conditional guilty plea to 

the per se violation, and we need only remand to the Municipal 

Court so that defendant can "comply with the terms of [that 

court's] sentence" under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(ii).  Sohl, 

supra, 363 N.J. Super. at 581. 

Defendant's conditional guilty plea distinguishes this case 

from the cases cited by defendant in which a trial and acquittal 

regarding a DWI charge barred a subsequent conviction on the 

same DWI charge.  E.g., State v. Cuneo, 275 N.J. Super. 16, 18, 

22 (App. Div. 1994); State v. Costello, 224 N.J. Super. 157, 159 

(App. Div.), certif. denied, 111 N.J. 596 (1988); State v. 

Lanish, 103 N.J. Super. 441, 442-44 (App. Div. 1968), aff’d 
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o.b., 54 N.J. 93 (1969); cf. State v. Kashi, 360 N.J. Super. 

538, 544-45 (App. Div. 2003) (distinguishing Lanish), aff’d 

o.b., 180 N.J. 45 (2004).
4

  Here, the State's appeal will not 

subject defendant "to a conviction after an acquittal, or to the 

possibility of conviction of a more serious offense, or of an 

offense carrying a higher penalty" than the per se violation to 

which she pled guilty.  State v. Kashi, 180 N.J. 45, 48-49 

(2004).  Therefore, we hold there is no double jeopardy 

violation.   

IV. 

We now turn to the merits of the Law Division's 

interpretation of Chun.  "A trial court's interpretation of the 

law" is "not entitled to any special deference," and its "legal 

conclusions are reviewed de novo."  State v. Gamble, 218 N.J. 

412, 425 (2014).  We hew to that standard of review. 

The Law Division ruled that "the failure of the State to 

provide the defendant with a copy of the AIR on the date of 

[her] arrest warrants suppression of the proffered BAC results."  

The court reasoned that Chun's "use of the term 'arrestee' 

rather than defendant contemplates that a copy of the AIR be 

                     

4

 Defendant also cites unpublished appellate opinions that 

dismissed State appeals.  We are not bound by, and do not cite, 

unpublished opinions.  R. 1:36-3.  In any event, those 

defendants did not enter a conditional guilty plea, but went to 

trial in the Municipal Court.   
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given to the individual while under arrest, and not at a later 

time upon request or during discovery once charges are brought 

against the defendant."  The court found support in the report 

of the Alcotest Special Master.  King, P.J.A.D., Special Master, 

Findings and Conclusions Submitted to N.J. Supreme Court (Feb. 

13, 2007) (hereinafter Special Master's Report), reprinted in 

State v. Chun, No. 58, 879, 2007 N.J. LEXIS 39 (Feb. 13, 2007) 

("LEXIS").
5

  The Special Master's Report noted: "With the 

Alcotest 7110 a permanent record, the AIR, is printed out and a 

copy given to the suspect after the test is completed."  Id. at 

248, LEXIS at *285.  

However, the Special Master's comment was not a 

recommendation of a legal requirement.  Rather, it is part of 

his technical comparison of the Alcotest machine and the 

breathalyzer machine.  Specifically, the comment occurs in his 

discussion of why, "[u]nlike the breathalyzer, the Alcotest 7110 

is not operator dependent."  Ibid., LEXIS at *284.  The 

breathalyzer only showed the BAC results "where the needle 

indicator stopped on the dial," and the "operator simply wrote 

down his observation of the reading."  Ibid., LEXIS at *285.  By 

                     

5

 We will note the LEXIS page number for the convenience of the 

reader. 
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contrast, the Alcotest machine is attached to a printer which 

automatically prints an AIR containing the results.  Ibid.   

As the Special Master stated: "No contemporaneous, machine-

generated permanent record was produced by the breathalyzer.  

With the Alcotest 7110 a permanent record, the AIR, is printed 

out and a copy given to the suspect after the test is 

completed."  Ibid.  The Special Master's emphasis was that the 

Alcotest's "entire process is automatic," resulting in 

"accuracy, contemporary documentation of the result, and 

elimination of the ability of the operator to falsify or 

exaggerate the test outcome.  This independence from potential 

operator influence and a permanent machine-printed record are 

decided advantage over the breathalyzer."  Id. at 249, LEXIS at 

*285-86.   

Further, the Special Master's comment about giving a copy 

of the AIR to the suspect derived not from the law, but from the 

practices of the Alcohol Drug Testing Unit (ADTU) of the New 

Jersey State Police.  "The ADTU instructs operators to give one 

copy to the local police department, retain one copy, and give a 

copy to the subject."  Id. at 43, LEXIS at *48.  "Upon 

completion of a test, the ADTU recommends that the operator give 

a copy of the AIR to the subject."  Id. at 116-17, LEXIS at 
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*135-36.  The Special Master made no mention of requiring such a 

practice in his findings of fact or conclusions of law.  

Our Supreme Court's comment that the "operator must retain 

a copy of the AIR and give a copy to the arrestee" was similarly 

part of a technical discussion, not a legal discussion.  See 

Chun, supra, 194 N.J. at 82.  The comment came in the section of 

the Court's opinion addressing "How the Alcotest Works."  Id. at 

75-84.  The Court made the comment as part of its "description 

of the manner in which the device operates in practice," 

discussing "[o]ne of the claimed advantages of the Alcotest, as 

compared to the breathalyzer, [namely] that it is not operator-

dependent."  Id. at 79.   

The Court did not reference that comment again in its 

lengthy and thorough opinion.  Most pointedly, there was no 

mention of the comment in the Court's detailed section 

addressing its "Requirements Prior to the Admissibility of 

Alcotest Evidence," id. at 134-49, including its requirements 

for "Alcohol Influence Report Admissibility," id. at 145.  

Further, no such requirement is mentioned in the Court's 

extensive order specifying conditions under which the AIR "is 

admissible as evidence of" a defendant's BAC.  Id. at 149-54.  

Although that section and the order required the "foundational 

documents" to be produced in discovery, id. at 134-35, 144-45, 
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148, 153, they did not similarly dictate when the AIR had to be 

produced.  Thus, the context in which the Court made, and did 

not make, its comment suggests that it was not establishing a 

legal requirement, despite the word "must."
6

 

We recognize that "'an expression of opinion on a point 

involved in a case, argued by counsel and deliberately mentioned 

by the court, although not essential to the disposition of the 

case . . . becomes authoritative[] when it is expressly declared 

by the court as a guide for future conduct.'"  State v. Rose, 

206 N.J. 141, 183 (2011) (quoting 21 C.J.S. Courts § 230 

(2006)).  Even "well-reasoned dictum" from our Supreme Court is 

"worthy of and entitled to the utmost respect.  Indeed, as an 

intermediate appellate court, we consider ourselves bound by 

carefully considered dictum from the Supreme Court."  State v. 

Breitweiser, 373 N.J. Super. 271, 282-83 (App. Div. 2004), 

certif. denied, 182 N.J. 628 (2005); see State v. Dabas, 215 

N.J. 114, 136-37 (2013).  

                     

6

 In analyzing legislation, "the words 'must' and 'shall' are 

generally mandatory."  Harvey v. Bd. of Chosen Freeholders, 30 

N.J. 381, 391 (1959).  However, that "presumption is not a 

conclusive one" and it can "be overthrown by something in the 

character of the legislation or in the context which will 

justify a different meaning."  Union Terminal Cold Storage Co. 

v. Spence, 17 N.J. 162, 166 (1954); e.g., Franklin Estates, Inc. 

v. Twp. of Edison, 142 N.J. Super. 179, 184-85 (App. Div. 1976), 

aff'd o.b., 73 N.J. 462 (1977); see State v. Thomas, 188 N.J. 

137, 149-50 (2006) (citing Norman J. Singer, 1A Sutherland 

Statutes and Statutory Construction § 25:4 (6th ed. 2000)). 
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Here, however, we are faced with a countervailing command, 

namely the Legislature's specific determination of when a copy 

of breath test results must be given to the person tested.  The 

Legislature provided that "a copy thereof . . . shall be 

furnished or made available to the person so tested" "upon his 

request."  N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b).  That statutory requirement 

has long been the controlling law, and is reflected in the 

statutorily-required Standard Statement.  "'Once the Legislature 

has made that decision, and has made it within constitutional 

bounds, our sole function is to carry it out.'"  State v. 

French, 437 N.J. Super. 333, 337 (App. Div. 2014) (quoting State 

v. Des Marets, 92 N.J. 62, 65-66 (1983)).   

We do not believe the Legislature would have mandated that 

the police turn over a copy of the breath test results upon 

request, or that the police tell the persons tested they have a 

right to receive a copy upon request, if the Legislature 

believed the police were also required to give a copy 

simultaneously to those same persons.  If the Legislature had 

intended that the police be required to give a copy to the 

persons tested at the police station, we see no reason why the 

Legislature would not have stated that requirement in N.J.S.A. 

39:4-50.2, rather than only requiring the police to provide a 

copy upon request.  If the Legislature had intended to give the 
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persons tested the right to automatically receive a copy at the 

police station, we see no reason why the Legislature would have 

required the police to advise the persons tested only that they 

had the right to get a copy if they made a request.  Regardless 

of the merits of providing the persons tested with a copy of the 

breath test results at the police station, or requiring the 

police to do so without a request, it does not appear that the 

Legislature envisioned that requirement or intended to impose 

it, and we cannot interpret N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2 to encompass such 

a requirement.  See State v. Williams, 218 N.J. 576, 586 (2014). 

After carefully reviewing Chun, we cannot find that our 

Supreme Court deliberately intended to contravene the statutory 

standard in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b).  The Court did not cite 

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2 or the Standard Statement.  The Court gave no 

inkling that it considered and replaced the Legislature's 

standard that a copy of the breath test must be provided to the 

tested person only "upon request," ibid., with a requirement 

that the copy must be furnished to the tested person at the 

police station without a request.  The Court's opinion contains 

no reasoning why the Legislature's standard could be superseded.  

Although the Court stated that some "conditions upon 

admissibility we impose as a matter of constitutional 

imperative," Chun, supra, 194 N.J. at 65, the Court never 
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referenced providing a copy at the police station as one of 

those conditions, or indicated that providing a copy on request 

would be constitutionally inadequate.  Nor did the Court invoke 

its "supervisory powers over the administration of criminal 

justice" to justify such a change.  See State v. Ramseur, 106 

N.J. 123, 252 n.56 (1987) (declining to exercise its supervisory 

powers because "[t]he Legislature has spoken in this area").  We 

believe that if the Supreme Court had intended to change the 

Legislature's standard, it would have referenced N.J.S.A. 39:4-

50.2(b) and expressly explained that it was altering the 

statutory standard and that the Standard Statement should be 

similarly revised.   

Indeed, subsequent cases contain no indication that the 

Court made such a change.  Three times since Chun, our Supreme 

Court has discussed at length the requirements of N.J.S.A. 39:4-

50.2 and the adequacy and accuracy of the Standard Statement.  

State v. O'Driscoll, 215 N.J. 461, 465-81 (2013) (addressing the 

reading of an outdated Standard Statement with incorrect 

penalties); State v. Schmidt, 206 N.J. 71, 72-89 (2011) 

(addressing the alleged incompleteness of the Standard 

Statement); State v. Marquez, 202 N.J. 485, 489-515 (2010) 

(addressing the need to make the Standard Statement intelligible 

to the suspect); see also State v. Spell, 196 N.J. 537, 538-40 
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(2008) (addressing suggested changes to the Standard Statement).  

The Court quoted and referenced the Standard Statement's 

language that a copy of the test results will be provided "on 

request" under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b).  Schmidt, supra, 206 N.J. 

at 75, 82; accord O'Driscoll, supra, 215 N.J. at 467; Marquez, 

supra, 202 N.J. at 492, 500. 

For all these reasons, we hold that the Court's terse 

comment in Chun did not reject N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b)'s standard 

for when a police officer is required to provide a copy of the 

results of a breath test.
7

  Nor do we feel it appropriate to 

rewrite N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b) ourselves.
8

  Accordingly, we reject 

the Law Division's finding of error.  

V. 

In any event, Chun did not discuss whether disclosure of 

the AIR on request, rather than in the police station, would 

                     

7

 We note that a leading treatise states that although "[p]olice 

are trained to retain a copy of the AIR and to give a copy to 

the defendant," and cites Chun, supra, 194 N.J. at 82, it 

reaffirms "[t]echnically, a test subject must request a copy of 

the results," and cites N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b).  Robert Ramsey, 

New Jersey Drunk Driving Law § 10:20 at 381 & n.1 (2014).  

 

8

 Unlike the Supreme Court, "we have no supervisory authority 

over courts and no rulemaking power."  State v. Spell, 395 N.J. 

Super. 337, 348 n.8 (App. Div. 2007) (nonetheless requiring 

officers to read an additional paragraph of the Standard 

Statement), aff'd as modified, 196 N.J. 537, 539 (2008) (holding 

that "the Appellate Division exceeded its mandate" by requiring 

officers to read the additional paragraph). 
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require suppression.  We hold that suppression of the AIR is not 

an appropriate remedy in the absence of prejudice. 

The Law Division suggested that suppression was required 

because Chun "demanded that, as a precondition for admissibility 

of the results of a breathalyzer, the State was required to 

establish that: (1) the device was in working order and had been 

inspected according to procedure; (2) the operator was 

certified; and (3) the test was administered according to 

official procedure."  Chun, supra, 194 N.J. at 134 (citing 

Romano v. Kimmelman, 96 N.J. 66, 81 (1984)).   

Here, it was undisputed that the Alcotest device "was in 

good working order and that the operator of the device was 

appropriately qualified to administer the test."  Ibid.  

Furthermore, the Municipal Court and the Law Division found that 

the test itself "was administered according to official 

procedure."  Ibid.  Both courts rejected defendant's challenges 

to the procedure of the test itself. 

By contrast, the issue here concerns only the timing of 

when a person receives a copy of the AIR — at the police 

station, on request, or in discovery.  It in no way affects the 

validity of the already-completed Alcotest, or the already-

recorded BAC.  Delivery of a copy thus differs from the protocol 

designed to ensure the Alcotest is properly conducted and the 
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test results are accurate.  The Special Master stated that "the 

multiple-step testing protocol must be meticulously followed 

before the test result is admitted in evidence," and "[i]f the 

test protocol or instructions are violated in any respect, the 

BAC reading must be rejected as evidence."  Special Master's 

Report, supra, at 230, 234, 242, LEXIS at *267, 271, 280.  He 

did not state that the timing of copy delivery should invalidate 

a valid test.  

Defendant here expressly declined to make a showing of 

prejudice from receiving the AIR at the beginning of the 

litigation rather than at the police station.  Therefore, we see 

no basis to suppress her valid test results.  See State v. 

Wolfe, 431 N.J. Super. 356, 363 (App. Div. 2013) (refusing to 

exclude the AIR, despite the State's delay in providing a copy 

of the Alcotest foundational documents to the defendant, because 

he made "no significant argument of prejudice"), certif. denied, 

217 N.J. 285 (2014). 

The Law Division also asserted that suppression was 

warranted because "failing to provide a copy of the AIR 

substantially interferes with the defendant's right to obtain 

independent testing under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2.  By [] immediately 

providing a copy of the results, the individual is given a 

meaningful opportunity to challenge the results of the AIR."  
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Thus, the Law Division reasoned, "the failure to give the AIR 

deprives the defendant of a potential defense[.]"
9

 

However, a tested person does not need a copy of the AIR to 

obtain independent testing under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(c).  Since 

1982, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(c) has provided that "the person tested 

shall be permitted to have such samples taken and chemical tests 

of his breath, urine or blood made by a person or physician of 

his own selection."  Ibid.  Defendants long have exercised that 

right without getting a copy of the breath test results at the 

police station.   

Furthermore, the AIR does not advise a tested person of 

their right to obtain independent testing.  Rather, pursuant to 

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(e), that advice is given when the officer 

reads the Standard Statement to the person, stating "you have 

the right, at your own expense, to have a person or physician of 

your own selection take independent samples of your breath, 

blood or urine for independent testing."  Standard Statement, 

supra.  The Law Division found that Officer Nelson read the 

Standard Statement to defendant.  She has never contended she 

was unaware of her right to independent testing or was prevented 

                     

9

 We read the Law Division as referring solely to the opportunity 

to contradict the Alcotest BAC results through independent 

testing.  A defendant who receives the AIR upon request, 

including in discovery, has ample opportunity to challenge 

whether the Alcotest was properly conducted. 
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from exercising it because she did not get a copy of the AIR at 

the police station. 

We recognize that giving tested persons a copy of the AIR 

at the police station informs them of their BAC results, as well 

as details about the test.  However, the State long used 

breathalyzers which did not produce a printout with the BAC 

results.  Nevertheless, neither the Legislature in drafting 

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b), nor the Executive Branch in crafting the 

Standard Statement, found the right of independent testing 

required officers to inform persons at the police station of the 

BAC found by a breath test.  Other than advising a defendant of 

the rights expressly set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b) and (c), 

"the statute sets forth no other affirmative duties on the part 

of the police."  Greeley, supra, 178 N.J. at 43; see State v. 

Howard, 383 N.J. Super. 538, 549 (App. Div.), certif. denied, 

187 N.J. 80 (2006). 

Defendant already had an incentive to obtain independent 

testing to show she was not driving with an elevated BAC.  She 

knew that her breath had been tested for BAC, and that she was 

being charged with drunk driving.  An independent test might 

contradict any BAC found by the State's Alcotest, or undermine 

any testimony that she was observed "operat[ing] a motor vehicle 
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while under the influence of intoxicating liquor," N.J.S.A. 

39:4-50(a)(1). 

In any event, it is defendant's burden to show that she 

would have sought independent testing absent the allegedly 

improper police conduct, and that "such an examination could 

have been conducted in a reasonable period of time so as to 

produce relevant or probative evidence."  State v. Hicks, 228 

N.J. Super. 541, 551 & n.4 (App. Div. 1988), certif. denied, 127 

N.J. 324 (1990); see State v. Jalkiewicz, 303 N.J. Super. 430, 

434-35 (App. Div. 1997).  "[S]o long as a defendant is informed 

of the right to an independent test, police conduct will warrant 

suppression of BAC test results only if that conduct 

affirmatively interferes with or thwarts a defendant's good-

faith attempt to obtain an independent test."  Greeley, supra, 

178 N.J. at 45.  Here, defendant has failed to carry her burden 

to show such prejudice,  or that the police conduct "render[ed] 

the statutory right meaningless."  Id. at 43; see Hicks, supra, 

228 N.J. Super. at 549.  Because there was no "arbitrary 

deprivation of the right to an independent test, we reverse the 

[Law] Division's judgment suppressing the breath[] results and 

reinstate defendant's conviction."  Greeley, supra, 178 N.J. at 

50. 
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Our decision is supported by consideration of the cost and 

benefit of suppressing the AIR that showed defendant's blood 

alcohol level was 0.12%.  Even when constitutional protections 

against search and seizure are at stake, courts: consider that 

"'[t]he exclusionary rule generates substantial social costs, 

which sometimes include setting the guilty free and the 

dangerous at large'"; are "'cautious against expanding it'"; and 

apply it only "'where its deterrence benefits outweigh its 

substantial social costs.'"  State v. Gioe, 401 N.J. Super. 331, 

339 (App. Div. 2008) (quoting Hudson v. Michigan, 547 U.S. 586, 

591, 126 S. Ct. 2159, 2163, 165 L. Ed. 2d 56, 64 (2006)), 

certif. denied, 199 N.J. 129 (2009).  "Sometimes, the cost of 

excluding evidence is not justified by the rule and its 

purposes."  State v. Herrerra, 211 N.J. 308, 330 (2012).  Such 

an analysis is even more crucial where no constitutional rights 

are at issue, as here.  E.g., Gioe, supra, 401 N.J. Super. at 

341-44 (declining to suppress evidence seized in violation of a 

rule).   

Suppressing a defendant's valid BAC results, and 

eliminating or substantially reducing the license suspension, 

subjects the public to a danger the Legislature sought to 

prevent.  "[T]he primary purpose behind our drunk driving laws 

is to remove intoxicated drivers from our roadways and thereby 
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'to curb the senseless havoc and destruction' caused by them."  

Chun, supra, 194 N.J. at 71 (quoting State v. Tischio, 107 N.J. 

504, 512 (1987)).  The Legislature created the per se offense of 

driving with a BAC of 0.10% or higher "to take into account 

'mounting scientific findings,' to the effect that almost all 

drivers suffered reduced driving ability at a BAC of 0.10 

percent."  Id. at 72 (quoting Tischio, supra, 107 N.J. at 516).  

The Legislature subsequently increased the period of license 

suspension for a first-offender to seven months.  Id. at 74.  

License suspensions "'are mainly designed to protect the public 

by removing the offenders from the road.'"  N.J. Div. of Motor 

Vehicles v. Egan, 103 N.J. 350, 357 (1986).   

On the other hand, providing a copy of the AIR to the 

suspect at the police station, rather than on request or in 

discovery, may produce benefits in limited circumstances.  

Persons being breath tested may be intoxicated, experiencing 

their first arrest, and unrepresented by counsel.  Providing a 

copy of the AIR at the police station may benefit persons who, 

despite hearing the Standard Statement, fail to understand their 

right to request a copy, and do not make a request themselves, 

through counsel, or in discovery.  Here, defendant did not claim 

she failed to understand the Standard Statement.  
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Given the significant costs of suppressing valid BAC 

results, the limited benefits of the new obligation defendant 

seeks to impose, and her failure to show prejudice, we find 

suppression unwarranted. 

VI. 

In any event, we would not apply a new obligation requiring 

suppression retroactively.  "'[A] case announces a new rule when 

it breaks new ground or imposes a new obligation on the 

State[.]'"  State v. Molina, 187 N.J. 531, 543 (2006).  The 

"'purpose of the [new] rule'" must be weighed against "'the 

degree of reliance placed on the old rule'" and "'the effect a 

retroactive application would have on the administration of 

justice.'"  Ibid.  Here, law enforcement has long relied on 

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b).  Moreover, given the many Alcotests 

performed since the Attorney General approved the Alcotest for 

use in 1999, see 31 N.J.R. 770(b) (eff. Feb. 19, 1999), 

retroactivity could have a substantial effect and "would expose 

the judicial system to the undue burden of resolving numerous 

concluded matters,"  Olds v. Donnelly, 150 N.J. 424, 450 (1997). 

Further, "new procedural rules generally do not apply 

retroactively."  State v. J.A., 398 N.J. Super. 511, 526 (App. 

Div.), certif. denied, 196 N.J. 462 (2008).  Moreover, where 

"the predominant purpose of the new rule is to deter illegal 
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police conduct," that "deterrence purpose will not be 

appreciably advanced by retroactive application to police 

conduct that has already occurred, [and] the new rule will be 

given prospective effect only."  State v. Young, 87 N.J. 132, 

141 (1981).   

In addition, as set forth above, the timing of when a 

person receives a copy of the AIR has no effect on the 

reliability or accuracy of the already-determined test results.  

Thus, the new rule is not "'designed to enhance the reliability 

of the factfinding process,'" and "'the old rule did not 

"substantially" impair the accuracy of [the fact-finding] 

process.'"  State v. Fortin, 178 N.J. 540, 648 (2004).   

Based on all those considerations, if we were to adopt a 

new rule imposing such an obligation and requiring suppression, 

we would apply it "prospectively only."  Molina, supra, 187 N.J. 

at 543.  Accordingly, "the AIR report resulting from 

[defendant's] test" would still be "admissible against [her]."  

State v. Pollock, 407 N.J. Super. 100, 107 (App. Div. 2009) 

(applying only prospectively Chun's recalibration requirement 

for the Alcotest).   

VII. 

Although we reverse the suppression ruling here, we 

recognize that providing the tested person with a copy of the 
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AIR at the police station does provide benefits in limited 

circumstances, as set forth above.  Moreover, it may not require 

significant effort by law enforcement to provide a copy of the 

AIR to the arrestee at the police station.  Like the State 

Police ADTU, the Attorney General recommends that "the defendant 

should be given a copy of the [AIR]."
10

  We urge all law 

enforcement officers to follow their recommendations.  

We reverse the suppression order of the Law Division, and 

remand to the Municipal Court for defendant to comply with the 

terms of the sentence that court imposed for her per se 

violation under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(ii). 

 

 

 

                     

10

 Attorney General Guideline: Prosecution of DWI & Refusal 

Violations, at 20, (Jan. 24, 2005), available at 

http://www.state.nj.us/lps/dcj/agguide/d-10jd-dwi-2005.pdf. 

 



________________________________________ 

SABATINO, P.J.A.D., concurring. 

 

I join in the result, which reinstates this defendant's 

conviction of a DWI offense under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(ii).  I 

write separately because I differ with portions of the main 

opinion's discussion within Parts IV and V. 

My colleagues rightly acknowledge that "providing a copy of 

the AIR to the suspect at the police station, rather than on 

request or in discovery, may produce benefits in limited 

circumstances."  Ante at __ (slip op. at 30).  They also 

properly recognize that both the State Police and the Attorney 

General prescribe the AIR be supplied contemporaneously to the 

arrestee when the test is completed.  Id. at __ (slip op. at 

33).  They also recognize, as the State's attorney conceded 

before us at oral argument, that supplying the AIR to an 

arrestee on the spot is not apt to impose a great burden on the 

police.  Ibid.  They urge, as I do, that this recommended 

practice be followed.  Ibid.  

I part company with my colleagues because I support the Law 

Division judge's conclusion that immediate turnover of the AIR 

to an arrestee should be more than an aspirational goal.  

Because alcohol in a human's body dissipates quickly, time is of 

the essence.  See Missouri v. McNeely, ___ U.S. ___, ___, 133 S. 

Ct. 1552, 1560, 185 L. Ed. 2d 696, 706 (2013) ("It is true that 
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as a result of the human body's natural metabolic processes, the 

alcohol level in a person's blood begins to dissipate once the 

alcohol is fully absorbed and continues to decline until the 

alcohol is eliminated."); Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 

771, 86 S. Ct. 1826, 1836, 16 L. Ed. 2d 908, 920 (1966) (noting 

that "the percentage of alcohol in the blood begins to diminish 

shortly after drinking stops, as the body functions to eliminate 

it from the system"); see also Chun, ante, 194 N.J. at 76 

(stating that "[e]limination of alcohol also starts as soon as 

the person begins to drink").  

An arrestee's right to obtain an independent test to 

challenge the police's AIR readings is essentially worthless if 

the arrestee does not act right away.  The AIR contains various 

forms of material information, including the critical BAC levels 

that can indicate whether it might be worthwhile for the driver 

to take immediate action to obtain an independent test or to 

have her blood drawn for that purpose.  See Chun, ante, 194 N.J. 

at 82-83 (describing the information contained in the AIR); see 

also Ramsey, N.J. Drunk Driving Law, ante, § 10:25 at 390 

(stating that "[t]he alcohol influence report (AIR) is the key 

piece of discovery in an Alcotest 7110 case").  

For instance, if the BAC levels are borderline, an 

independent test potentially might produce levels that are below 
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the legal limits, thereby rebutting the State's burden to prove 

guilt of DWI beyond a reasonable doubt.  State v. Campbell, 436 

N.J. Super. 264, 269 (App. Div.) (stating that "we have long 

required the State to establish the elements of a DWI offense by 

the heightened criminal standard of proof beyond a reasonable 

doubt"), certif. denied, ___ N.J. ___ (2014).  Conversely, the 

AIR may show that the driver's BAC is way above the limits, and 

further indicate no irregularity on its face, thereby suggesting 

that independent testing will be a fruitless exercise. 

Because DWI based on BAC levels is essentially a strict 

liability offense, the arrestee should act quickly, most likely 

in an emergent telephone consultation with an attorney, to 

decide whether to pursue independent testing.  It is therefore 

important that the AIR be turned over to the arrestee as soon as 

the report is generated by the Alcotest device.  In fact, the 

standard documents presently used statewide in the process 

reflect that a copy of the AIR is to be given on the spot to the 

driver.  See ante at ___ (slip op. at 5) (noting, in this case, 

the printing of the phrase "Copy Given to Subject" at the bottom 

of the AIR). 

Unlike my colleagues, I am not persuaded that the "on 

request" language in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b) should be read to 

signify that the police are to turn over the AIR report only 

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/cases/id/5CHW-2H41-F04H-W002-00000-00?page=269&reporter=3304&context=1000516
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/cases/id/5CHW-2H41-F04H-W002-00000-00?page=269&reporter=3304&context=1000516
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upon an arrestee's request.
1

  Of course, if an arrestee makes 

such a request, the report certainly should be supplied.  That 

said, I doubt that the Legislature has foreclosed the Judiciary, 

within its supervisory authority over the adjudication of DWI 

cases, from directing that the AIR be routinely turned over 

after the test has been administered, regardless of whether the 

arrestee specifically requests it.  What could be the harm in 

that? 

I do not construe the statute to require the police to 

withhold the AIR unless the arrestee specifically requests it. 

Nor do I read the statute to preclude the Judiciary from 

enhancing the procedural protections afforded to the tested 

driver. Indeed, the Supreme Court imposed in Chun various 

procedural and administrative requirements concerning the use of 

the Alcotest that go beyond what the statutes explicitly 

require.  See Chun, ante, 194 N.J. at 145 (noting, among other 

things,  that the State must produce the most recent calibration 

report, the most recent new standard solution report, and the 

certificate of analysis of the 0.10 simulation solution used in 

defendant's test prior to admission of the AIR).  

                     

1

 The present situation differs from Spell, ante, 395 N.J. Super. 

at 337, cited by my colleagues, see ante __ (slip op. at 23), 

because automatic turnover of the AIR is, in my view at least, 

mandated by the Supreme Court in Chun, ante, 194 N.J. at 82-83, 

and is not an innovation being crafted by this court. 
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Like the Law Division judge, I read the Court's statement 

in Chun that the Alcotest "operator must retain a copy of the 

AIR and give a copy to the arrestee," id. at 82, as a sensible 

mandate, not a mere recommendation.  The term "must" within that 

passage is consistent with that interpretation. See Thomas, 

ante, 188 N.J. at 149-50; Harvey, ante, 30 N.J. at 391  

(observing that generally "the words 'must' and 'shall' are . . . 

mandatory"). It is also consistent with the Special Master's 

Report, ante.    

If the Supreme Court did not intend to require 

contemporaneous turnover of the AIR, or if it agrees with my 

colleagues that the statute forbids such a judicial gloss, then 

perhaps the Legislature might revise N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.2(b) to 

require such automatic turnover.  Doing so would be in the 

interests of justice, fairness, and the attainment of 

evidentially-sound dispositions in DWI cases. 

Despite the grave dangers and undeniable societal costs of 

drunk driving, it is well established that judicial suppression 

of BAC results may be an appropriate remedy in certain cases. 

See McNeely, supra, ___ U.S. at ___, 133 S. Ct. at 1567-68, 185 

L. Ed. 2d at 714-15; see also Chun, ante, 194 N.J. at 145-49.  

Of course, the State may still prove guilt by other means, such 

as observation evidence, as potentially could have been done 
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here. See, e.g., State v. Kent, 391 N.J. Super. 352, 383-85 

(App. Div. 2007).   

That said, I do not construe the law to require the 

automatic suppression of an Alcotest's BAC readings in every 

instance where, as in the present case, the police slip up and 

neglect to give the AIR contemporaneously to the arrested 

driver.  As my colleagues point out, suppression of the BAC 

readings is not an appropriate remedy unless a defendant shows 

that a procedural error caused him or her actual prejudice.  

Ante at ___ (slip op. 24); see also Greeley, ante, 178 N.J. at 

45-46.   

No such actual prejudice is demonstrated in the present 

record, in which defendant's BAC reading of .12 is not 

borderline and where no arguable irregularity on the face of the 

AIR has been identified.  In this respect, I believe the Law 

Division judge erred in treating the lack of turnover of the AIR 

as a compulsory basis for suppression. Instead, a case-by-case 

assessment of prejudice should be undertaken before the Alcotest 

results are excluded.  An inconsequential failure by the police 

to turn over the AIR report at the station house should not 

jeopardize an otherwise valid DWI prosecution. 

I also agree with my colleagues, see ante at ___ (slip op. 

at 31-32), that principles of suppression, if they were to be 
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adopted in this context, would be prospective only, thereby 

affording law enforcement officials a reasonable opportunity to 

adjust to such potential future consequences.  Since the Office 

of Attorney General (which, notably, is also the issuer of the 

Standard Statement that must be read to the arrestee) and the 

State Police already call for the AIR to be turned over on the 

spot to arrestees, it does not appear that a lengthy period of 

transition would be required. 

Having made these observations, I join in the reversal of 

the Law Division's judgment insofar as it vacated defendant's 

conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1)(ii). 

 

 

 

 


