
PART I
TRAFFIC RELATED VIOLATIONS

A.      MOTOR VEHICLE STATUTES

N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:3-4 Driving or parking unregistered motor vehicle $47

39:3-9a Failure to notify change in name $51

39:3-9a Failure to endorse license $51

39:3-10 Driving with an expired license (when paying through the Violations 
Bureau, the defendant is required to attach a photocopy of a valid 
driver's license to the complaint/summons)

$47

39:3-11 Violating a restriction on conditional license $51

39:3-17 Failure to possess driver's license or registration (non-resident motorists) $176

39:3-20 Excess weight - plus $100 for each 1,000 lbs. or fraction thereof $526

39:3-20(b) Speeding - commercial vehicle - load exceeds axle limitations -  See 
payable amount for N.J.S.A. 39:4-98

 

39:3-20(b) Speeding in a Safe Corridor or Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - 
commercial vehicle - See payable amount for N.J.S.A. 39:4-98

 

39:3-29 Failure to possess driver's license, registration, or insurance 
identification card (if violation is for more than one offense involving 
license, registration or insurance card, they are separate offenses and 
the payable amount indicated is for each offense)

$176

39:3-29 Refusal to exhibit driver's license, registration, or insurance identification 
card (if a violation is for more than one offense involving license, 
registration or insurance card, they are separate offenses and the 
payable amount indicated is for each offense)

$176

39:3-32 Failure to replace lost, destroyed or defaced driver's plates $51

39:3-33 Display of unclear or indistinct license plates  (limited to this portion of 
statute only)

$47

39:3-36 Failure to notify of complete change of address $25

39:3-38 Use of marker other than one issued (limited to this portion of statute 
only)

$51

39:3-44 Vehicle in unsafe condition $47

39:3-47 Improper lighting equipment; altering equipment $47

39:3-47a Failure to use headlights with wipers $47
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:3-49 Inadequate headlights $47

39:3-50 Unauthorized use of certain colored lights $47

39:3-51 Improper auxiliary driving lamps $47

39:3-52 Improper additional lighting equipment and use thereof $47

39:3-53 Improper spot lamps $47

39:3-54 Miscellaneous improper lights $47

39:3-55 Improper operation with alternate road lighting equipment $47

39:3-56 Operating without at least two front lighted lamps $47

39:3-57 Improper single beam lighting $47

39:3-58 Improper multiple beam headlights $47

39:3-59 No light beam indicator $47

39:3-60 Improper use of high and low headlight beams $47

39:3-61 Failure to equip motor vehicle with lamps and reflectors required $47

39:3-61.1 Improper mounting of lamps and reflectors $47

39:3-61.2 Improper combination of lighting devices and reflectors $47

39:3-61.3 Improper stop lamps $47

39:3-61.4 Improper placement and use of red lamps and flags on overhanging 
loads

$47

39:3-62 Unlit lamps on parked vehicle $47

39:3-64 Improper emergency warning light equipment $47

39:3-64.3 Failure of itinerant vendor to flash signals when stopped for transacting 
business

$47

39:3-65 Failure to equip farm machinery and other vehicles with lamps $47

39:3-66 Failure to maintain lamps $47

39:3-69 Failure to equip vehicle with horn $47

39:3-70 Noisy muffler $47

39:3-71 Failure to equip vehicle with mirrors $47

39:3-72 Tire in unsafe operating condition $47

39:3-73 Improper use of tire chains $47

39:3-74 Obstruction of windshield for vision $47
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:3-75 Failure to equip vehicle with safety glass $47

39:3-76.2 Failure to equip vehicle with safety belts $47

39:3-76.2a Failure to use a child passenger restraint when transporting a child under 
the age of eight and weighing less than 80 pounds

$47

39:3-76.2f Failure to wear seat belt (Payable Amount effective through February 1, 
2004)

$44

39:3-76.2f Failure to wear seat belt (Payable Amount effective for violations issued 
on or after February 2, 2004)

$45

39:3-76.3 Motorcycle handle bar grips too high $47

39:3-76.4 Failure to equip motorcycle with special muffler systems $47

39:3-76.5 Failure to equip motorcycle with footrests and helmet for motorcycle 
passengers

$76

39:3-76.7 to 3-76.10 Motorcycle helmet, goggles, and other safety equipment violations $47

39:3-77 Selling or using unapproved devices or equipment $51

39:3-79.1 Failure to equip bus, truck, or trailer with mud flaps $47

39:3-81 Misuse of stud tires (limited to this portion of statute only) By regulation 
of the Director of Motor Vehicles, stud tires shall not be used on a 
highway earlier than November 15 or later than April 1 of each year

$51

39:3-84 Violation of dimensional restriction $181

39:3-84 Violation of weight restriction if total excess weight is less than 10,000 
pounds, then the payable amount equals $.02 x (total excess weight) + 
$23, but no less than $81.  If total excess weight is greater than 10,000 
pounds, then the payable amount equals $.03 x (total excess weight) + 
$23.

$81

39:4-11 to 4-14.2 Violations concerning bicycles and roller skates $47

39:4-15 to 4-25.1 Violations concerning horses and horse-drawn vehicles $47

39:4-26 to 4-30 Violations concerning machinery, vehicles or apparatus of unusual size 
or weight (fine to be paid to agency charged with maintenance of road 
upon which violation occurs)

$81

39:4-32 to 4-37.1 Pedestrian violations $47

39:4-38 to 4-45 Street car violations $47

39:4-46 Failure to display owner's name on commercial vehicle (fine to be 
forwarded to Director of Motor Vehicles) - Payable Amount effective 
through February 1, 2004

$24

39:4-46 Failure to display owner's name on commercial vehicle (fine to be 
forwarded to Director of Motor Vehicles) - Payable Amount Effective for 
violations issue on or after February 2, 2004

$25
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-53 Leaving vehicle with engine running $47

39:4-54 Violation of dimension restriction on trailers $81

39:4-54 Violation of weight restriction trailers (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-20 and 3-84 as 
applicable)

 

39:4-55 Failure to control vehicle on steep grades and curves $47

39:4-56 Delaying traffic $47

39:4-56.6 Abandonment of vehicle on private property $51

39:4-57 Failure to comply with directions of officer $47

39:4-57 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to comply 
with direction of officer

$68

39:4-57.1 Failure to activate interior light at request of officer $76

39:4-58 Vehicle loaded so as to obstruct view $47

39:4-59 Hitch-hiking $47

39:4-60 Soliciting trade or contributions on highway $47

39:4-61 Tailboard riding $47

39:4-62 Leaving curb $47

39:4-64 Throwing litter from vehicle $226

39:4-65 Letting off or taking on persons other than at curb $47

39:4-66 Failure to stop when emerging from alley, driveway or garage $47

39:4-66.1 Failure to yield right-of-way when entering private road or driveway $47

39:4-66.1 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to yield right-of-way when 
entering private road or driveway

$68

39:4-67 Obstructing passage of vehicles $47

39:4-68 Doors of streetcar or autobus open $47

39:4-69 Riding on part of street car or vehicle not intended for passengers $47

39:4-71 Driving on sidewalk $47

39:4-71 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone - Driving on sidewalk $68

39:4-72 Failure to stop on signal from driver of horse $47

39:4-76 Overweight vehicles on bridges (interstate) - fine to be forwarded to 
Director of Motor Vehicles - Same payable amount as N.J.S.A.  39:3-84

 

39:4-77 Loading so as to spill $51
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-78 Carrying metal so as to create noise $47

39:4-79 Backing vehicle to curb to unload $47

39:4-80 Disregard of officer directing traffic $81

39:4-80 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Disregard of officer 
directing traffic

$136

39:4-81 Failure to observe traffic signal $81

39:4-81 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to observe 
traffic signal

$136

39:4-82 Failure to keep right $81

39:4-82 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone - Failure to keep right $136

39:4-82.1 Driving on safety island $81

39:4-82.1 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Driving on safety 
island

$136

39:4-83 Failure to keep right at intersection $81

39:4-83 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone - Failure to keep right at intersection $136

39:4-84 Failure to pass to right when proceeding in opposite directions $81

39:4-84 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to pass to 
right when proceeding in opposite directions

$136

39:4-85 Failure to pass to left when overtaking $81

39:4-85 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to pass to left 
when overtaking

$136

39:4-85.1 Wrong way on one-way street $81

39:4-86 Failure to overtake and pass properly; crossing "no passing" lines $81

39:4-86 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to overtake 
and pass properly; crossing "no passing" lines

$136

39:4-87 Failure to give overtaking vehicle right of way $81

39:4-88 Failure to obey regulations in marked lanes $81

39:4-88 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to obey 
regulations in marked lanes

$136

39:4-89 Following another vehicle too closely $81

39:4-89 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Following another 
vehicle too closely

$136

39:4-90 Failure to yield right of way at intersection $81
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-90 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to yield right 
of way at intersection

$136

39:4-90.1 Entering or leaving limited access highways improperly $81

39:4-90.1 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Entering or leaving 
limited access highways improperly

$136

39:4-91 Failure to yield right-of-way to emergency vehicles $81

39:4-92 Failure to pull over for emergency vehicle; following emergency vehicle 
too closely

$81

39:4-92.1 Following fire department vehicle too closely back to fire station $81

39:4-94 Railroad employee unnecessarily blocking highway with train $81

39:4-97 Careless driving where no accident involving personal injury (accident 
resulting in personal injury cannot be paid through the Violations Bureau)

$81

39:4-97 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Careless driving 
where no accident involving personal injury (accident resulting in 
personal injury cannot be paid through the Violations Bureau)

$136

39:4-97.1 Slow speed so as to impede or block traffic $81

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 1-9 miles per hour $81

39:4-98 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone speeding  - exceeding limit by 1-9 
miles per hour

$136

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour $91

39:4-98 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - speeding - 
exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour

$156

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour $101

39:4-98 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - speeding - 
exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour

$176

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 20-24 miles per hour pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
29:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant charged with 
speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$196

NOTE: Exceeding the posted speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more in 
a Safe Corridor or in a Construction Zone requires a court appearance.

 

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 25-29 miles per hour -- pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant 
charged with speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$216

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 30-34 miles per hour -- pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant 
charged with speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$236
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-98 Speeding - exceeding limit by 35-39 miles per hour -- pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any defendant 
charged with speeding 20 MPH or more over the speed limit.

$256

NOTE: Exceeding the posted speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more 
requires a court appearance.

 

39:4-100 Exceeding speed limit across sidewalk (4mph) $76

39:4-115 Improper turn at controlled intersection $81

39:4-115 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Improper turn at controlled 
intersection

$136

39:4-116 Improper turn at arrow $81

39:4-117 Special pedestrian signals -  motorist or pedestrian violation $81

39:4-119 Failure to observe flashing traffic signals $81

39:4-119 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to observe flashing traffic 
signals

$136

39:4-122 Failure to obey whistle of police $81

39:4-122 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to obey whistle of police $136

39:4-123 Improper right and left-hand turns $81

39:4-123 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Improper right and left-hand turns $136

39:4-124 Failure to turn as indicated by buttons or markers at intersection $81

39:4-124 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - Failure to turn as indicated by 
buttons or markers at intersection

$136

39:4-125 U-Turn on curve or grade or where view obstructed or "No U-Turn" sign $81

39:4-125 Safe Corridor or Construction Zone - U-Turn on curve or grade or where 
view obstructed or "No U-Turn" sign

$136

39:4-126 Failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping $81

39:4-126 65 MPH area - Failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping $136

39:4-127 Improper backing or turning in street $81

39:4-127 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Improper backing or 
turning in street

$136

39:4-127.1 Failure to stop at railroad crossing $81

39:4-127.2 Failure to stop for gate at approaches to movable span bridge $81

39:4-135 Improper parking $47

39:4-136 Parking on highway $47
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-137 Allowing a vehicle to stand on highway unattended while motor running 
and without setting brakes

$47

39:4-138(a) Improper parking within intersection $47

39:4-138(b) Improper parking on a crosswalk $47

39:4-138(c) Improper parking in safety bus zone $47

39:4-138(d) Improper parking in front of driveway $47

39:4-138(e) Improper parking within 25 ft. of crosswalk $47

39:4-138(f) Improper parking on a sidewalk $47

39:4-138(g) Improper parking in a no parking area established by State Highway 
Department

$47

39:4-138(h) Improper parking within 50 feet of stop sign $47

39:4-138(i) Improper parking within 10 feet of fire hydrant $47

39:4-138(j) Improper parking within 50 feet of railroad $47

39:4-138(k) Improper parking within 20 feet of driveway entrance to fire station or 75 
feet on opposite side of street (when properly signposted)

$47

39:4-138(l) Improper parking alongside or opposite street excavation or obstruction, 
causing traffic obstruction (when properly signposted)

$47

39:4-138(m) Double parking $47

39:4-138(n) Improper parking on a bridge, elevated structure, underpass or 
immediate approaches (except where space for parking is provided)

$47

39:4-139 Loading or unloading for unreasonable period of time $47

39:4-144 Failure to obey stop or yield right-of way signs $81

39:4-144 Safe Corridor, Construction Zone or 65 MPH area - Failure to obey stop 
or yield right-of-way signs

$136

39:4-145 Failure to yield to vehicle entering stop or yield intersection after stopping $81

39:4-207.9 Failure to remove snow from handicapped parking space $226

39:4-215 Failure to obey signals, signs or directions $47

39:8-1 Failure to have inspection $126

39:8-4 Failure to make repairs $126

39:8-6 Failure to display approval certificate (fines for inspection violations are 
forwarded to Division of Motor Vehicles)

$126
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N.J.S.A. Payable
Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:8-62 Operation of diesel powered motor vehicle - emission violation-no 
certification of repair - first offense only (the payable amount may be 
reduced to $150.00 if a certification of repair is provided and it is 
acceptable to the Court)

$726

Failure to exhibit identification marker or card - Motor Fuels Use Tax 
Act (Fine to be forwarded to the Division of Motor Vehicles)

B.     PARKING REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C. Payable
Amount

$34Parking in any State parking area in Trenton without a permit (Payable 
Amount effective through February 1, 2004)

13:56-1.1(a)

C.     MOTOR FUELS USE TAX ACT REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C. Payable
Amount

54:39A-10 $51

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 

13:56-1.1(a) Parking in any State parking area in Trenton without a permit (Payable 
Amount effective for violations issued on or after February 2, 2004)

$35
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