
PART I
TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS

A.      MOTOR VEHICLE STATUTES

N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:3-4 Driving or parking unregistered motor vehicle $44

39:3-9a Failure to notify change in name $22

39:3-9a Failure to endorse license $42

39:3-10 Driving with an expired license (When paying through the Violations 
Bureau, the defendant is required to attach a photocopy of a valid 
driver's license to the complaint/summons.)

$44

39:3-11 Conditional license violation $48

39:3-17 Failure of possession of driver's license and/or registration (Non-resident 
motorists)

$44

39:3-20 Excess weight - Plus $100 for each 1,000 lbs. or fraction thereof $523

39:3-20(b) Speeding - commercial vehicle - load exceeds axle limitations -  See 
Payable Amount for N.J.S.A. 39:4-98

 

39:3-20(b) Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Speed Violation - See Payable 
Amount for N.J.S.A. 39:4-98

 

39:3-29 Failure of possession of driver's license and/or registration and/or 
insurance identification card (Note - if violation is for more than one 
offense involving license, registration or insurance card, they are 
separate offenses and the Payable Amount indicated is for each 
offense.)

$44

39:3-29 Refusal to exhibit driver's license and/or registration and/or insurance 
identification card (Note - If a violation is for more than one offense 
involving license, registration or insurance card, they are separate 
offenses and the Payable Amount indicated is for each offense.)

$44

39:3-32 Failure to replace lost, destroyed or defaced driver's plates $44

39:3-33 Display of unclear, indistinct license plates - (Limited to this portion of 
Statute only.)

$44

39:3-36 Failure to notify complete change of address $22

39:3-38 Use of other marker (Limited to this portion of Statute only.) $48

39:3-44 Vehicle in unsafe condition. $44

39:3-47 Improper lighting equipment; altering equipment $44
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:3-47a Headlights required with wipers $44

39:3-49 Headlights $44

39:3-50 Improper use of emergency lights (Limited to subsections (a) and (b) 
only.)

$44

39:3-51 Improper auxiliary driving lamps $44

39:3-52 Improper additional lighting equipment and use thereof $44

39:3-53 Spot lamps $44

39:3-54 Special restrictions on lights $44

39:3-55 Improper operation with alternate road lighting equipment $44

39:3-56 Operating without front lighted lamps $44

39:3-57 Improper single beam lighting $44

39:3-58 Improper multiple beam headlights $44

39:3-59 No light beam indicator $44

39:3-60 Improper use of high and low headlight beams $44

39:3-61 Lamps and reflectors required on particular vehicles $44

39:3-61.1 Mounting of lamps and reflectors $44

39:3-61.2 Combination of lighting devices and reflectors; prohibited combinations $44

39:3-61.3 Stop lamps: construction, placement and use $44

39:3-61.4 Overhanging loads;  placement and use of red lamps and flags $44

39:3-62 Unlighted lamps on parked vehicle $44

39:3-64 Emergency warning light equipment $44

39:3-64.3 Signals to flash simultaneously when stopped for transacting business $44

39:3-65 Lamps on other vehicle and equipment $44

39:3-66 Maintenance of lamps $44

39:3-69 Horns and warning devices $44

39:3-70 Noisy muffler $44

39:3-71 Mirrors $44

39:3-72 Tire equipment $44

39:3-73 Tire chains $44
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:3-74 Obstruction of windshield for vision $44

39:3-75 Safety glass requirement $44

39:3-76.2 Safety belt equipment $44

39:3-76.2a Failure to use a child passenger restraint when transporting a child 
under the age of five

$44

39:3-76.2f Failure to wear seat belt (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2j) $42

39:3-76.3 Motorcycles; height of handle bar grips $44

39:3-76.4 Muffler systems for motorcycles $44

39:3-76.5 Footrests and helmet for motorcycle passenger $73

39:3-76.6 to 3-76.1 Motorcycle operation and equipment violations $44

39:3-77 Selling or using unapproved devices or equipment $48

39:3-79.1 Device to prevent throwing of dirt on following vehicles (buses, trucks, 
trailers)

$44

39:3-81 Use of stud tires - (Limited to this portion of Statute only) NOTE: By 
regulation of the director of motor vehicles, stud tires shall not be used 
on a highway earlier than November 15 or later than April 1 of each 
year.   
By regulation of the Director of Motor Vehicles, stud tires shall not be 
used on a highway earlier than November 15 or later than April 1 of 
each year.

$48

39:3-84 Excess weight and dimensional restrictions - See: N.J.S.A.  39:3-84.3  

39:3-84 Excess weight and dimensional restrictions - See: N.J.S.A. 39:3-84.3 - 
Dimensional violation

$178

39:3-84 Excess weight and dimensional restrictions - See: N.J.S.A. 39:3-84.3 - 
Weight violation:  According to excess pounds per Statute, but not less 
than minimum

$78

39:4-11 to 4-14.2 Bicycles and roller skates $44

39:4-15 to 4-25.1 Horses and horse-drawn vehicles $44

39:4-26 to 4-30 Machinery, vehicles or apparatus of unusual size or weight (Fine to be 
paid to agency charged with maintenance of road upon which violation 
occurs)

$78

39:4-32 to 4-37.1 Pedestrian violations $44

39:4-38 to 4-45 Street cars $44

39:4-46 Commercial vehicle - Display of owner's name (Fine to be forwarded to 
Director of Motor Vehicles.)

$22
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-53 Leaving vehicle with engine running $44

39:4-54 Trailers - equipment required, towing, etc.  Dimensional restrictions See 
N.J.S.A. 39:3-84   Excess weight See N.J.S.A. 39:3-20 & 3-84 as 
applicable

$78

39:4-55 Action on steep grades and curves $44

39:4-56 Delaying traffic $44

39:4-56.6 Abandonment of vehicle on private property (First paragraph) $48

39:4-57 Failure to comply with direction of officer $44

39:4-57 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to comply with direction of 
officer

$65

39:4-57.1 Failure to activate interior light at request of officer $73

39:4-58 Vehicle loaded obstructing view $44

39:4-59 Hitch-hiking $44

39:4-60 Soliciting trade or contributions on highway $44

39:4-61 Tailboard riding $44

39:4-62 Leaving curb $44

39:4-64 Throwing matter from vehicle $223

39:4-65 Letting off or taking on persons $44

39:4-66 Emerging from alley, driveway or garage $44

39:4-66.1 Yield right-of-way when entering or leaving highway to or from private 
road or driveway

$44

39:4-66.1 Construction Zone - Yield right-of-way when entering or leaving highway 
to or from private road or driveway

$65

39:4-67 Obstructing passage of vehicles $44

39:4-68 Doors of streetcar or autobus closed $44

39:4-69 Riding on part of truck, bus or vehicle not intended for passengers $44

39:4-71 Driving on sidewalk $44

39:4-71 Construction Zone - Driving on sidewalk $65

39:4-72 Stopping on signal from driver of horse $44

39:4-76 Overweight vehicles on bridges (interstate) - Fine to be forwarded to 
Director of Motor Vehicles - Same Payable Amount as N.J.S.A.  39:3-84

 

39:4-77 Loading so as to spill $48
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-78 Carrying metals (Noise) $44

39:4-79 Backing vehicle to curb to unload $44

39:4-80 Disregard of officer directing traffic $78

39:4-80 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Disregard of officer directing traffic $133

39:4-81 Failure to observe traffic signal $78

39:4-81 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to observe traffic signal $133

39:4-82 Failure to keep right $78

39:4-82 Construction Zone - Failure to keep right $133

39:4-82.1 Driving on safety island $78

39:4-82.1 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Driving on safety island $133

39:4-83 Keeping to right at intersection $78

39:4-83 Construction Zone - Keeping to right at intersection $133

39:4-84 Failure to pass to right when proceeding in opposite directions $78

39:4-84 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to pass to right when 
proceeding in opposite directions

$133

39:4-85 Failure to pass to left when overtaking; passing when in lines; signaling 
to pass; passing on right

$78

39:4-85 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to pass to left when 
overtaking; passing when in lines; signaling to pass; passing on right

$133

39:4-85.1 One-Way traffic $78

39:4-86 Failure to overtake and pass properly; crossing "No Passing" lines $78

39:4-86 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to overtake and pass 
properly; crossing "No Passing" lines

$133

39:4-87 Failing to give overtaking vehicle right of way $78

39:4-88 Failure to obey regulations in marked lanes $78

39:4-88 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to obey regulations in 
marked lanes

$133

39:4-89 Following:  space between trucks (less than 100 ft. outside business or 
residence district), except to pass

$78

39:4-89 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Following:  space between trucks 
(less than 100 ft. outside business or residence district), except to pass

$133

39:4-90 Failure to yield right of way at intersection $78
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-90 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to yield right of way at 
intersection

$133

39:4-90.1 Entering or leaving limited access highways improperly $78

39:4-90.1 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Entering or leaving limited access 
highways improperly

$133

39:4-91 Right-of-way emergency vehicles $78

39:4-92 Clearance for, following or parking near emergency vehicles $78

39:4-92.1 Clearance for fire apparatus returning to fire station $78

39:4-94 Railroad employee unnecessarily blocking highway with train $78

39:4-97 Careless driving where no accident involving personal injury (Note - 
Accident resulting in personal injury cannot be paid through the 
Violations Bureau)

$78

39:4-97 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Careless driving where no 
accident involving personal injury (Note - Accident resulting in personal 
injury cannot be paid through the Violations Bureau)

$133

39:4-97.1 Slow Speed as blocking traffic $78

39:4-98 Speeding  

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 1 - 9 miles per hour ( non Construction 
Zone )

$78

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 1 - 9 miles per hour ( Construction Zone ) $133

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour ( not 65 MPH Zone 
or Construction Zone )

$88

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 10-14 miles per hour ( 65 MPH Zone or 
Construction Zone )

$153

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour ( not 65 MPH Zone 
or Construction Zone )

$98

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 15-19 miles per hour ( 65 MPH Zone or 
Construction Zone )

$173

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 20-24 miler per hour
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any 
defendant charged with speeding 20MPH or more over the speed limit, 
whether or not the violation occurs in a 65MPH Zone or in a 
Construction Zone.

$193

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 25-29 miles per hour
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any 
defendant charged with speeding 20MPH or more over the speed limit, 
whether or not the violation occurs in a 65MPH Zone or in a 
Construction Zone.

$213
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 30-34 miles per hour
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any 
defendant charged with speeding 20MPH or more over the speed limit, 
whether or not the violation occurs in a 65MPH Zone or in a 
Construction Zone.

$233

39:4-98 Speeding - Exceeding limit by 35-39 miles per hour
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.7, all fines have been doubled for any 
defendant charged with speeding 20MPH or more over the speed limit, 
whether or not the violation occurs in a 65MPH Zone or in a 
Construction Zone.

$253

NOTE: Exceeding the posted speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more 
requires a court appearance.

 

39:4-100 Rate of speed across sidewalk (4mph) $73

39:4-115 Turns at controlled intersection $78

39:4-115 Construction Zone - Turns at controlled intersection $133

39:4-116 Special right or left turn $78

39:4-117 Special pedestrian signals - motorist violation $78

39:4-117 Special pedestrian signals -  pedestrian violation $78

39:4-119 Failure to observe flashing traffic signals $78

39:4-119 Construction Zone - Failure to observe flashing traffic signals $133

39:4-122 Failure to obey signal of police $78

39:4-122 Construction Zone - Failure to obey signal of police $133

39:4-123 Right and left-hand turns $78

39:4-123 Construction Zone - Right and left-hand turns $133

39:4-124 Failure to turn as indicated by buttons or markers at intersection $78

39:4-124 Construction Zone - Failure to turn as indicated by buttons or markers 
at intersection

$133

39:4-125 U-Turn on curve or grade or where view obstructed or "No U-Turn" sign $78

39:4-125 Construction Zone - U-Turn on curve or grade or where view obstructed 
or "No U-Turn" sign

$133

39:4-126 Failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping $78

39:4-126 65 MPH Zone - Failure to signal before starting, turning or stopping $133

39:4-127 Backing or turning in street $78

39:4-127 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Backing or turning in street $133
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:4-127.1 Stopping at railroad crossing (under certain circumstances) $78

39:4-127.2 Failure to stop for gate at approaches to movable span bridge $78

39:4-135 Parking:  direction and side of street; angle parking and one-way street 
parking

$44

39:4-136 Parking on highway; removing disabled vehicle $44

39:4-137 Vehicle without driver; brakes set; motor stopped, etc. $44

39:4-138a Improper parking within intersection $44

39:4-138b Improper parking on a crosswalk $44

39:4-138c Improper parking safety (bus) zone $44

39:4-138d Improper parking in front of driveway $44

39:4-138e Improper parking within 25 ft. of crosswalk $44

39:4-138f Improper parking on a sidewalk $44

39:4-138g Improper parking in a "No Parking" area established by State Highway 
Department

$44

39:4-138h Improper parking within 50 feet of "Stop" sign $44

39:4-138i Improper parking within 10 feet of fire hydrant $44

39:4-138j Improper parking within 50 feet of railroad $44

39:4-138k Improper parking within 20 feet of driveway entrance to fire station or 75 
feet on opposite side of street (when properly signposted)

$44

39:4-138l Improper parking alongside or opposite street excavation or obstruction, 
causing traffic obstruction when properly signposted

$44

39:4-138m Double parking $44

39:4-138n Improper parking on a bridge, elevated structure, underpass or 
immediate approaches (except where space for parking is provided)

$44

39:4-139 Loading or unloading for unreasonable period of time $44

39:4-144 Failure to obey "Stop" or "Yield Right-of Way" signs $78

39:4-144 Construction Zone or 65 MPH Zone - Failure to obey "Stop or "Yield 
Right-of-Way" signs

$133

39:4-145 Failure to yield to vehicle entering Stop or Yield intersection after 
stopping

$78

39:4-207.9 Failure to remove snow from handicapped parking space $223

39:4-215 Failure to obey signals, signs or directions $44
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N.J.S.A. Payable
 Amount

Pursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

39:8-1 Failure to have inspection $123

39:8-4 Failure to make repairs $123

39:8-6 Failure to display approval certificate (Note: Fines for inspection 
violations are forwarded to Division of Motor Vehicles)

$123

39:8-62 Operation of Diesel Powered Motor Vehicle - Emission Violation. No 
Certification of Repair - First Offense Only (NOTE - The payable amount 
may be reduced to $172.00 if a Certification of Repair is provided and it 
is acceptable to the Court)

$723

Failure to exhibit identification marker or card - Motor Fuels Use Tax 
Act (Fine to be forwarded to the Division of Motor Vehicles)

B.     PARKING REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C. Payable
 Amount

$32Parking in any State parking area in Trenton without a permit13:56-1.1(a)

C.     MOTOR FUELS USE TAX ACT REGULATIONS

N.J.A.C. Payable
 Amount

54:39A-10 $48

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 

Pursuant to New Jersey Administrative Code 
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