PART Il

VIOLATIONS BUREAU PAYMENTS FOR STATUTORY
PENALTIES PURSUANT TO R. 7:11-4(a)

Parts | and Il of this Schedule list specific amounts that are payable through the Violations
Bureau for traffic and non-traffic offenses where a court appearance is either not required
pursuant to R. 7:12-4 or indicated by the police officer at the time that the
Complaint/Summons is issued. There are also other offenses, pursuant to R. 7:11-4(a),
that are payable through the Violations Bureau if the complaint does not involve a
mandatory court appearance and the statutory penalty does not exceed $50.00 for each
offense or where there are increased penalties for subsequent violations. The methods for
determining the payable amount for those offenses are as follows:

METHODS FOR DETERMINING PAYMENT OF STATUTORY PENALTIES

1. Where the statutory penalty does not exceed $50 for each offense, including
where the minimum statutory penalty does not exceed $50 for each offense, the
defendant at any time before the hearing date, upon presentation of the signed plea
of guilty and waiver of trial endorsed on the summons, may pay the penalty and, in
addition, plus $21.00 court cost through the Violations Bureau subject to the
limitations prescribed in R. 7:12-4, including the limitation when the summons is
marked to indicate that a court appearance is required.

2. Where the statute provides simply for a MAXIMUM penalty not in excess of $50,
it may be disposed of by payment through the Violations Bureau of one-half the
maximum penalty plus $21.00 court costs.

3. Where the statute provides for a MINIMUM penalty not in excess of $50, even
though the maximum exceeds $50, it may be paid through the Violations Bureau by
a payment of the minimum penalty plus $21.00 court costs.

4. Where the statute provides for a FIXED PENALTY ONLY, not in excess of $50,
it may be paid through the Violations Bureau by a payment of the penalty fixed by
statute plus $21.00 court costs.

(Note that R. 7:11-4(a) applies to all offenses involving a statutory penalty not
just to Fish and Game offenses. These offenses come under the Penalty
Enforcement Law, N.J.S.A. 2A:58-10 to N.J.S.A. 2A:58-12 et seq. It includes,
for example, such violations as are contained in Weights and Measures,
N.J.S.A. 51:1-29, Cigarette Tax Act, N.J.S.A. 54:40A-24, Fish and Game,
N.J.S.A. 23:1-2, Conservation and Development, N.J.S.A. 13:9-44.10,
Consumer Fraud Act, N.J.S.A. 56:8-14, Motor Fuel Retail Act, N.J.S.A. 56:6-
4.1).
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PART IV

ALLOCATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF PAYABLE AMOUNT

The provisions of this part are also applicable to local Supplemental Violations
Bureau Schedules as referenced.

A. ALLOCATION OF PAYABLE AMOUNT BETWEEN
FINES, ASSESSMENTS AND COURT COSTS

In Part | (Traffic Violations), the payable amount established in this Statewide Violations
Bureau Schedule and in local Supplemental Violations Bureau Schedules for each offense,
includes at least a fine, court costs and $1 for the Body Armor Replacement Fund and $1
for the New Jersey Spinal Cord Research Fund. Court costs may equal but shall not
exceed fines for each offense. If the payable amount is equal to $22, then the court
costs are $10 and the balance is the fine, which includes $1 for the Body Armor
Replacement Fund and $1 for the New Jersey Spinal Cord Research Fund. If the payable
amount is $42, then the court costs are $20 and the balance is the fine, which includes $1
for the Body Armor Replacement Fund and $1 for the New Jersey Spinal Cord Research
Fund. On all other matters within Part | (Traffic Violations), with exception of N.J.A.C.
13:56-1.1(a), the court costs shall be $21 and the balance is the fine, which includes $1 for
the Body Armor Replacement Fund and $1 for the New Jersey Spinal Cord Research Fund.
For violations of N.J.A.C. 13:56-1.1(a), the court costs shall be $15 and the balance is the
fine, which includes $1 of the Body Armor Replacement Fund and $1 for the New Jersey
Spinal Cord Research Fund.

In Part Il (Non-Traffic Violations), Sections C. (Fish and Game Violations), D. (Fish and
Game Code Regulations) and E. (State Park and Forest Violations), are penalty
enforcement actions where if the payable amountis $15, the court costs are $5 and the
fine is $10. If the payable amount is $40, the court costs are $20 and the fine is $20. If
the payable amount is greater then $42, the court costs are $21 and the balance is the
fine.

B. ALLOCATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF COURT COSTS
A portion of the total court costs allocated pursuant to Part IV A. of this Schedule shall be
distributed upon collection in accordance with N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4 and N.J.S.A. 2B:12-30 as

follows:

1. For all violations payable through the Violations Bureau, pursuant to this
Statewide Violations Bureau Schedule or a local Supplemental Violations Bureau
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Schedule, $2 shall be collected by the municipal court administrator for deposit into
the Automated Traffic System Fund. This portion of the court costs can not be
suspended.

2. For all violations of the provisions of Title 39 or any other motor vehicle or traffic
violation, payable through the Violations Bureau, pursuant to this Statewide
Violations Bureau Schedule or a local Supplemental Violations Bureau Schedule,
$.50 shall be collected by the municipal court administrator for deposit into the
Emergency Medical Technician Training Fund (EMTTF). This portion of the court
costs cannot be suspended.

3. Any remaining court costs shall be collected by the municipal court administrator
for distribution to the municipality.
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PART V

MISCELLANEOUS

The provisions of this part are also applicable to Local Supplemental Violations
Bureau Schedules as referenced.

A. ADDITIONAL PENALTIES FOR FAILURE TO APPEAR ON RETURN DATES

1. MOTOR VEHICLE, TRAFFIC AND PARKING CASES
For offenses listed on this Schedule and on Local Supplemental Violations Bureau
Schedules, the following additional penalties will be added to the payable amount as

indicated:

1. When a supplemental notice is sent, $10 will be added to the payable amount
due.

2. When a Notice of Proposed Suspension for a parking violation is sent, $10 will
be added to the payable amount due.

3. When an Order to Suspend is issued for a parking violation, $15 will be added
to the payable amount due.

4. A $3.00 DMV fee is also to be added to the total payable amount due upon the
issuance of an Order.

5. When a warrant is issued, unless the judge otherwise orders, the amount of the
bail indicated on the warrant shall be as follows: Parking offenses - The payable
amount plus $15. All other listed offenses - The payable amount plus $25.

(Note: Under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 39:5-9, costs, not to exceed $30, may
be deducted by the court from forfeited bail in traffic cases.)

2. NON-TRAFFIC CASES
For offenses listed in Part |l on this Schedule, N.J.S.A. 2A:8-27 permits the municipal court
to order the suspension of a defendant's driving privilege for failure to appear at any

scheduled court appearance. The following procedures may be used by the court to
effectuate that process:
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1. Send a Notice of Proposed Suspension of Driving Privileges for Failure to Appear
and Order of Suspension to the defendant. This notice may be used for violations
that are payable on this Schedule as well as for those violations that are not. Note:
Unlike traffic matters, no fee may be assessed for the mailing of this notice.

2. Should the defendant fail to respond to the Notice of Proposed Suspension, the
court may issue an Order of Suspension. When the court issues the Order, $25
($10 (Notice) + $15 (Order) will be added to the total payable amount.

3. A$3 DMV fee is also to be added to the total payable amount upon the issuance
of the Order.

4. When a warrant is issued, unless the judge otherwise orders, the amount of the
bail indicated on the warrant shall be the amount of the payable amount plus $50.

B. APPEARANCE OF DEFENDANT IN CERTAIN CASES

The officer issuing the Complaint/Summons may, where in the opinion of the officer
circumstances indicate the defendant should appear in court, check the Complaint/
Summons "Court Appearance Required" in which event the case may not be processed in
the Violations Bureau.

C. AUTHORIZATION TO APPLY BAIL AGAINST FINE(S) AND COSTS

By executing the form of Authorization to Apply Bail Against Fine(s) and Costs and Waiver
of Rights, a defendant against whom a warrant has been issued waives the rights to a
lawyer and a trial, enters a plea of guilty to the offense charged, and authorizes the
municipal court administrator to apply the bail posted toward the payment of fines, which
includes $1 for the Body Armor Replacement Fund, $1 for the New Jersey Spinal Cord
Research Fund and costs owed. This form may be used for all offenses payable through
the Violations Bureau. Note: $2.00 of the court costs is to be deposited into the ATS
Fund for all violations payable through the Violations Bureau and an additional $.50
of the court costs on all violations of Title 39, other traffic and parking matters, is to
be deposited into the EMTTF.

D. DEFENSE BY AFFIDAVIT IN CERTAIN CASES

For any offense not listed on this Schedule or on a local Supplemental Violations Bureau
Schedule (see Part VI), a court appearance is required unless the court authorizes a
defense by affidavit in accordance with the provisions of R. 7:12-3. For offenses involving
traffic accidents resulting in personal injury, a court appearance is also required.
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PART VI

LOCAL SUPPLEMENTAL VIOLATIONS
BUREAU SCHEDULES

Ordinance violations, including parking and non-parking traffic offenses may be listed on
a Local Supplemental Violations Bureau Schedule, established pursuanttoR. 7:12-4. That
Schedule is subject to the approval of the Assignment Judge and shall be consistent with
the provisions of Parts lll, IV and V of this Statewide Violations Bureau Schedule.

DATED: April 22, 2002

Richard J. Williams, J.A.D.
Administrative Director of the Courts
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