
PART II

NON-TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS

A.     BOATING VIOLATIONS

1.     REGULATION, REGISTRATION AND OPERATION OF VESSELS - STATUTES

Note: Certain violations of Title 12 (New Jersey Statutes), each of those matters listed below with a
Payable Amount of $46.00, require an enhanced penalty for a second or subsequent offense (N.J.S.A.
12:7-51).  Law enforcement will check the “court appearance” block if the officer believes that the person
charged may be a second or subsequent offender.  If the “court appearance” block is not checked, then
the person charged should be considered a first offender and may, therefore, choose to plead guilty
without a court appearance and pay the prescribed amount.  Violations that have a payable amount
greater than $46.00 are not subject to increased penalties for second or subsequent offenses.

N.J.S.A. Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

12:7-23.3 Vessel sale-muffler $121

12:7-34.38 Failure to number $46

12:7-34.39(a) Failure to register $46

12:7-34.39(b) No registration in possession $46

12:7-34.44a(b) Failure to register documented vessel $46

12:7-34.44a)(c) Registration certificate not available documented vessel $46

12:7-34.45 Failure to change address $46

12:7-34.46(c) Failure to report accident $46

12:7-45 Speed $46

12:7-47.1 Twelve and under - not wearing PFD $46

12:7-61 Juvenile without boat safety certificate $121

12:7-61(b) Operate power vessel w/o boat safety certificate $121

12:7-61(c) Operate personal watercraft without Boat Safety Certificate $121

12:7-61(d) Operate personal watercraft without boat safety certificate in possession $121

12:7-61(d)1 Fail to exhibit boat safety certificate $121

12:7-61(e) Exhibit boat safety certificate of antoher $121

12:7-61(f) Allow uncertified operator to operate personal watercraft $71

12:7-61.1 Juvenile operating prohibited vessel $121
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N.J.S.A. Payable
AmountPursuant to New Jersey Statutes Annotated

12:7-63(a) Operate personal watercraft at a prohibited time $45

12:7-63(b) Operate personal watercraft in a prohibited area $46

12:7-63(c) Operate personal watercraft in a prohibited manner $46

12:7-63(d) Operate personal watercraft in a prohibited manner/airborne $46

12:7-64(a) Safety lanyard-Personal watercraft $46

12:7-64(b) Safe speed - personal watercraft $46

12:7-65 Personal watercraft-no personal flotation device $46

12:7-68 Personal watercraft-skiing $46

12:7-72(b)(1) Operate vessel on non-tidal waters without license $221

12:7-72(d) Fail to exhibit license/no license in possession $121

12:7-74(a) Did lend license $71

12:7-74(b) Allow unlicensed operator $71

12:7-74(c) Exhibit another's license while operating a vessel $221

12:7-74(d) Exhibit another's license for purposes of ID $71

12:7-75 Altered serial numbers $46

12:7-76 Careless operation $46

12:7-77 Personal flotation device $46

12:7-78 Discard debris $221

12:7-79 Failure to stop-obeying orders $46

12:7-86(a)(2) Unqualified rental supervision $46

12:7-86(b) Personal watercraft rental zone $46
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