

Alcohol Statistics State Map

State Map

SELECT A STATE from the National Totals dropdown menu to view statistics about impaired driving and underage drinking.

SELECT A LAW to view the details of each state's impaired driving and underage drinking laws.

See how your state measures up to the rest of the country!



Created with Raphaël 2.0.1 CTDEDC HI MDMA NHNJ RI VT

New Jersey

- State Facts
- State Laws

2018 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatality Data	New Jersey	National
Total Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities	125	10,511
Percent of Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities of Total Fatalities	22.2	28.8
Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities	13	980
Percent of Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities of Total Under 21 Fatalities	27.1	24.0
2018 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100,000 Population		
Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K population	1.4	3.2
Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K population	0.6	1.1

2009-2018 % Change in Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K Pop

Briving ratanties per rooter op		
10-year Change in Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K pop	-15.9	-8.4
10-year Change in Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K pop	-23.6	-28.3
Percent of Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities Involving high BAC drivers (.15+)*		
BAC=.15+	61.9	70.0
Percent of Drivers in Fatal Crashes Involving Repeat Offenders		
BAC .0814	16.7	25.4
BAC .15+	83.3	74.6
12-20 Year Old Alcohol Consumption (latest available)		
Past Month Alcohol Consumption (2017-2018)	22.0	19.3
Binge Drinking in Past 30-days (2017-2018)	13.9	11.7
2018 Arrest Data		
Under 18: Driving under the influence	42	3,468
Total: Driving under the influence	17,230	1,001,329
Under 18: Liquor laws	395	18,263
Total: Liquor laws	1,356	173,152

Under 18: Drunkenness 0 2,263

Total: Drunkenness 24 328,772

TWEET ABOUT YOUR STATE STATE TO STATE TO STATE TO STATE TO STATE TO STATE STATE TO STATE FACTS

Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatality Data Source: NHTSA/FARS, 11/2019

Youth Consumption Data Source: SAMHSA, Office of Applied Studies, National Surveys on Drug Use and Health, 12/2019 (https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/comparison-2008-2009-and-2017-2018-nsduh-state-prevalence-estimates)

Arrest Data Source: 2018 FBI Uniform Crime Report (Tables 29, 32 and 69)

Limited, incomplete, or no data were reported by the District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, and New York in the 2018 Uniform Crime Report. Data should be used with caution and should not be compared to other states or previous year data.

Note: Because the number of agencies submitting arrest data varies from year to year, users are cautioned about making direct comparisons between 2018 arrest totals and those published in previous years' editions of Crime in the United States. Further, arrest figures may vary widely from state to state because some Part II crimes of the Uniform Crime Report are not considered crimes in some states.

We all can work to end impaired driving. Learn how here.

For a comprehensive report on latest available 2018 State of Drunk Driving Fatalities in America, click here.

State Law	State Law Detail
24/7 Programs	No 24/7 legislation
Administrative License Suspension/Revocation	No ALS/ALR law

^{*}Among drivers with a known alcohol test result

^{**}Drunkenness is not considered a crime in some states; therefore, the figures may vary widely from state to state

BAC Test Refusal Administrative penalties Drug Evaluation and Classification Program 500+ DREs **DUI Child Endangerment Laws** Enhanced penalties **DUI Look-back Periods** Ten years DUID Zero Tolerance and Per Se Laws Impairment-based statute only **Enhanced Penalties for High-BAC** 0.1Felony DUI No felony DUI law Good Samaritan Good Samaritan law enacted Habitual Offender Law Enacted Habitual Offender Designation No marijuana-specific drugged driving law Marijuana Drug-Impaired Driving Laws Open Container - Alcohol In compliance with Federal requirements Permitted Sobriety Checkpoints False Identification - Point-of-Sale Policies Distinctive License & No Seizure Law False Identification - Sanctions Judicial license suspension/revocation Active 2019 Legislative Activity Top Detected Drug Category by State **Narcotics** (2019)Medical Cannabis Cannabis Laws (2020) Electronic Warrants (E-warrants) Court Rule/Order Authorization No marijuana open container law Open Container - Marijuana Ignition Interlocks Mandatory all offender No affirmative defense **DUID Affirmative Defense** Has legal authority to implement No Refusal No Refusal Programs program

No DUI Courts

DUI Courts - Standalone

New Jersey

DUI Courts - Hybrid

Oral Fluid Testing

No Hybrid Courts

No authorization

PRINT
ISSUE

Select State Law

Prevent drunk driving first offenders from taking the wheel drunk: One of those ideas this year is a bill to allow courts to keep first-time drunk driving offenders from re-offending by making them use an ignition interlock device — a system that tests a driver's blood alcohol level with a handheld breathalyzer before a car will start. FOUNDATION FOR ADVANCING ALCOHOL RESPONSIBILITY **RECEIVE THE LATEST NEWS & RESEARCH** Subscribe **Email Address BACK**

TO

TOP

© Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. All rights reserved. 2345 Crystal Drive, Suite 710, Arlington, VA 22202