## SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY BOARD ON CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION

PETER G. VERNEIRO, CHAIR CLASSIE M. COLINET H. MARK ELLIS SCOTT A. KRASNY THERESA A. LYONS DANIEL F. O'BRIEN JEFFREY M. POLLOCK JOSEPH J. RODGERS CHRISTINA SILVA KATHERINE E. SUELL JAMES J. ULIANO



HEATHER JOY BAKER, CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT WENDY L. WEISS, COUNSEL

> Mailing Address: PO Box 965 Street Address: Hughes Justice Complex 25 Market Street, 8<sup>th</sup> Floor, North Wing Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0965 Phone (609) 815-2930 sctcle.mailbox@njcourts.gov

## Continuing Legal Education Requirement for Lawyers Admitted to the New Jersey Bar in 2022

Every active lawyer is required to complete 24 credit hours of continuing legal education (CLE) every 2 years. Of those 24 credits, at least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias.

During the newly admitted lawyer's first full two-year compliance period, within the general 24 credit CLE requirement, a newly admitted lawyer with a plenary license in New Jersey must obtain 15 credit hours in at least 5 of the following 9 subject areas: New Jersey basic estate administration; New Jersey basic estate planning; New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation; New Jersey family law practice; New Jersey real estate closing procedures; New Jersey trust and business accounting; New Jersey landlord/tenant practice; New Jersey municipal court practice; and New Jersey law office management. A "newly admitted lawyer" is defined by the Board on Continuing Legal Education (Board) as a lawyer who becomes an active member of the **New Jersey** bar for the first time. Newly admitted attorneys with a limited license do not have to take the 15-credit new admit coursework.

Unless an attorney neither lives nor works in New Jersey or lives and works in another mandatory CLE jurisdiction, no less than ½ of the required credits per compliance period must be taken live with an instructor in the room; the balance may be in alternative verifiable learning (AVL) formats. (See <u>BCLE Reg</u>. 201:8). An attorney who lives, works, and is licensed in a mandatory CLE jurisdiction that allows for 100% AVL formats, through reciprocity, may apply those 100% AVL format courses towards compliance in New Jersey. AVL format courses include videotape, audiotape, on-line internet computer presentations, satellite simulcasts, teleconferencing, videoconferencing, internet computer self-study, or other type of remote verifiable learning format authorized by the Board. If an attorney is living and working out of state and cannot obtain the live courses related to the new admit subject areas, he or she may apply for a waiver of the live requirement. A newly admitted lawyer may obtain credit for CLE courses taken after his or her graduation from law school but before admission to the New Jersey bar towards their first compliance reporting period, so long as those courses were taken no more than 12 months prior to the lawyer's date of admission to the New Jersey bar. Attorneys may carry over no more than 12 extra credits from the preceding compliance period into the next. Please note that by Order dated March 10, 2020, the live instruction requirement has been relaxed until further notice because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

A nonrefundable \$50 CLE noncompliance fee will be assessed against attorneys who report they did not complete the required courses by the deadline for course completion. An additional nonrefundable \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their CLE courses within the afforded grace period or who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all. In addition, attorneys who remain noncompliant are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice New Jersey law.

The first compliance reporting period for newly admitted lawyers begins January 1 of the year immediately following admission to the New Jersey bar. For lawyers who were admitted to the New Jersey bar in 2022, your CLE requirement will begin on January 1, 2023. Newly admitted lawyers are automatically assigned to a compliance reporting group based on their respective birthdays.

<u>Compliance Reporting Group 1:</u> If your birthday is between January 1 and June 30, you are in Compliance Reporting Group 1 and will report the completion of the required credits in the annual attorney registration and billing process in even-numbered years. Newly admitted lawyers in Group 1 will have a one-year transitional reporting period and must obtain 12 credit hours by December 31, 2023. At least 2.5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 1 credit of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias. You will certify compliance in the 2024 annual attorney registration and billing process. Your next compliance reporting period will begin on January 1, 2024 and end on December 31, 2025 and you will be required to obtain 24 credits and meet the specific newly admitted attorney requirement. At least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias and 15 credits must be in at least 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.

<u>Compliance Reporting Group 2</u>: If your birthday is between July 1 and December 31, you are in Compliance Reporting Group 2 and will report the completion of credits in the annual attorney registration and billing process in odd-numbered years. Newly admitted lawyers in Group 2 must obtain 24 credit hours by December 31, 2024 and will certify compliance in the 2025 annual attorney registration and billing process. At least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias and 15 credits must be in at least 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.

The chart below may assist you in determining your CLE requirement for your first two compliance reporting periods based on your date of plenary admission to the New Jersey bar and your compliance group. Newly admitted lawyers with a limited license may use this chart but are not required to meet the 15-credit new-admit coursework.

Compliance Reporting Group 1 (birthdays from January 1 through June 30)				
Year Admitted	Requirement Begins	First Compliance Reporting Period	Second Compliance Reporting Period	
2022	January 1, 2023	12 credits completed by 12/31/23 *Transitional reporting period	24 credits completed by 12/31/25 **Must complete new-admit requirement	

Compliance Reporting Group 2 (birthdays from July 1 through December 31)				
Year	Requirement			
Admitted	Begins	First Compliance Reporting Period	Second Compliance Reporting Period	
		24 credits completed by 12/31/24	24 credits completed by 12/31/26	
2022	January 1, 2023	**Must complete new-admit		
	•	requirement		

\*Transitional reporting period means that you have a one-year period to obtain 12 credits. At least 2.5 of the credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 1 credit of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.

\*\*Must complete new admit requirement means that during this 2-year reporting period you must obtain 24 credits. At least 5 credits must be in ethics and/or professionalism, including 2 credits of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias and 15 credits must be in at least 5 of the 9 New Jersey specific subject areas for newly admitted lawyers. The balance of credits may be in any legal, judicial, or other educational activity accredited by the Board or another mandatory CLE jurisdiction.