Municipal Court Services How to Appeal a Decision of a Municipal Court Updated April 7, 2022



How to Appeal a Decision of a Municipal Court Who Should Use This Packet?

If you have been found guilty and have been sentenced by a Municipal Court judge and you want to appeal, then this packet will show you how. Some reasons to file an appeal are:

- You believe the facts do not support the judge's decision; or
- You believe the judge's decision does not follow the law.

Important Points to Remember:

The Municipal Court must **receive** your Notice of Municipal Court Appeal form within 20 days (including weekends and holidays) from the date you were found guilty (see Steps 1 and 3 on page 4).

There is a \$100 filing fee plus a transcript fee which you must pay in advance. Both of these fees are non-refundable (see Steps 2 and 6).

If you were represented by a court appointed lawyer in your Municipal Court proceeding, please consult with that person prior to filing your appeal. The assigned counsel can help you file your appeal.

Note: These materials have been prepared by the New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts for use by self-represented litigants. The guides, instructions, and forms will be periodically updated as necessary to reflect current New Jersey statutes and court rules. The most recent version of the forms will be available at the county courthouse, your local Municipal Court or on the Judiciary's Internet site njcourts.gov. However, you are ultimately responsible for the content of your appeal.

Things to Think About Before You Try to Represent Yourself in Court

Try to Get a Lawyer

The court system is often complicated and confusing. As a result, you may wish to consult with a lawyer before deciding whether to represent yourself in court. If you cannot afford a lawyer or do not know how to go about finding a lawyer, you can:

- Call the New Jersey Attorney Referral Office in your county; or
- Ask any of the State or County Bar Associations for the names of lawyers who may be able to represent you at a reduced price.

Note: If you believe you qualify for a court-appointed lawyer, ask the court staff at either the Municipal or Superior Court for more information. The court staff can give you the forms needed to apply for a court-appointed lawyer.

What You Should Expect If You Represent Yourself

While you have the right to represent yourself in court, you should not expect special treatment, help or attention from the court. The following is a list of some things court staff can and cannot do for you. Please read it carefully before asking court staff for help.

- We can explain and answer questions about how the court works.
- We can tell you what the requirements are to have your case considered by the court.
- We can give you some information from your case file.
- We *can* provide you with samples of court forms that are available.
- We *can* provide you with guidance on how to fill out forms.
- We can usually answer questions about court deadlines.
- We *cannot* give you legal advice. Only your lawyer can give you legal advice.
- We cannot give you an opinion about what will happen if you bring your case to court.
- We *cannot* recommend a lawyer, but we can provide you with the telephone number of a local lawyer referral service.
- We *cannot* talk to the judge for you about what will happen in your case.
- We *cannot* let you talk to the judge outside of court.
- We *cannot* change an order issued by a judge.

Court Rules About Municipal Court Appeals

You can get additional information on how to file a Municipal Court appeal by looking up *Rule* 3:23 in the *Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey*. Although this packet will walk you through the appeal process, you should consider reading this rule if you decide to file your own Municipal Court appeal. A copy of the rule book is available at the State Library in

Trenton, law libraries, and at many of the county and municipal public libraries located throughout the State.

Checklist

Please feel free to use this Checklist as you complete each of the six steps discussed in the following section. Please pay close attention to the time frames indicated in each Step.

Complete Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) – See STEP 1
Complete Form B (<i>Transcript Request – Municipal Court</i>) – See STEP 2
Contact the Municipal Court to determine what the estimated cost of the Transcript will
be – See STEP 2
After completing Form B (Transcript Request – Municipal Court), take it to the
Municipal Court to order the correct number of transcripts. Please remember to
bring/enclose a check to pay for the transcript – See STEP 2
Mail or deliver Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) to the Municipal Court – See
STEP 3
Mail or deliver a copy of Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) to the Prosecuting
Attorney(s) – See STEP 4
Complete Form C (Certification of Timely Filing) – See STEP 5
Mail or deliver a copy of Form A and the completed Form C, along with the \$100 filing
fee, to the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court – See STEP 6

The numbered steps listed below tell you what forms you will need to fill out and what to do with them. Each form should be typed or printed clearly on 8 ½ "x 11" white paper only. Forms cannot be filed on a different size or color paper. Use only the forms included in this packet. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.

Steps for Filing an Appeal

STEP 1: Fill out the *Notice of Municipal Court Appeal* (Form A)

STEP 2: Fill out the *Transcript Request Municipal Court* (Form B)

As part of the appeal process, you must order an original and a copy of the written record, also called a *transcript*, of your Municipal Court hearing. To order these transcripts, you must fill out Form B - *Transcript Request-Municipal Court* and mail or deliver it to the Municipal Court where your hearing took place.

NOTE: You will have to pay for the transcript in advance. This non-refundable fee depends on the length of your trial. Before you send or deliver the Transcript Request-Municipal Court form to the court, please call the court to get from them 1) the estimated cost of the transcript and 2) who the check should be written to. If you cannot afford to pay for the transcript, ask court staff at either the Municipal or Superior Court how you can apply to have the transcript produced at court expense.

One of the two transcripts you are required to order is for the Prosecutor and the other is for the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court (see STEPS 4 and 6). If you want a transcript for yourself, you should order a third copy when you place your original transcript order.

STEP 3: Mail or deliver Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal to the Municipal Court

In order to let the Municipal Court Administrator of the Municipal Court in which you were originally found guilty know that you are filing an appeal, you must mail or deliver Form A - *Notice of Municipal Court Appeal* to that court. The Municipal Court must receive this form **no later than 20 calendar days (this includes weekends and holidays)** after the date you were found guilty. **If the Municipal Court does not RECEIVE the appeal form by the 20-day deadline, your appeal will not be heard.**

Note: Before you deliver or mail the original of Form A to the Municipal Court, please make some extra copies. The information contained in STEPS 4 and 6 will let you know how many copies you will need. These additional copies are needed to help you complete the filing of your appeal.

If you mail Form A instead of delivering it in person, you should send it certified mail, return receipt requested. Your post office can tell you how to do this.

STEP 4: Mail or deliver a copy of Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal to the Prosecutor

You must send a copy of Form A to the Prosecutor **no later than five (5) days** after you mailed or delivered the original copy of Form A to the Municipal Court. If you mail the form, instead of delivering it in person, you should send it certified mail, return receipt requested.

In almost all cases the prosecuting attorney is the County Prosecutor. However, in some cases the prosecuting attorney may be a different person. To determine if the prosecuting attorney for your case may be someone other than the County Prosecutor, please refer to the sheet at the end of this packet labeled *Determining the Prosecuting Attorney*.

STEP 5: Fill out Form C - Certification of Timely Filing

Fill out Form C - *Certification of Timely Filing* and attach it to a copy of Form A. Form C is your certification telling the court that you mailed the necessary papers on time and to the correct places.

Note: If you want the court to send you copies of the forms stamped "filed" include one extra copy of each form along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope.

STEP 6: Mail or deliver a copy of Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal and the original of Form C - Certification of Timely Filing to the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court

You must send a copy of Form A - *Notice of Municipal Court Appeal* and the original of Form C - *Certification of Timely Filing* to the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court. The Superior Court must **receive** these forms **no later than five** (5) **days** after the original copy of Form A - *Notice of Municipal Court Appeal* was received by the Municipal Court. If you mail the forms, you should send them in one envelope certified mail, return receipt requested.

The copy of Form A and the original of Form C should be mailed or delivered to the Criminal Division Manager at the County Courthouse in the county where the original Municipal Court case was heard. This address can be found in the Directory of Superior Court Clerk's Offices-Law Division contained in this packet. If you are not sure which county you should file your appeal in, ask someone at the Municipal Court for assistance.

Note: A filing fee of \$100 is required to file your Notice of Appeal with the Criminal Division Manager. Make the check or money order payable to the *Treasurer*, *State of New Jersey*. However, if you cannot afford to pay for filing the appeal, ask the court staff at either the Municipal or Superior Court how to apply for the waiver of the filing fee.

Form A





New Jersey Judiciary **Notice of Municipal Court Appeal**

Fairness • Qua	ity Service				
Title of Action v.		Su	Superior Court of		
Mun	icipal Court Ticket or Complaint l	Number (refer to tick	tet or complaint	<u>:</u>)	
	r Information me		Contact P	hone Nu	ımber
Str	reet Address	City	I	State	Zip
	yer's Information (if applicable)		Contact P	hone Nu	ımber
Stree	et Address	City		State	Zip
If yo	u were represented by a lawyer, w	vas he/she appointed	by the court?		es □ No
enter	red in thehat date, I was convicted of the following	Municipal	e Superior Cour l Court on	rt from a	conviction
The	Municipal Court Judge found me Fine (Specify Amount): \$ Restitution (Specify Type):			ınt \$	
	Jail Sentence (Length of Sentence				
	Community Service (Describe):				
	Probation (Length):				
	Driver License Suspension (Leng				
	Other Penalty (Specify):				

Form A

In co	nnection with this outcome:
	No Fine was Assessed or
	A Fine was Assessed and:
	☐ has been paid
	☐ has not been paid
	☐ has been stayed pending appeal
	No Jail Term was Imposed or
	A Jail Term was Imposed:
	☐ however, I am not in jail
	☐ I am in jail confined at the following facility:
	ound Recording was made in the above matter at the time of the trial, as required by 7:8-8.
	Docket Number (Supposition Count Has Only)
	(Superior Court Use Only)

Form B





Independence - Integrity Fairness - Quality Service	Transcript Request-Municipal Court				
Title of	Action			Municipal Cour	t of
NT	V.		D		()
Name of	Municipal Court Judge	County	D	rate(s) of Hearing	g(S)
Comp	lete This Section Only If You	ı Are Filing an A	ppeal of a N	Municipal Court	Judgment
(2) copie original certified	Municipal Court appeal, you es of your court case transcript copy of the transcript with the copy with the Prosecuting A of for yourself if you choose,	ot. The Municipa le Criminal Divisi attorney. You ma	l Court Adr on Manage y also order	ninistrator will fir at the Superior	le the Court and a
Number	of transcripts requested:				
Copy for	r the Criminal Division Mana	ager at the Superio	or Court (re	quired)	
Copy or	copies for the Prosecuting A	ttorney or Attorne	eys (a minim	num of one is requi	red)
	nal copies (optional)				
Total C	opies Ordered				
Your Na	ime		T	Celephone Number	er
Street A	ddress	City		State	Zip
I agree t	o pay for the preparation and	all copies ordered	d of the tran	nscript.	
Date		Signature			
Type or Print Your Name					
New Jersey Court <i>Rule</i> 3:23-8(a) requires that when an appeal is filed, the original transcript must be filed with the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court and a certified copy with the Prosecuting Attorney.					
Note : Before you send or deliver the Transcript Request-Municipal Court form to the court, contact the court for the estimated cost of the transcript and who to make the check out to.					
Am	ount of Deposit: \$	(Court Use Onl	ly)		

Form C Certification of Timely Filing

			art Appeal form (Form A) has been mailed			
	lelivered to the Municipal Cou					
wit con fili	Municipal Court, and also to the Prosecuting Attorney(s), within the deadlines specified by the Rules of Court. In addition, I certify that I have contacted the Municipal Court Administrator of the Municipal Court stated above, before filing my Notice of Municipal Court Appeal, and I have ordered an original and a copy of the transcript of my proceedings.					
	ditionally, if required, I have jurt Administrator to have the		ot deposit specified by the Municipal ced.			
Date		Appellant Si	Appellant Signature			
		Type or Prin	t Your Name			
	by of Form A (Notice of Municipal (Name)	pal Court Appeal				
	(Address)		(Address)			
(c)	(City, State & Zip Code)	(d)	(City, State & Zip Code)			
(c)	(Name)		(Name)			
	(Address)		(Address)			
	(City, State & Zip Code)		(City, State & Zip Code)			

Determining the Prosecuting Attorney

In order for you to file a copy of Form A (*Municipal Court Appeal*) with the Prosecuting Attorney, you must first determine who the Prosecuting Attorney for your case will be when it gets to the Superior Court. It may be an attorney representing the Municipality where your matter was heard, the County Prosecutor or even an attorney from the office of the State Attorney General. Who the Prosecuting Attorney will be is determined by the nature of the case on which you are appealing. For example:

- a) If one or more of the charges on which you were found guilty and are appealing is a municipal ordinance violation, a copy of Form A (*Notice of Municipal Court Appeal*) must be mailed or delivered to the Municipal Attorney for the town where the Municipal Court is located. Staff at the town's main administrative building can provide you with the name and address of the Municipal Attorney.
- b) If your appeal is based on a claim that a State law, statute, rule, regulation, or an order by the executive branch of government is unconstitutional, then a copy of Form A (*Notice of Municipal Court Appeal*) must be mailed or delivered to the Office of the Attorney General, at the following address:

Office of the Attorney General R. J. Hughes Justice Complex 25 Market Street, P.O. Box 080 Trenton, NJ 08625

c) For all other matters, a copy of Form A (*Notice of Municipal Court Appeal*) must be mailed or delivered to the County Prosecutor. This includes most traffic offenses and driving while intoxicated (DWI) violations. Please be aware that your case may require you to send a copy of Form A (*Notice of Municipal Court Appeal*) to more than one Prosecuting Attorney. For example, if one of the charges is a municipal ordinance violation and another a speeding offense, then you will need to send a copy of Form A to both the Municipal Attorney and the County Prosecutor. The Municipal Prosecutor, the local police department or Municipal Court staff can provide you with information on whether a particular charge is a municipal ordinance violation or a State law violation. Finally, if you are still unsure who the Prosecuting Attorney in your case will be, you may want to consider sending a copy of Form A (*Notice of Municipal Court Appeal*) to the County Prosecutor, the Municipal Attorney, and the State Attorney General. Please refer to the Summary Table below for information on determining the Prosecuting Attorney(s).

Summary

If you are appealing:	You must send a notice to:
A Municipal Ordinance violation	The Municipal Attorney for the town where the Municipal Court is located
A violation of State law, (i.e., a traffic violation, assault charge or most other matters)	The County Prosecutor
The Constitutionality of the law, rule, regulation, or an Executive Order	The Office of the Attorney General
If you are not sure who the Prosecuting Attorney will be	Ask the Municipal Prosecutor or Municipal Court staff for help

Directory of Superior Court Clerk's Offices- Law Division

A copy of the *Notice of Municipal Court Appeal* (Form A) must be sent to the Criminal Division at the Superior Court in the county where you are filing your Appeal.

Atlantic County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Atlantic County Courts Complex 4997 Unami Boulevard Mays Landing, NJ 08330 609-402-0100 ext. 47340

Bergen County

Criminal Division Manager Bergen County Courthouse 10 Main Street, Room 124 Hackensack, NJ 07601 201-221-0700 ext. 25020

Burlington County

Criminal Division Manager Burlington Courts Facility 50 Rancocas Rd. -1st Fl. Mount Holly, NJ 08060 609-288-9500 ext. 38125

Camden County

Camden Criminal Records Camden County Hall of Justice 101 South Fifth St. Camden, NJ 08103 856-650-9100, ext. 43650

Cape May County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Criminal Division Cape May County Superior Court 4 Moore Rd. Cape May Court House, NJ 08210 609-402-0100 ext. 47433

Cumberland County

Criminal Division Records 60 West Broad Street Bridgeton, N.J. 08302 856-878-5050 ext. 15640

Essex County

Criminal Division Manager Essex County Veterans Courthouse 50 West Market Street Newark, NJ 07102 973-776-9300 ext. 55934

Gloucester County

Criminal Division Records Gloucester County Justice Complex 70 Hunter Street Woodbury, NJ 08096 856-878-5050 ext. 15430

Hudson County

Criminal Records Office Hudson County Admin. Building 595 Newark Ave., Room 101 Jersey City, NJ 07306 201-748-4400 ext. 60138

Hunterdon County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Hunterdon County Criminal Division Hunterdon County Justice Center 65 Park Avenue Flemington, NJ 08822 908-824-9750 ext. 13110

Mercer County

Criminal Division Records Mercer County Courthouse 400 S. Warren St., Room 109 Trenton, NJ 08650 609-571-4200 ext. 74074

Middlesex County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Middlesex County Courthouse 56 Paterson St. P.O. Box 964 New Brunswick, NJ 08903 732-645-4300 ext. 88142

Monmouth County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Monmouth County Courthouse 71 Monument Park Freehold, NJ 07728 732-358-8700 ext. 87360

Morris County

Criminal Division Manager Morris Superior Courthouse P.O. Box 910 Morristown, NJ 07960 862-397-5700 ext. 75215

Ocean County

Criminal Case Processing Ocean County Justice Complex 120 Hooper Ave., Room 221 Toms River, NJ 08753 732-504-0700 ext 64282

Passaic County

Criminal Division Records Passaic County Courthouse 77 Hamilton Street Paterson, NJ 07505 973-653-2910 ext. 24397

Salem County

Criminal Division Records Salem County Court House 92 Market Street Salem, NJ 08079 856-878-5050 ext. 15780

Somerset County

Criminal Division Records Somerset County Courthouse - 2nd Fl. 20 North Bridge Street, P.O. Box 3000 Somerville, NJ 08876 908-332-7700 ext. 13720

Sussex County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Criminal Division Sussex County Judicial Complex 43-47 High Street Newton, NJ 07860 862-397-5700 ext. 75316

Union County

Criminal Division Records Union County Superior Courthouse 2 Broad St., 5th Fl. Tower Elizabeth, NJ 07207 908-787-1650 ext. 21150

Warren County

Municipal Appeals Clerk Warren County Criminal Division P.O. Box 900 Belvidere, NJ 07823 908-750-8100 ext. 13130