What is speedy trial reform?

Before Jan. 1, 2017, the state had no speedy trial statute or rules, which meant that some cases could sometimes take years to go from arrest to trial. The new speedy trial law applies to defendants who are subjected to pretrial detention.

The speedy trial component establishes limits on the amount of time a defendant can remain detained before trial. The new law provides three distinct speedy trial limits:



From arrest to indictment: No more than 90 days prior to return or unsealing of the indictment.

From indictment to trial: No more than 180 days before commencement of the trial. Additional time can be granted by a judge after a prosecutor's motion.

An overall limit from detention to trial: Two years after the issuance of the detention order, excluding only those delays attributed to the defendant, to the commencement of trial.

The law contains extensions of time for pretrial motions, competency hearings, plea negotiations, the consent of the parties, and other excludable time.



New Jersey Judiciary

"Criminal Justice Reform (CJR) reflected a set of principles agreed to by a broad array of stakeholders. The new approach largely replaced cash bail with a risk-based system of pretrial

Chief Justice Stuart Rabner

release. CJR also provided for the pretrial detention of individuals who pose a substantial risk of danger or flight. Those and other reforms were intended to confront inequities in the prior system and help protect public safety – concerns that remain at the core of CIR today."



STUART RABNER CHIEF JUSTICE

GLENN A. GRANT ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR OF THE COURTS

CN 12058 - APRIL 2023

New Jersey Judiciary



Frequently Asked Questions

For more information about Criminal Justice Reform in New Jersev, go to www.nicourts.gov and search for "Criminal Justice Reform."

What is Criminal Justice Reform?

Criminal Justice Reform represents a fundamental change in how defendants and their cases are processed in the New Jersey courts. On Jan. 1, 2017, the state moved from a system that relied principally on setting monetary bail as a condition of release to a risk-based system that is more objective, promotes public safety and is fairer to defendants because it is unrelated to their ability to pay monetary bail. The law also sets deadlines for the timely filing of an indictment and the disposition of criminal charges for incarcerated defendants.



How and why did Criminal Justice Reform come about?

The transformation of our criminal justice system was a joint effort of all three branches of government. It grew from the work of the Joint Committee on Criminal Justice, a special committee of the Supreme Court established by Chief Justice Stuart Rabner to examine the issues of bail and speedy trial reform.

The committee included the attorney general, the public defender, judges, county prosecutors, defense counsel, court administrators, representatives of the Legislature, and a representative of the American Civil Liberties Union. The committee developed and issued a series of recommendations that were incorporated into landmark legislation. Voters in November 2014 approved a constitutional change that became effective on Jan. 1, 2017. The criminal justice system is rooted in two principles: That those accused of a crime are innocent until proven guilty and that they have a constitutional right to a speedy trial.

Under the former system, in which judges set a dollar amount of bail, poor defendants who posed little risk of danger or flight were sometimes held in county jail because they could not make even modest amounts of bail.

Under the old law, defendants with assets could post bail and be released even if they posed a serious risk of flight or danger to the public.

Under Criminal Justice Reform, judges assess the level of risk each defendant presents and impose conditions of release using an objective risk-assessment tool that has been tested and validated with data from thousands of actual New Jersey cases.

Judges consider factors such as the defendant's age at



the time of arrest, pending charges, prior convictions and whether any of those involved violence, prior failures to appear, and prior jail sentences.

With that information, each defendant is classified as low, moderate, or high risk and could be released on conditions without having to post monetary bail.

Those determined to be dangerous are held without bail pending trial.

The court makes a pretrial release decision at a centralized first appearance that will occur within 48 hours of a defendant's arrest and commitment to the county jail unless a prosecutor moves for detention.

If no motion was filed, the court must make a release decision within 48 hours.

If the motion was filed, the judge must make a decision on whether to release or detain the defendant pending trial at a detention hearing.

How will those on pretrial release be monitored?

A pretrial services program comprised of many pretrial services officers statewide is responsible for monitoring defendants who are released pending trial, a system similar to the federal system and a number of other jurisdictions.

For low-risk defendants, that could amount to nothing more than a phone call or text to remind them to show up in court.

As the risk level increases, the nature of the monitoring is enhanced.

The officers ensure that defendants are notified of future court appearances, alert the court of any violations of release conditions, and in some instances initiate the release revocation process.