ATLANTIC	609-402-0100 ext. 47160
BERGEN	201-221-0700 ext. 25454
BURLINGTON	609-288-9500 ext. 38011
CAMDEN	856-650-9100 ext. 43280
CAPE MAY	609-402-0100 ext. 47190
CUMBERLAND	856-878-5050 ext. 15020
ESSEX	973-776-9300 ext. 53201
GLOUCESTER	856-878-5050 ext. 15750
HUDSON	201-748-4400 ext. 60399
HUNTERDON	908-332-7700 ext. 13860
MERCER	609-571-4200 ext. 74270
MIDDLESEX	732-645-4300 ext. 88585
MONMOUTH	732-358-8700 ext. 87320
MORRIS	862-397-5700 ext. 75567
OCEAN	732-504-0700 ext. 64510
PASSAIC	973-653-2910 ext. 24102
SALEM	856-878-5050 ext. 15954
SOMERSET	908-332-7700 ext. 13760
SUSSEX	862-397-5700 ext. 75567
UNION	908-787-1650 ext. 21617
WARREN	908-332-7700 ext. 13960
ISP	609-815-3810 ext. 16292

Where to pay

Payments can be made through the probation client portal at **www.njcourts.gov** or at a finance office inside a county courthouse during business hours.

Accepted Payments

- Online payments
- Cash (in person only)
- Check
- Money order

Checks and money orders should be made payable to "Treasurer, State of New Jersey." Include your full name and client identification number to ensure your account is credited. Contact your local probation office for the address to mail your payment.

Fees

For adult cases only, a transaction fee will be deducted from your total payment every time you make a payment.

- For payments between \$3.01 and \$9.99, the transaction fee is \$1.
- For payments of \$10 or more, the transaction fee is \$2.



STUART RABNER

CHIEF JUSTICE

GLENN A. GRANT, J.A.D.

ACTING ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR OF THE COURTS

BRENDA BEACHAM

DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF PROBATION SERVICES

LARRY ASHBRIDGE

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR. OFFICE OF PROBATION SERVICES

CN 12710 - FEBRUARY 2023

New Jersey Judiciary

Comprehensive Enforcement Program

What to Expect at a CEP Hearing



For more information about the Comprehensive Enforcement Program, go to www.njcourts.gov and search for Comprehensive Enforcement Program.

CEP hearing overview

A Comprehensive Enforcement Program (CEP) hearing gives people who have not met their court-ordered financial obligations or community service requirements a chance to establish a reasonable plan to meet their conditions. CEP can assist clients by making job and/or educational referrals, reducing non-mandatory penalties and assigning credit for drug enforcement and demand reduction penalties.

What is the role of probation?

Probation is responsible for monitoring payments and community service requirements on court-ordered obligations to ensure cooperation. Probation and non-probation cases involving the collection of money or community service requirements that have not been resolved could be transferred to CEP. Probation officers can help you make payment arrangements prior to your CEP hearing.

Why did I receive a CEP summons?

If you received a CEP summons, you have fallen behind in meeting your existing court-ordered obligations. These obligations could include the payment of fines, fees, restitution or the performance of community service.

What if I receive a summons for CEP but I am not behind on my payments?

If you receive a summons and believe your payments or community service hours are current, immediately contact the probation officer listed on your court notice. If your appearance is not excused by probation services before your scheduled hearing, you must appear on the scheduled court date.

What to expect at a CEP hearing

You will have the opportunity to explain any change in your circumstances that might affect your ability to pay or to perform community service. A hearing officer will conduct the proceeding.

What is the role of a hearing officer?

Hearing officers are court employees who review facts and evidence and then make appropriate recommendations that could include payment plan adjustments.

Do I need an attorney to represent me at the hearing?

You can choose to be represented by an attorney, but it is not required. If you need help finding an attorney, you can contact your local county bar association's lawyer referral service. You also can visit the New Jersey State Bar Association website for information on lawyer referral services.

Your rights at the hearing

Your rights include, but are not limited to:

- The opportunity to be heard.
- The right to a private hearing to discuss a sensitive matter (upon request).
- The right to bypass a hearing before the hearing officer and request a Superior Court judge conduct the proceeding.
- The right to an attorney at any time during the hearing.
- The right to an appeal of the hearing officer's recommendation.

What should I bring to a CEP hearing?

Bring any documentation that will help to establish your current ability to cooperate and that will help the hearing officer understand why you are behind with court-ordered obligations.

This could include, but is not limited to:

- Medical information such as hospitalization, diagnosis, prognosis and physical limitations.
- Pay stubs, government benefit reward.
- Letters, disability status.
- Bankruptcy fillings/status.
- Government benefit denial letters or other financial obligations.

What can a hearing officer recommend?

Hearing officer recommendations could include, but are not limited to:

- Payment plan adjustments.
- Job searches or educational referrals.
- Wage garnishment.
- Increased reporting.
- Civil judgment/lien.
- Relisted court date for cooperation.
- Referral to a Superior Court judge.

If an agreement is reached, the hearing officer's recommendation will be sent to a Superior Court judge for approval, modification or denial. Once the judge signs the recommendation, the agreement becomes an official court order to which you will be bound. You will receive a copy of the court order, which will contain the details of the hearing.

What happens if I do not appear for a CEP hearing?

A bench warrant could be issued for your arrest. A default order could be issued for further sanctions, such as:

- Suspension of your driver's license.
- A civil judgment filed against you.
- A lien against your personal property.
- Income withholding, wages withholding or garnishment.
- A tax offset that garnishes your state tax return.

Who can I talk to about my case?

To discuss your case or make payment arrangements, contact the person named on your summons notice or your local probation office.

If you are not on probation, but still owe money, you can speak to the contact person on your CEP notice or contact your local probation office. Local contact numbers are listed on the adjacent panel of this brochure.