Law Division, Special Civil Part Order to Show Cause – Landlord Tenant Case Published October 10, 2023



# How to Apply for an Order to Show Cause in a Landlord Tenant Case

Superior Court of New Jersey - Law Division, Special Civil Part

## **Who Should Use This Packet?**

#### **USE** this packet:

- If you (the tenant) have already lost your case and want the judgment vacated/dismissed, stayed (temporarily stopped) or want to stop an eviction (lock out) before the eviction date, you can file an Order to Show Cause (OSC) which is an emergency order to either stay (delay) or vacate (dismiss) the judgment.
- In an Order to Show Cause, you explain to the court your reasons for seeking additional help, and ask the court to:
  - Stay (delay) the judgment for possession;
  - Vacate (dismiss) the judgment for possession;
  - Stop the eviction (lockout) before the eviction date;
  - Or allow you to re-enter the property up to 10 days after an eviction (lockout).

You must give the court a reason for needing to stay in the rental premises or to have the judgment dismissed and could be required to pay the rent you owe plus costs.

**Note**: You must provide the landlord with a copy of the request for the Order to Show Cause that is being filed. These requests are granted in limited situations. For example, you are asking for relief because there is allegedly new evidence, such as mistake, fraud, and/or any other conduct (*e.g.* the landlord accepted rent after a judgment for possession is entered); which would allow a judge to vacate the judgment and/or keep you temporarily in the rented premises.

# **DO NOT** use this packet if:

- You are asking to stay in the rental premises for up to 7 additional calendar days or less and have no money to post with the court. Instead, you would use the *Application for Order for Orderly Removal Packet* (CN 12790) found on njcourts.gov; or
- You are asking to stay in the rented premises longer than 7 days and up to 6 months, due to difficulty in finding another place to live; you were evicted less than 10 days and more than three business days ago; **and** can pay all of the back rent owed. Instead, you would use the *Application for a Hardship Stay Packet* (CN 12791) found on nicourts.gov.

**Note**: On *non-payment of rent* cases, you can pay all the rent money due and owing plus permissible costs directly to the landlord, up to three business days after an eviction, to have the judgment for possession dismissed with prejudice.

**Note**: These materials have been prepared by the New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts for use by self-represented litigants. The guides, instructions, and forms will be periodically updated as necessary to reflect current New Jersey statutes and court rules. The most recent version of the forms will be available at the county courthouse or on the Judiciary's Internet site njcourts.gov. However, you are ultimately responsible for the content of your court papers.

Completed forms are to be submitted to the county where you are filing your case. A list of Special Civil Part Offices is provided at the customer counter and at njcourts.gov. Emergent applications can be submitted via Judiciary Electronic Document System (JEDS) or in person (attorneys must file electronically via eCourts where available, or through JEDS). Documents will be filed as of the date they are received.

#### **Definitions of Words Used in This Packet**

**Judgment for Possession -** The *Judgment for Possession* is an order entered by the court giving the landlord the right of possession and authority to have a tenant and their belongings removed from the rented premises.

**Landlord** - The *Landlord* is the owner of the rental premises.

**Order to Show Cause** - An *Order to Show Cause* is an emergency order instructing a landlord to appear before the court and demonstrate why relief should not be granted to a tenant. A tenant must file a request (and send a copy to the landlord) for an Order to Show Cause and ask the court for immediate help, such as to stay (delay) or vacate (dismiss) the judgment for possession.

**Special Civil Part Officer** - The *Special Civil Part Officer* is an Officer of the court that is granted the authority to serve and execute the warrant of removal on behalf of the landlord.

**Stay -** A *stay* is a ruling by a court to stop or suspend a proceeding, order, or trial temporarily or indefinitely.

**Tenant** - The *Tenant* is the person paying rent to the owner for use of the rental premises.

**Warrant for Removal -** The *Warrant for Removal* is the legal document or Order issued by the Special Civil Part Court which notifies the tenant they must vacate within 3 business days and gives the Special Civil Part Officer the authority to evict (lockout) the tenant out of the rental premises.

The numbered steps listed below tell you what forms you will need to fill out and what to do with them. Each form should be typed or printed clearly on 8.5" x 11" white paper only. Forms cannot be filed on a different size or color paper.

# Steps to Apply for an Order to Show Cause in a Landlord Tenant Case

STEP 1: Complete the Certification in Support of Application for an Order to Show Cause The Certification in Support of Application for an Order to Show Cause explains to the court why you want to vacate/dismiss or stay the judgment for possession.

### STEP 2: Complete the Certification of Service

If the court signs the Order to Show Cause, you must complete and submit the *Certification of Service before* the scheduled return date of your hearing because it explains that you timely served the landlord or the landlord's attorney (if any), with the **signed** Order to Show Cause and all of your paperwork in support of your application, as directed by the court.

The court will include in this order the date and time of the hearing to determine the outcome of your application - you must appear at that date and time.

- After the hearing, if the application is granted, the judgement for possession will be vacated/dismissed or stayed allowing you to remain or return to the rental premises.
- After the hearing, if the application is denied, the judgment for possession will remain and/or the warrant of removal can be executed by the Special Civil Part Officer as necessary. That means that you can be evicted (locked out) after the date indicated in the Warrant for Removal that was served by the Special Civil Part Officer.

# STEP 3: Submit electronically, mail, deliver or have delivered your package of completed papers to the court.

To electronically submit your documentation in to new or existing cases to the court, use the **Judiciary Electronic Document Submission (JEDS) system.** (Attorneys can use this system **only** for case types not available in eCourts.) To access the JEDS system, go to njcourts.gov and search for "*JEDS*". From the results page, select "Judiciary Electronic Document Submission (JEDS)"

Fili	ing Attorney Information or Pro Se Liti	gant:		
Na				
NJ	Attorney ID Number			
Ad	dress			
Fm	nail Address			
	ephone Number			
		Superior Court Of New Jersey		
		Law Division, Special Civil Part		
D1 -	:4:CC/I 11 1 NJ	County		
Pia	intiff/Landlord Name	Doolset Number I T		
Str	eet Address	Docket Number LT-		
Str	oct riddress			
To	wn, State, Zip Code			
Tel	lephone Number			
	VS.	Civil Action		
_	C 1 //T / N			
De	fendant/Tenant Name	Certification in Support of		
Str	eet Address	Application for Order to Show Cause		
Str	Det / Iddiess			
To	wn, State, Zip Code			
Tel	ephone Number			
1.	A judgment for possession having bee	en entered against me on		
2.	Select one:			
2.	$\square$ I was served with the warrant of removal on $OR$			
	☐ I did not receive a warrant of remo			
3.	I want to (select one) $\square$ vacate/dismiss the judgment for possession $OR$			
	☐ stay the judgment for possession because			

4.	I owe \$	in rent. I have \$	to deposit with the court today.
I certify that the above statements made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the forgoing statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment.			
_			s/ Tenant's Signature
Da	ate		Tenant's Signature

Filing Attorney Information or Pro Se Litigar	nt:
Name	
NJ Attorney ID Number	
Address	
Email Address	
Telephone Number	
	Superior Court Of New Jersey
	Law Division, Special Civil Part
D1.''CC/I 111 N1	County
Plaintiff/Landlord Name	
Street Address	Docket Number LT-
Street Address	
Town, State, Zip Code	
Town, State, Zip Code	
Telephone Number	
Vs.	
	Civil Action
Defendant/Tenant Name	
	Order to Show Cause
Street Address	
Town, State, Zip Code	
Talankana Manakan	
Telephone Number	
(Do not write below t	his line, for court use only)
THIS MATTER having been brought before	
shown;	endant/tenant, and for good cause having been
SHOWH,	
	_, <b>ORDERED</b> that the landlord/plaintiff(s) appear
	e on the day of , 20, before
the Superior Court of New Jersey	
	hereafter as the parties can be heard, why the
	cated/dismissed;   stayed;   granted; and/or such
other relief as the court deems equitable and	just, and it is <b>FURTHER ORDERED</b> that:

	, J.S.C.
	<u>s/</u>
5.	If you wish to hire an attorney and cannot afford one, you can call the Legal Services offices in the county in which you live or the Legal Services of New Jersey Statewide Hotline at 1-888-LSNJLAW (1-888-576-5529). If you do not have an attorney and are not eligible for free legal assistance, you can obtain a referral to an attorney by calling one of the Lawyer Referral Services. A directory with contact information for local Legal Services Offices and Lawyer Referral Services is available in the Civil Division Case Management Office in the county listed above and online at njcourts.gov.
4.	Plaintiff/landlord(s) take notice that the defendant/tenant has filed a Certification in Support of Application for Order to Show Cause against you in the Superior Court of New Jersey, Special Civil Part. The certification seeks to vacate/dismiss or stay the judgment for possession previously granted. The Certification in Support of Application for Order to Show Cause explains the basis of emergent circumstances in support of vacating/dismissing or staying the judgment for possession. If you dispute this certification, then you can submit before the scheduled hearing date to this order to show cause, a response on or before the hearing date and proof of its service. You must also appear on the hearing date as set forth above.
3.	The plaintiff/landlord can file and serve the defendant/tenant with a response on or before the hearing date scheduled by this court and shall appear in response to their Order to Show Cause. Any documents filed by the plaintiff/landlord must be filed with the Office of the Special Civil Part in the county listed above and a copy must be sent to the defendant/tenant, if the defendant/tenant has no attorney, or defendant/tenant's attorney named above. A telephone call will not protect the plaintiff/landlord's rights, as the plaintiff/landlord(s) must appear at the designated date and time schedule by this court and in the manner directed.
2.	The defendant/tenant must file with the court their Certification of Service of the Order to Show Cause pleadings upon the plaintiff/landlord(s) no later than days before the scheduled hearing or return date scheduled by this court.
1.	The defendant/tenant must serve a copy of this Order to Show Cause and all supporting affidavits or certifications submitted in support of this application, if any, upon the plaintiff/landlord(s) personally within days of the date hereof; or if such service cannot be personally made, defendant/tenant shall either serve the plaintiff/landlord(s) by regular and certified mail or by regular mail upon the plaintiff/landlord's attorney, if known, within days of the date hereof in accordance with <i>R</i> . 4:4-4 and <i>R</i> . 6:2-3(a).

Filing Attorney Information or Pro Se Lit	gant:
Name	
NJ Attorney ID Number	
Address	
Email Address	
Telephone Number	
	Superior Court Of New Jersey
	Law Division, Special Civil Part
	County
Plaintiff/Landlord Name	
	Docket Number LT-
Street Address	
T. G. (7' C. 1	_
Town, State, Zip Code	
Telephone Number	-
VS.	
vs.	Civil Action
Defendant/Tenant Name	_ Civil Action
	Certification of Service
Street Address	-
Town, State, Zip Code	-
	_
Telephone Number	-
	defendant/tenant, being of full age, certifies and
states that:	
I served the signed Order to Show Cause	including the supporting Certification in Support of
Application for Order to Show Cause on t	• •
,	in the following manner (check one):
$\Box$ I personally served	on A
certification of the process server of	r Sheriff is attached.
•	
<del>-</del>	opy of the enclosed Certification in Support of
	se by regular <b>and</b> certified mail, return receipt
requested, from the	Post Office, addressed to the

pramum/randiord, as set for	in in the Certification. The Certified Receipt numbers are.
	·
☐ I mailed the plaintiff/land	lord's attorney a copy of the enclosed Certification in
Support of Application for	Order to Show Cause by regular mail, from the
Pos	t Office, addressed to the plaintiff/landlord's attorney, as set
forth in the Certification on	-
•	made by me are true. I am aware that if any of the forgoing lly false, I am subject to punishment.
	s/
Date	Defendant/Tenant's Signature