NOTICE TO THE BAR 2003 PRO HAC VICE ASSESSMENT

R. 1:21-2 requires those admitted *pro hac vice* to pay the annual assessment.

The Supreme Court of New Jersey having ruled on the Disciplinary Oversight Committee ("DOC") and New Jersey Lawyers Assistance Program ("NJLAP") budgets for 2003, the New Jersey Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection ("Fund") is now in a position to collect the assessment for *pro hac vice* admission for calendar year 2003. As always, the money collected through the assessment will support the Fund, the disciplinary process, and the NJLAP. The breakdown for 2003 is as follows:

Calendar Year of First Admission	DOC Portion	FUND Portion	NJLAP <u>Portion</u>	TOTAL Assessment
2003	\$ 0.00	\$ 0.00	\$ 0.00	No Fee
2002	25.00	0.00	3.00	\$ 28.00
2000 - 2001	134.00	25.00	6.00	165.00
1955 - 1999	134.00	50.00	6.00	190.00
1954 & Prior	0.00	0.00	0.00	No Fee

The operative year of admission is that of the jurisdiction in which the *pro hac* admittee was first licensed.

Lawyers licensed in New Jersey, who nevertheless seek admission *pro hac vice* for lack of a requirement for private practice such as *bona fide* office, will have their assessment obligation governed by their status as New Jersey lawyers. For example, those on the Ineligible List are precluded by Order of the Supreme Court from practicing law in New Jersey.

Board of Trustees New Jersey Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection