## NOTICE TO THE BAR NEW JERSEY ATTORNEY ONLINE REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT CENTER AVAILABLE FOR 2014

The Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center is now available for licensed New Jersey attorneys for the 2014 registration/payment cycle through the Judiciary's web-based application at <u>http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attyreg/index.htm</u>. Pursuant to Rules 1:20-1(b) and (c), 1:28-2(a), 1:28B-1(e), and 1:42-2(b), attorneys licensed to practice in New Jersey are required annually to file a registration statement in a form prescribed by the Administrative Director of the Courts with approval of the Supreme Court and to pay an assessment in an amount determined by the Supreme Court.

The 2014 deadline for registration and payment is **March 28, 2014**. Attorneys are encouraged to register online and pay any required fees electronically. To assist with the registration process, an electronic notice about the web-based application has been emailed to each attorney who previously registered online. For attorneys who are not currently enrolled in the electronic registration system, a User ID and temporary password will be mailed to each such attorney's *billing* address to facilitate a transition to use of the online process. For concerns related to your user ID and password, registration and billing, please contact 855-533-FUND (3863) (select option 2) or CPF.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

In addition to the annual registration requirement, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements in accordance with Rule 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the deadline for course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all.

Beginning in 2014, attorneys who are noncompliant with the mandatory CLE requirement are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice law in New Jersey. A declaration of administrative ineligibility will include noncompliant attorneys who are to report compliance in 2014 (Group 1) and also those from either Group 1 or Group 2 who remain noncompliant from any prior compliance period. To be removed from the CLE ineligible list and restored to active status, the noncompliant attorney must satisfy all outstanding CLE credit requirements and pay any required fees. The CLE credit requirement will stack; i.e., the attorney must make up CLE credits for all compliance periods that the attorney is noncompliant.

Information on Continuing Legal Education requirements is available at http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/cle/index.htm. For concerns related to CLE, please contact 609-633-9733 or SCTCLE.Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D. Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: January 28, 2014