NOTICE TO THE BAR

NEW JERSEY ATTORNEY ONLINE REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT
CENTER AVAILABLE FOR 2015 AS OF FEBRUARY 9

The Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center will be available for licensed New
Jersey attorneys for the 2015 registration/payment cycle through the Judiciary’s web-based

application at http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/attyreg/index.htm, effective February 9, 2015.

Pursuant to Rules 1:20-1(b) and (c), 1:28-2(a), 1:28B~1‘(e), and 1:42-2(b), attorneys licensed to
practice in New Jersey are required annually to file a registration statement in a form prescribed by
the Administrative Director of the Courts with approval of the Supreme Court and to pay an
assessment in an amount determined by the Supreme Court.

This notice is to further advise that effective January 5, 2015, the New Jersey Judiciary has
implemented additional information security measures for all attorneys who submit their attorney
registration and payment electronically. The new security measure is qalled Step-up Authentication
and is designed to protect the confidentiality of attorneys’ personal information contained in the
“My Profile,” “Update Contact Information,” and “Attorney Registration and Payment” tabs

located on the portal front page.

When attorneys access any of those three tabs in their online profile for the first time on or
after January 5, 2015, they will be prompted and redirected to a page on which they must éompleté
anew set of three security questions personal to the attorney. Each time thereafter that the attorney
intends to access any of those three tabs (“My Profile,” “Update Contact Information,” or “Attorney
Registration and Payment™), including the attorney registration application, the attorney will be

required to correctly answer at least one of the three security questions before being able to access



the tab. The answers to the three security questions should be kept confidential by the attorney in

order to reduce the risk of unauthorized access to the attorney’s personal information,

The 2015 deadline for registratioh and payment is March 27, 2015. Attorneys are
encouraged to register online and pay any required fees electronically. To assist with the
registration process, an electronic notice about the web-based application has been emailed to each
attorney who previously registered online. For attorneys who are not currently enrolled in the
electronic registration system, a User ID and temporary password will be mailed to each such
attorney’s billing address to facilitate a transition to use of the online process. Attorneys are
encouraged to use the electronic application for registration and billing this year, as it will be
required no later than the 2017 registration and payment cycle. For concerns related to your user ID
and password, registration and billing, please contact 855-533-FUND (3863) (select option 2) or

CPF Mailbox@judiciary.state.nj.us.

In addition to the annual registration requirement, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited
license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal
education (CLE) requirements in accordance with Rule 1:42. A noncompliance fee of $50 will be
assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the
deadline for course completion. An additional $50 (for a total of $100) will be assessed against
attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by

BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all.

Attorneys who remain noncompliant with the mandatory CLE requirement, after the grace

period, are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice law in New Jersey. A



declaration of administrative ineligibility will include noncompliant attorneys who must report
compliance in 2015, as well as those who remain noncompliant from any prior compliance period.
To be removed from the CLE ineligible list and restored to active status, the noncompliant attorney
must satisfy all outstanding CLE ¢redit requirements and pay any required fees. The CLE credit
réquirements will stack, that is, the attorney must make up CLE credits for all compliance periods

for which the attorney is noncompliant.

Information on Continuing Legal Education requirements is available at
http://www.judiciary.state.nj.us/cle/index.htm. For concerns related to CLE, please contact 609-

633-9733 or SCTCLE.Mailbox(@judiciary.state.nj.us.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D.
Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: January 29, 2015



