NOTICE TO THE BAR

ONLINE ATTORNEY REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT – REMINDER – FAST APPROACHING FEBRUARY 28, 2019 DEADLINE

We are almost at the **February 28, 2019 deadline** for attorneys to complete their annual electronic registration and payment using the Judiciary's Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/attreg.html</u>. The Center can be readily accessed from the Judiciary website home page – njcourts.gov – by clicking on "Attorneys" at the top of the page and then "Online Registration & Payment" in the "Attorney & Judge Regulation" column.

Additionally, as indicated in prior notices to the bar, all licensed New Jersey attorneys are now required to create a P-Synch profile for information security purposes. Creating that profile involves two steps: (1) select and answer three personal security questions, which will help with password recovery in the future, and (2) select a password that is exactly eight (8) characters long and contains at least one capital letter, one lower case letter, one numeral, and one of the enumerated special characters. To create your P-Synch security profile, click on "Attorneys" at the top of the page and then "Change Password Now" under the "New Security Measures" section on the web page.

Attorneys who fail to register and pay by the February 28 deadline will be assessed a late fee of \$40 and may be declared administratively ineligible to practice law by Order of the Supreme Court. Attorneys who are administratively ineligible are considered not to be in good standing and may not practice law in this State. Attorneys who practice while ineligible are subject to discipline.

In addition to the annual registration and payment requirements, New Jersey attorneys must also certify to the completion of their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements in accordance with

1

Court Rule 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the deadline for course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report at all regarding CLE compliance. Attorneys who are noncompliant with the mandatory CLE requirement are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice law in New Jersey. Information on CLE requirements can be found at https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/attcle.html. For concerns related to CLE, contact 609-815-2930 or SCTCLE.Mailbox@njcourts.gov.

Questions related to attorney registration may be directed to the Superior Court Clerk's Office at (609) 421-6100 or SCCO.mailbox@njcourts.gov.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D. Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: February 20, 2019