## NOTICE TO THE BAR

## ONLINE ATTORNEY REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT – REMINDER – ONE MONTH REMAINING; CHANGES TO THE PROCESS

There is approximately one month remaining for New Jersey attorneys to complete their annual registration and remit payment through the Judiciary's Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/cams.html</u> without having to pay a late fee. The **February 28, 2020** deadline for timely registration and payment is fast-approaching.

Attorneys must complete the annual registration and payment electronically. Newly admitted attorneys, notwithstanding exemption from any payment, are nonetheless required to complete the registration process and must do so online. Paper registrations are no longer accepted, unless an attorney is approved for one of the limited exceptions approved by the Supreme Court.

As part of the Judiciary's continuing commitment to ensure fairness and to communicate areas of concerns, this notice sets forth information related to two common concerns or problems (hours of operations and outreach strategies) presented to the Judiciary related to attorney registration. The hours of operation for the attorney registration application are now 3:00 a.m. until 10:59 p.m. The application is unavailable between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 2:59 a.m. to allow for routine maintenance. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause. As a reminder, attorneys may reach a customer engagement specialist between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. by calling 609-421-6100.

The Judiciary is committed to providing adequate notice related to the attorney registration process and requirements. Those outreach strategies include email notifications, text messages, paper advertisements, and automated calls. The Judiciary has received a significantly high number of return email notifications where an attorney's email account is not authorized to receive correspondence

from the Judiciary. We ask your cooperation in accepting the Judiciary's server as a "trusted" sender, so that notifications are received.

In addition to the annual registration requirement, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements in accordance with <u>Rule</u> 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the deadline for course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by <u>BCLE Reg.</u> 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all. Information on CLE requirements is available at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/attcle.html</u>. For concerns related to CLE, contact 609-815-2930 or SCTCLE.Mailbox@njcourts.gov.

Attorneys who do not register and make the required payment by April 30, 2020, will thereafter be deemed ineligible to practice by Supreme Court order. Ineligible attorneys are considered to be not in good standing and may not practice law. Any attorney who is declared ineligible for seven consecutive years will have his or her license to practice law in New Jersey administratively revoked by Supreme Court order.

Should you have any questions related to attorney registration, please contact the Superior Court Clerk's Office at (609) 421-6100 or SCCO.mailbox@njcourts.gov.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D. Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: January 31, 2020