NOTICE TO THE BAR NEW JERSEY ATTORNEY ELECTRONIC REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT AVAILABLE BEGINNING JANUARY 6, 2021

This is a reminder that New Jersey attorneys must complete their annual registration and payment electronically through the Judiciary's web-based application at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/cams.html</u>. The 2021 registration/payment cycle will begin **January 6, 2021**. The 2021 deadline for completion of registration and payment is **February 26, 2021**.

Pursuant to the Rules of Court, New Jersey attorneys are required annually to file a registration statement in a form prescribed by the Administrative Director of the Courts with approval of the Supreme Court and to pay an assessment in an amount determined by the Supreme Court. All attorneys must complete their annual attorney registration and pay the required annual fee electronically, except those attorneys who qualify for one of the limited exceptions approved by the Supreme Court. Additionally, all New Jersey attorneys are required to provide and maintain a current email address and cell phone number with the Supreme Court for official court business and notifications.

This notice further informs attorneys that an additional security feature – twofactor authentication – has been implemented in the online attorney registration application. Attorneys will now be required to use two-factor authentication when accessing the online attorney registration application, using the email address or cell phone number they provided during the previous (2020) attorney registration reporting period. Two-factor authentication provides a secondary level of security by verifying the user's identity through a security code sent to the user's cell phone or email address each time the user logs into the attorney registration application.

1

Attorneys are required to enter the security code before they can proceed to the application. Attorneys will be prompted when they first access the application in this registration cycle to either verify or update their email address and cell phone number.

In addition, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements in accordance with <u>Rule</u> 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the deadline for course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by <u>BCLE Reg.</u> 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report at all regarding CLE compliance. Information on CLE requirements is available at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/attcle.html</u>. For concerns related to CLE, contact 609-815-2930 or <u>SCTCLE.Mailbox@njcourts.gov</u>.

Questions related to this notice may be directed to Michelle M. Smith, Clerk of the Superior Court, at <u>michelle.smith@njcourts.gov</u> or 609-815-2900 ext. 54200.

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D. Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: December 23, 2020