NOTICE TO THE BAR

GUN PERMITS AND APPEALS -- ELIMINATION OF CERTAIN COURT FEES

The Supreme Court in the attached January 3, 2023 Order has amended Rule 1:43 ("Filing and Other Fees Established Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2B:1-7") to conform to recent amendments to N.J.S.A. 2C:58-3 and -4.

In response to the United States Supreme Court's decision in New York State Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen, 142 S.Ct. 2111 (2022), Governor Murphy on December 22, 2022 signed into law A4769, which concludes use of the "justifiable need" standard for evaluation of an application for a permit to carry a firearm. The new law amends N.J.S.A. 2C:58-3 and -4 to eliminate court fees for an application for a permit to carry a handgun and for an appeal of a denial of a permit to purchase a handgun or for a firearms purchaser identification card. The amended statute also specifically provides that there is no fee for an appeal of denial of a permit to carry a handgun. The Court has amended Rule 1:43 to align with N.J.S.A. 2C:58-3 and -4 by eliminating those handgun permit and appeal fees.

Questions on the gun permit and appeal process should be directed to the Criminal Practice Division at (609) 815-2900 x55300. Questions on court fees for gun permit applications and appeals should be directed to the Superior Court Clerk's Office at (609) 421-6100.

Glenn A. Grant

Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: January 5, 2023

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

It is ORDERED that the attached amendments to Rule 1:43 ("Filing and Other Fees Established Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2B:1-7") of the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey are adopted to be effective immediately.

For the Court,

Chief Justice

Dated: January 3, 2023

Rule 1:43 - Filing and Other Fees Established Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2B:1-7

The following filing fees and other fees payable to the court, revised and supplemented by the Supreme Court in accordance with N.J.S.A. 2B:1-7, are established effective November 17, 2014. All other filing fees or other fees not here listed are unchanged by the process set forth in N.J.S.A. 2B:1-7.

All State Courts

...no change

Supreme Court

...no change

Superior Court, Appellate Division

...no change

Superior Court, Law Division, Civil Part

...no change

Superior Court, Law Division, Special Civil Part

...no change

Superior Court, Law Division, Chancery Part General Equity

...no change

Superior Court, Law Division, Chancery Part Family

...no change

Superior Court, Law Division, Criminal Part

Fee Subject	Fee	Authority
[Permit to Carry Handgun] [deleted]	[\$50.00]	[N.J.S.A. 2C:58-4]
Municipal Court Appeal		N.J.S.A. 22A:2-27
Appeal of denial of permit to purchase	[\$50.00]	N.J.S.A. 2C:58-3d
handgun or firearms purchaser ID card	No fee	N.J.S.A. 2C:30-3U
Appeal of denial of permit to carry handgun	No fee	N.J.S.A. 2C:58-4e
Bail/Post/Discharge	\$50.00	N.J.S.A. 22A:2-29

Superior Court, Probation Division

...no change

Superior Court Clerk's Office

...no change

Tax Court

...no change

Note: Adopted October 31, 2014 to be effective November 17, 2014; amended March 7, 2017 to be effective immediately; Special Civil Part section amended July 27, 2018 to be effective September 1, 2018; Criminal section amended December 8, 2020 to be effective immediately; Special Civil Part section amended November 29, 2021 to be effective immediately; Criminal section amended (Permit to Carry Handgun deleted as court action; fee for appeal from denial of handgun purchase permit or firearms ID card changed to "no fee"; fee for appeal from denial of handgun carry permit set as "no fee") January 3, 2023 to be effective immediately.