NOTICE TO THE BAR

ONLINE ATTORNEY REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT – REMINDER – THREE WEEKS REMAINING; ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

Only three weeks remain for for New Jersey attorneys to complete their annual registration and remit payment through the Judiciary's Attorney Online Registration and Payment Center at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/attorney-registration</u> without having to pay a late fee. The February 29, 2024 deadline for timely registration and payment is fast-approaching.

Attorneys must complete the annual registration and payment electronically. Newly admitted attorneys and retired attorneys, notwithstanding exemption from any payment, are nonetheless required to complete the registration process and must do so online. Paper registrations are no longer accepted, unless an attorney is approved for one of the limited exceptions approved by the Supreme Court. Attorneys admitted *pro hac vice* in New Jersey (state and federal courts) are also required to complete the annual attorney registration and payment. If a *pro hac vice* attorney is no longer appearing on an active matter, that attorney must complete the registration process by selecting the payment exemption of "I am not currently appearing Pro Hac Vice..." and must also update the case information with the court to reflect the closed case.

In addition to the annual registration requirement, attorneys maintaining a plenary or limited license to practice law in New Jersey must certify to the completion of their continuing legal education (CLE) requirements in accordance with Rule 1:42. A noncompliance fee of \$50 will be assessed against attorneys who report that they failed to complete the requisite CLE credits by the deadline for

1

course completion. An additional \$50 (for a total of \$100) will be assessed against attorneys who fail to complete their required CLE credits within the grace period provided by BCLE Reg. 402:1 and against attorneys who fail to report regarding CLE compliance at all. Information on CLE requirements can be found at <u>https://www.njcourts.gov/attorneys/cle</u>. For questions related to CLE, contact 609-815-2930 or SCTCLE.Mailbox@njcourts.gov.

Any questions related to attorney registration may be directed to the Superior Court Clerk's Office at (609) 421-6100 or <u>SCCO.mailbox@njcourts.gov.</u>

Hon. Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D. Acting Administrative Director of the Courts

Dated: February 7, 2024