

For immediate release: May 2, 2023

Justice Solomon Named Chair of Supreme Court Committee on Wellness in the Law

Chief Justice Stuart Rabner today announced the formation of a special committee that will develop recommendations to support the mental health of attorneys, judges, and other members of the legal community.

The Supreme Court Committee on Wellness in the Law will be chaired by Justice Lee A. Solomon and will include representatives from the New Jersey State Bar Association and other legal associations, the Attorney General's Office, and the Office of the Public Defender, as well as Administrative Director of the Courts Glenn A. Grant and Monmouth Vicinage Assignment Judge Lisa Thornton.

The announcement came this afternoon at an event, held at the Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex, dedicated to attorney wellness. More than 500 people participated in person and online.

"Today marks the beginning of an important conversation designed to raise awareness of the many issues facing law students, paralegals, attorneys, and judges. The Committee will work to develop a comprehensive understanding of both the challenges faced by members of the legal community and the resources available to deal with those challenges, so that we can learn how to take better care of ourselves and one another," Chief Justice Rabner said.

The broad-based committee will examine the specific risks faced by all law professionals and the resources available for dealing with heightened rates of mental health challenges, substance abuse, and self-harm, so that it can identify strategies to address unmet mental health needs.

The committee will also analyze the obstacles confronted by law practitioners of color and other historically marginalized and underrepresented communities, as well as the risks that disproportionately affect solo and small firm practitioners.

SUPREME COURT SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON WELLNESS IN THE LAW

Justice Lee A. Solomon, Chair Punam Alam, Esq. (Designee of Asian Pacific American Lawyers Association) Heather Joy Baker, Esq., Supreme Court Clerk Robin Bogan, Esq. (Designee of New Jersey State Bar Association) Johnny Cardona, Esq. (Designee of Office of the Public Defender) Kimberly Deal, Esq. (Designee of Association of Black Women Lawyers-NJ) Shirley Emehelu, Esq. (Designee of New Jersey Attorney General) MaryAnn Flanigan, Esq. (Designee of Legal Services of New Jersey) Robyn B. Gigl, Esq. Glenn A. Grant, Administrative Director Hon. Christine Heitmann, J.M.C. Natalya G. Johnson, Esq. (Designee of Garden State Bar Association) Johanna Barba Jones, Esq., Director, Office of Attorney Ethics Jeralyn Lawrence, Esq. (Designee of New Jersey State Bar Association Anna Levine, Esq. (Designee of New Jersey Lawyers Assistance Program) Hon. Martha D. Lynes, J.S.C. Jeffrey S. Mandel, Esq. Kimberly Mutcherson, Esq. (Co-Dean, Rutgers School of Law) New Jersey Muslim Lawyers Association (Designee to be named) Hon. Laurie C. Poppe, J.S.C. Andrew J. Rothman, Esq. Seton Hall School of Law (Designee to be named) Hon. Lisa P. Thornton, A.J.S.C. Hon. Jeffrey J. Waldman, J.S.C. Albertina Webb, Esq. (Designee of Hispanic Bar Association of NJ)