Discover what you need to stay up-to-date on CLE requirements
- New CLE Requirement effective January 1, 2024: Newly admitted New Jersey attorneys required to meet the newly admitted attorney requirement must take 16 total credits in a minimum of 6 New Jersey new admit subject areas. A minimum of one credit must be taken in New Jersey attorney trust & business accounting fundamentals.
- New CLE Requirement—Diversity, Inclusion, and Elimination of Bias. Notice - Continuing Legal Education (CLE) - Judiciary Real-Time Virtual Courses on the Reduction, Interruption, and Elimination of Bias | NJ Courts
- New CLE Requirement effective Jan. 1, 2021: Five CLE credits in ethics and professionalism including two CLE credits focused on diversity, inclusion and elimination of bias are required each two-year cycle.
- The reporting forms provided on this website are ONLY for attorneys who are seeking reinstatement from the CLE Ineligible List and for attorneys who failed to complete their CLE and/or report completion with the current reporting requirement by the expiration of the grace period.
GROUP 1 ATTORNEYS (BIRTH MONTH JANUARY THROUGH JUNE) ARE DUE TO REPORT COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION (CLE) REQUIREMENT DURING THE 2024 ATTORNEY REGISTRATION PROCESS.
Pursuant to BCLE Reg. 402:1, attorneys who report that they have not completed the CLE requirement by 12/31/2023 will be assessed a $50 noncompliance fee and given a grace period until 06/28/2024 to complete their CLE requirement. Upon completion of the CLE credits, they MUST return to this on-line registration system to report final compliance on or before 06/28/2024. After the expiration of the grace period, attorneys can no longer report CLE compliance through the on-line registration system.
Those who fail to complete and/or report CLE compliance by the expiration of the grace period will be assessed an additional $50 noncompliance fee, for a total of $100, and be required to submit a reporting form provided by the Board, along with documentation proving compliance.
Attorneys who remain noncompliant with the CLE requirement are subject to being declared administratively ineligible to practice New Jersey law. To be removed from the CLE Ineligible List, attorneys must make up all required credits for each compliance period that they are noncompliant and pay all required fees.
Effective January 1, 2021, the number of total ethics and professionalism credits required during a compliance-reporting period will increase from four to five credit hours and must include at least two credit hours of coursework in diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias. Diversity, inclusion, and elimination of bias programs and courses relevant to the practice of law may include, among other topics, implicit and explicit bias, equal access to justice, serving a diverse population, diversity and inclusion initiatives in the legal profession, and cultural competency in the practice of law or the administration of justice.
Effective January 1, 2024, newly admitted New Jersey attorneys required to meet the newly admitted attorney requirement must take 16 total credits in a minimum of 6 New Jersey new admit subject areas. A minimum of one credit must be taken in New Jersey attorney trust & business accounting fundamentals.
Members of the Board
Chair: Peter G. Verniero
H. Mark Ellis, Ph.D.
Classie M. Colinet
Scott A. Krasny
Theresa A. Lyons
Daniel F. O'Brien
Jeffrey M. Pollock
Joseph J. Rodgers
Katherine E. Suell
James J. Uliano
Administrative Director’s Designee:
Counsel: Wendy L. Weiss